We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Boston!”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Boston!”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

What makes this place special are the people. You could stay at one of the larger hotels nearby that have more modern rooms, large open lobbies, etc. This place is an older hotel, well maintained, but with it's lovable quirks. The floor in our room (925 - good room with a decent view) sloped slightly, the stairs, which our kids loved to take daily, are narrow and winding - all of this adds charm! The lobby is not large an modern but smaller with a fireplace and a nice place to hang out and watch people. The staff is as good as I have experienced at much more expensive hotels - think The Ritz. Everyone from the doorman (Peter was great in suggesting local places to dine!) to the front desk, to the bartenders...you get the picture. The price-point is similar to the Marriot but I would much rather stay here with this amazing staff

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMTCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,412
    650
    130
    52
    22
See reviews for
874
1,218
167
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Charming old feel in this 110 year old hotel. Staff was informed this was a birthday trip and promptly upgraded our room. All staff were friendly and accommodating I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2011

this is and has been my "home away from home" for 10 years now at 4 visits per year, comes to about 30 stays at the lenox.
i really do get a sense that the lenox people really do care for my wife and i.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBORTIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The corner suite looking over the finish line is a great place to stay but on that "Marathon Monday", as we call it, it's usually rented out by different running groups...and so it should be. My friend got passes through her running group to go up to the top of the Lenox and watch the race with a bird's eye view. I'm not sure if it was open to the public or even Lenox Hotel guests...look into it. They had a whole spread of food and drinks with a DJ. Like I said, lots of running groups book through this hotel that weekend, so they roll out the red carpet.
Of course, the best way to see the race is right on the street with everyone cheering on the runners! It's uplifting!
It was such a great day!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The great: Location, about 15 min walk from Boston Common, 30 min walk to Faneuil Hall, good shopping, restaurants, night life within blocks of the hotel. Two popular bars and a restaurant within the hotel, Staff was excellent, attentive, eager, bright, and effective at their jobs. I had a small cut which looked to be infected so the young lady at the front desk quickly found me a packet of antibiotic ointment they had behind the desk. Problem solved in about 30 seconds. I had a small room (not an issue) with a small fridge (no mini-bar). Rooms were quiet, couldn't hear the neighbors. HBO was great (although screen on TV kept freezing for some reason - couldn't tell if it was the TV or the cable). They had a safe in the room. Free wi-fi, no password required. Robes, iron w/board provided in the room, The bad:This is clearly an old hotel. The room I stayed in on the 10th floor is in need of refurbishment. The floor creaked in places, The smoke detector was so dusty I doubt it would ever work if there was a fire. There is no counterspace in the bathroom. I have one small shaving kit and was pressed for space (kept it on the towel rack) One pillowcase had a rip in it. The electrical outlets looked a little dodgy, and the ceiling in the closet looked a little unfinished with dirty drop-tiles somewhat askew.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5kmilesin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here for four nights from Oct 30th. I had stayed here in Sept '10 and received an upgrade. No such luck this time, but it did'nt matter really. Everyone was happy with the hotel from the moment we walked inthe door to a warm and inviting lobby. Our room was a good size on the 5th floor. I had read here about waiting times for the lifts, but this only occurred on two occasions. We had breakfast in City Table each morning, and also ate in Solas on a couple of occasions. Because of its close proximity to all the retail/restaurant areas in Boston, this is a hotel we wou;d definitley revisit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOHSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Arrived on a very wet blustery, snowy saturday evening to the comfort and hospitality of the staff, Keely the receptionist was outstanding regarding her appraoch to guests. We were sent a complementary drink to our room and no request was a problem. The hotel is bu no means modern but a comfy place to stay with excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing