We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit to Boston”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
cork
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family visit to Boston”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed in Lennox in September 2013 , excellent service , beautiful room . Location in Boston is superb . It is near every amenity ,prudential centre and Newbury Street . The staff in this hotel went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable . I have a problem with access , there are steps on both entrances , there is a small lift for a wheelchair on one side . The breakfast was good but the only food on offer during the day was in the bar . I would and have recommended this hotelto my friends

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,408
    650
    130
    52
    22
See reviews for
871
1,218
167
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We went to The Lenox for 4 nights in early December with our 14 month old daughter. First impressions - the lobby was warm, inviting and the staff were FANTASTIC. We found, during our entire trip, that they really went out of their way to help us with ANYTHING we asked for. They gave our daughter a stuffed Fox toy which she still carries around diligently. We had a Junior Suite with a fireplace (totally baby proofed). The room was warm and comfortable and the bathroom was stocked with Kiehls products - a nice touch. Also - location,location, location is fabulous, in the centre of everything and close to public transportation. Really though, it's the staff that make this hotel what it is! Can't wait to go back !

Room Tip: Junior Suite with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubitooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Everyone at the Lenox made us feel welcomed. We really enjoyed our stay because everyone went out of their way to be friendly and provide us anything we wanted during our stay. Whether it was the front desk or housekeeping we felt they were glad we were at the Lenox. Our room had just been renovated. We were guided to great restaurants and helped with things to do. We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite.
See more room tips
Green Features: Green conscious. Recycling is a priority. Appreciated their concern for the enviornment.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Went for 4 days just before Christmas with family. The hotel is wonderful. The only complaint I have was we had a damp room but the staff moved us immediately to a much nicer room with its own working open fire which was great. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. The main reception was wonderful with the open fireplace where you could sit all day. It was very Christmas would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the 11th floor as it is quite noisy as you are under the plant room which m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at the Lenox for 4 nights in October 2013. The delay in my review is the result of just recently retrieving my notes of our stay.

We arrived in Boston after nightmare flight from Newark with United. During preparations for take off a cabin crew member fell ill, and after the usual airline misinformation, a 45 minute flight took over 3 hours.

We choose the Lenox on basis of price location and TA reviews to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and were certainly not disappointed

We stayed in room 707, which is a spacious room with king sized bed, large flat screen TV, fridge, large walk-in closet, desk and chair, shower over bath which was more than adequate with a constant temperature - good so far. One comment would poor use of space that leaves large areas unused but with a narrow gap between the end of the bed and the large chest of drawers on which the TV stands rather than being wall mounted

The room was quiet as were the corridors and so with a really comfy bed we had no problems sleeping.

The accommodation experience was good. Sadly the food let it down. We ate in the City Table which is one of the hotel's 2 restaurants - the other has an Irish theme. Dinner on first night was poor with my pork belly being of a low standard. We ate breakfast the next day at the City Table. It was adequate but apart from the eggs the rest of the plate was lukewarm. I accept the heat of food maybe a cultural thing and as we had a choice to eat elsewhere our appreciation of the hotel does not include the restaurant facility.

The Bar was much appreciated and well stocked.

The hotel experience more than met expectation as we had a good and quiet room which was well appointed. We were met by attentive and informative staff who provided an anniversary card and wine that was much appreciated. The Hotel is well located and provides easy access to Boston's sights and experiences. We would have no problem staying again - thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, helpful and polite staff that will do anything to help you! I live in England and headed to Boston to meet up with my husband who was working. The hotel is very comfortable, great cocktail bar and restaurant. Can hugely recommend the blueberry pancakes for breakfast! Can't wait to go back, will definitely not be searching for a different hotel.
Very happy customer that has high standards. :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I've read quite a few recent reviews of the Lenox lauding the large rooms, and while we had a lovely time there and were reasonably comfortable in our rooms, "large" they were not. The Lenox is beautiful, well maintained, wonderfully staffed, fantastically located. We travelled with our two daughters, aged 17 and 20. Our rooms were the smallest on the floor, according to the plan on the back of the door, and this would normally not be a problem, except that we are a tall family, and the bathroom in our room was so small, we could not sit straight on the toilet - my husband joked that if he had cut off his right leg, it would have been fine. The toilet roll holder was above and behind the toilet - inaccessible. We ended up taking the roll off the holder and putting it on the floor so we could reach it. In addition, the one tiny towel rack in the bathroom was right next to the toilet, and was so loaded up with two towels, three hand towels, and numerous face towels, all stacked on top of each other, they crowded the space even more. We paid the same rate for these rooms, which had one small queen size bed as we paid for full sized rooms at other equally beautiful and historic hotels all around the US - a lot. So if you go there, and we recommend you do, because it is lovely, make sure you don't get rooms 312 or 318 if you are tall.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mardi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,309 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing