We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Hotel in Downtown Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic Hotel in Downtown Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed at The Lenox Hotel during a long weekend in February 2012.
The hotel has a very romantic ambience with a nice large fire place in the lobby, nicely furnished rooms and some old world charm.
The location is especially good, everything in Downtown Boston is in walking distance and you are in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,392
    646
    130
    51
    21
See reviews for
865
1,210
167
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

The Lenox is an attractive old building by US standards. Placed on a corner block with two separate entrances it is compact as you enter. There is no grand foyer, just a small lobby with separate reception and concierge desks.

Although advertised as a boutique hotel it feels more like a well polished traditional hotel and the rooms are similar. You get comfortable beds with nice bedding but there is none of the modernity associated with the word "boutique".

I was upgraded to a corner junior suite without requesting. When I arrived at the room I discovered twin queen beds which although not significant always feels strange when you are staying alone in a hotel room (I don't really know why but it always feels as if you are waiting for someone to arrive even though they never will!). The decoration is fine and traditional, the room was spacious with a small table with two chairs and a separate desk. There was a fireplace in the room which is unusable (again I have never understood the American fascination with fireplaces - especially if they cannot be used!).

A nice gesture was the complimentary water bottles in the fridge and also a goody basket with a variety of savoury and chocolate snacks. The bathroom was a bit dated and is the reason for the four star rating. Dark combined shower over the bath with a shower curtain. The toilet was rather cramped between the sink and the bath and there was gymnastics required to access the loo roll. The toiletries were Aveda and first class.

I had breakfast one morning and it was fine, good quality and good service.

If I had to some up why I like this hotel it really is the service - everybody you came into contact with seemed happy and guest focussed. The hotel is well managed and they have added benefits to the guest which add convenience and make you feel thought of

- Complimentary wifi with no complicated logon
- Complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning
- Sweet snack on your bed every night
- Chargers for your phone if needed
- Took care of my postcard providing stamps free
- Handwritten welcome card

Finally the hotel feels part of the local community not distanced from it as you get in other city chain hotels. Both bars were buzzing each night and the restaurant seemed busy. It is also well placed for shopping and local restaurants.

Service was very prompt throughout.

Overall this is a good hotel with excellent service and I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haacht
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Lenox is a beautiful place that breathes elegance. The neon sign on top just doesn't do it justice!
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Bathroom was a bit on the small side but the room was elegant and airy.
Hotel restaurant can get busy. Dinner was nice however, after just having received cocktails, our appetizers already arrived and 1 minute after we finished those, the main course was served which turned a night out into an "in and out" experience.
The location of the hotel is superb! The area is very safe (I ventured out alone at night, no issues). Close to all major sights, shops, within reach of public transportation and close to a lively area (Newbury street). Great hotel, great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here for 15 days on a business trip. The room was very good, with more than everything you need. The shower was very good, and toiletries provided excellent. Bed very comfortable and room very quiet on the third floor. I enjoyed the lively bar and good cocktails. Restaurant was good for breakfast and dinner but can be busy at night. Staff very helpful when needed.
Have bee to Boston before and next time will definitely stay here again.
Train station very close by, buses also just round the corner. Taxes abundant, but can be varied in cost and quality, some not very knowledgable about routes or locations. Most sights, within easy reach, as are numerous bars and restaurants. Area is safe at night. Plenty of shopping close by for all tastes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobHFilmEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel is very elegant and looks beautiful . The room is nice but the bath room wasn’t just small but tiny. We couldn’t even sit strait on the toilet. There wasn’t room for our legs.
We arrived at about 10 am and we got the room which was nice. But the bed was already set for sleeping and there was only one bath robe on the bed. For this hotel and for the cost of it I expected everything to be just right .
If you want valet parking the cost is 45 $. We parked ourselves just outside the hotel (like 10 steps away) for less than 30 $.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ililili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We were so incredibly pleased with our recent stay at The Lenox. The suite we had was really beautiful and spacious. The amenities were my favorite (L'Occitane) and the room was very comfortable. The location in the Back Bay is the best! We parked our car and didn't move it until we left. Everything is within walking distance. The service is great. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I travelled with my husband and 3 friends to the Lenox hotel for 6 nights the first week of November. As we had visited this hotel in October 2009 we decided to try it again as we very impressed with the hotel, service and quality. I was delighted to see that the hotel is just as charming and staff so friendly as I remembered it 2 years ago. We had a corner room on the 9th floor as it was great. When we mentioned it on check in that we had stayed there before we were asked to have some drinks sent up to us on the house as a token of our group staying there again. The only downside to the hotel is the horrible Irish bar Solas what a let down.Staff were so rude and very unfriendly. I would recommend the Lenox hotel to anyone who is looking for a great hotel with 1st class service.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,264 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing