We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Location and Service”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent - Location and Service”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed at the Lenox for business for 2 nights. Location is excellent for both business and touring. Rooms are "old-style" comfort - large four poster beds, huge bathroom and closet, comfortable chairs and couches. Front desk service is smooth. Interior of the hotel says clubby and comfortable. Concierge is very helpful. Doormen/porters whisk you efficiently in an out. Room was quiet. Bathroom amenities are high quality. Back-bay Newbury street is two blocks away. Copley Square the opposite side of the Public Library. Get the junior suite for larger space. If you are there for romance, get the fireplace suites. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Fireplace suite for romance. Junior Suite for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,463
    658
    133
    52
    22
See reviews for
901
1,238
168
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We recently visited family in Boston and spent 3 nights at The Lenox. We loved this older historic hotel as it was exactly what we were looking for. We had 2 superior double rooms which suited our needs quite nicely. The well appointed rooms came with free wifi and bottled water which was a real plus,
The location is perfect. Not only was our family nearby, but in terms of restaurants,a shopping and sightseeing it was very convent in the heart of it all.
We ate at City Table which we liked, but really loved Solas for lunch. There are many really good restaurants in the area also. Abe and Louis was our favorite,
The staff was professional and friendly, We really did not need their assistance too much, but we were assured if we needed anything, they would accommodate us.
If we ever get back to Boston, we will fora sure return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Htr423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

We came for a wedding that was held in their City Bar. The florist was Honey from Lotus flowers transformed the Bar into a beautiful wedding spot Brendon the event coordinator did a fantastic job. Everyone was so nice. The dinner was at the City Table and the food was outstanding. The location is perfect. I can't imagine staying anywhere else

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY, USA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at the Lennox through SkyAuction. It was a terrific choice. Pluses - super, central location in Copley Square area (next door to Lord & Taylors, block to Prudential Center and a block to Newbury St, a block to Copley Square Plaza, great restaurants right across the street, near the subway, etc.). Fast check-in once the room was ready at 2pm (arrived before 11am, a room was available but not the king bed we wanted). Room reminded us of a NYC hotel room in size with the bathroom being the smallest we've ever seen. But everything was fine, clean, etc. Wi-Fi was complimentary (and fast) and there were two bottles of complimentary water. One disappointment was an unfinished repair near the tub in the bathroom (needed to be sanded and painted). Negatives - not really any (elevators were a bit slow maybe). We would definitely go back for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Having just dosed the nearby Eliot Hotel with words of disappointment and recommended the Lenox instead, it's great to write in praise of the better hotel. You've got to love a good hotel that keeps an oversized 1950s neon sign announcing itself on its roof. Shows some humor and a bon vivant spirit. Like the Eliot Hotel, the Lenox is family-owned and run, but unlike the Eliot, the Lenox has a very big heart, a great cheery feel when you walk in, warm happy rooms, and the sense that they have thought of everything. My husband and I have stayed in smaller rooms and in the Judy Garland suite at the Lenox. We loved them both. We once mentioned to reception that we liked their choice of table clocks and they ordered one for us --gratis. We arrived on one visit off an evening flight from Europe, woke up the next morning at 4 am, and spent a few hours online so as not to disturb others with early morning TV. Reader: the internet was free and came up fast as a pitch. (At the Eliot, no such luck on their pay as you go system). The New York TImes, our favorite paper, was at the door by around 5:00 and coffee was available early in the lobby. The attached restaurant served a perfectly good breakfast, after being crowded with upbeat locals and guests the night before. The large, backlit bar off the lobby is obviously a big draw too. Upstairs, you don't hear any of the socializing below and sleep well on comfortable mattresses. In the morning, you can walk to the upscale shops at nearby Copley Place, dash into Lord and Taylor right next to the Lenox, or stroll down to La Voile on Newbury Street for something French. No more straying for us: the Lenox is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMcNabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

We were given a free upgrade to a wonderful corner room on the top floor. Nice decor, very comfy bed. Nice and quiet. You know you're in for a treat when you enter the lobby. Professional, but friendly service.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

This place is beautiful. It's old and the rooms are small so don't expect acres of space. The furnishings are in keeping with the old world charm. There are some lovely touches like Aveda products in the bathroom, free wifi and complimentary bottled water which make the stay more pleasant and the price worthwhile. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable which was great as this was out first time to Boston. The hotel is within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,439 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,300 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,784 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing