We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #73 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had mixed feelings about this property. The location is very convenient being a short walk from The Garden, Charlestown, Boston Common, etc. However it is a very questionable block, with multiple street people sleeping right outside the front door and a number of iffy characters hanging around the sidewalk that is littered with trash. The staff was awesome, very attentive and friendly. The room was comfortable even if very small for what they classified as a "King Executive". The housekeeping was a little lacking in the details (corners, vents) but serviced promptly and was very responsive when we requested something. All in all it suited our needs but I am not sure I will pick this property again unless there is some kind of improvement in the area. Just too much trash and homeless right on the walk and literally right at the front door. A shame considering how nice and helpful the staff was...Oh and the breakfast was above average for a Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: I would avoid the street side, if there is an event at the Garden, or if it as weekend night the las...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPAPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear TPAPT,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are delighted to hear you found our location convenient and appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    195
    108
    41
    26
See reviews for
132
155
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I found the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden to be a very convenient location and adequate property for my needs. It is not a 5 star hotel, so if that's what you require to meet your needs, best to look elsewhere. A nice breakfast in the morning, and a fantastic staff. The hotel is in need of a makeover. With that said, there are plenty of places to visit within walking distance, a taxi stand outside the door, and subway system 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heelhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Heelhook,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you found our location to be convenient and our hotel was able to fit your needs. Thank you for the nice comment about our staff and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast! We hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is located on a street just across from the Boston (TD) Garden. It is a huge convenience to hop on and off the "T" (subway system). As a matter of fact, we didn't need to rent a car the 3 days there--just took the T from the airport and around town. The Freedom Trail is only minutes from this hotel. We hardly even needed the subway.
This hotel does not look necessarily very promising from the outside; it's on a narrow street lined with various back entrances to pubs and other establishments. Step inside the lobby though, and it all changes. The front desk staff is wonderful; they are friendly (not just polite) and went above and beyond to help us when we arrived early. Our room was on the 5th floor, the top floor, which we had requested. (more on this later) It was of decent size, very efficient use of space with a micro-mini kitchen having a fridge and microwave. There was NO view from our room--actually looked out on the backs and sides of neighboring buildings that were taller. Not a big deal since we weren't there for the view.
The biggest negative was the elevator. There was one VERY SLOW elevator to serve the hotel. It became a source of conversation among guests waiting to go up or down. We had requested the top floor to avoid overhead noise. Be careful what you ask for...We took the stairs most times coming down and a few times going up. However, after a long day walking around this beautiful city, five flights of stairs is a lot. I strongly recommend getting a room on a lower floor or be extremely patient!
The breakfast was decent and crowded. Loved the little western omelettes. Overall, we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower floors so you can avoid this painfully slow elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear kmskier,

Thank you for this very nice review and kind comments about our staff! We are so glad you didn't "judge a book by its cover" and gave us a chance! We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were travelling to Boston/Cape Cod for a family of 4 vacation with our 2 young-adult children. After reading many of the recent reviews, I almost didn't book this hotel. What a mistake that would have been! The service IS outstanding. From the moment you arrive, the door is opened for you and you are welcomed with a smile. We found friendly notes in your room welcoming us as well.

I was surprised that lobby was as large as it was and the breakfast area was spacious enough. The breakfast selection was plentiful. Our room was nice and had a kitchenette. The beds were REALLY comfortable and there was a choice of hard and soft pillows as well. Nice touch. We had an inside room so it was very quiet. The WiFi was remarkably fast. I was able to post photos to Facebook in seconds.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hallways were not spectacular, the elevator was a little slow from floor to floor (we checked, it was rated 150 feet per minute) and the air conditioning was not freezing --- but none of these were deal breakers for us.

Lean out the hotel door and you are at the TD Garden and Bobby Orr statue and a very short walk to the North subway station to Fenway. We were only a 10 minutes walk from Quincy market. All the tour buses have a stop across the street so after a long day, you can get dropped off 1 minute from the hotel! That was great!

We set our priorities and the proximity to all things tourist puts this hotel is the A++++ column for us. There are plenty of options for food and drink in the immediate area and we did not feel unsafe even for a moment.

Don't hesitate ... book now ... and have a great time in Boston! We did!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatdelayindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear red1962,

Thank you for the 5 star review we really appreciate it! We are so glad that despite the reviews you read that you still booked and gave us a chance! It is great to hear you were able to visit many of the tourist attractions that are within walking distance. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Tennessee
Level Contributor
218 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here with points for 2 nights before getting on a cruise. The hotel is well located to see historical Boston. In the first room we were assigned, the air conditioner didn't work, so we were moved to another room which was actually better even if it was a handicapped accessible room. Jon, the maintenance man was especially helpful and friendly. We had to call him back to replace the cable on the TV. The breakfast is good and the selections varied. Alice who works on the front desk was also very helpful to us.
Now the bad- This hotel is below Holiday Inn Express standards, but I understand this is a downtown hotel. The hallways are narrow and dark and we were not the only ones who had problems with the a/c. If it were not for the outstanding service from all of the staff that we encountered, this would be a total flop.

Room Tip: An inside room, although it doesn't have a window with a view, is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGrandma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear TravelGrandma10,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our helpful hotel staff and breakfast selection. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. I apologize about the problem with air conditioning unit in your first room. It's nice to hear that this issues was rectified promptly. We want our guest to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Your comments have been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We value you as an IHG Rewards Club member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First of all, for the amount of IHG points required for this stay, I did expect more. At the same time it is a Holiday Inn in DOWNTOWN Boston. There will be traffic, the bar scene and unfortunately, a homeless population. None of these things bothered me as I am familiar with traveling in cities and actually felt this location is perfect for many tourist goals.
That being said, the A/C is definitely a problem. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great, but cramped in a too-small space. We couldn't get the Wi-Fi to work but would rather be out in Boston anyway.
That being said, overall, comfortable and clean but is a downtown location. And sheesh, not worth a gazillion points because of the negatives I observed.

Room Tip: Go with a suite if possible to get more space... Remember, it's an old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kl4bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Kl4bama ,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and we apologize for the cramped space, but we do what we can with our limited area. We are sorry to hear about the issues with the AC and Wifi. Having friendly and helpful staff with a clean and comfortable room are just some of the standards we provide. We hope you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I am trying to get over $800 refunded to my credit card for a stay that never happened. I booked the hotel several months in advance. However, I needed to cancel a few days later due to some family member changes. The manager advised that this was an advanced purchase and that they could not refund my money-even though i canceled several months in advance. i was told they could not resell the room ? Really? I contacted the consumer complaint division with the city of Boston, who advised me that the manager was not willing to provide a full refund. Also, this is not a real IHG property. they advertise as such. But when there is an issue, they will tell you they are not under the corporate umbrella and are privately owned. My point is that you will have no help from IHG if you have an issue with this hotel. At this point, I have contacted the IRS to investigate their billing practices and will be filing a complaint with the attorney general in the morning. It just doesnt seem right to be billed for a product or service that was never received. Trying to steal $800 from a consumer could cost $8000 in the end.

Room Tip: Do Not Stay At This Hotel !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Frank M,

Thank you for your review about your stay. It is truly unfortunate to see that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing