We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good City Hotel, excellent staff”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the Lenox for our honeymoon as we did a one night stop on Boston. The hotel is nice and has a wonderful character, bed is comfortable, and rooms are clean. The staff was extremely friendly especially the concierge lady! In need of some renovation though to get a full 5 star from me!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AR_itani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 3,387 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We frequently travel to Boston and have stayed at many of Boston's hotels: Seaport, Jury, Liberty, Commonwealth and Fairmont Copley Plaza which were all nice, BUT this trip we stayed at the Lenox which puts all the others to shame. The Lenox has a best location with the "T" steps away, a professional without being stuffy staff, and cleanest and best maid service. The fitness room was modern, coffee in lovely silver urns was waiting in the lobby in the morning, and hot chocolate and cookies in the evening. The rooms have been renovated recently with everything one could wish for in a hotel room. Really, can't say enough about the Lenox, only that I wish we would have discovered it earlier. Keep up the great work, Lenox!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Lenox Hotel this past Saturday night and can honestly say this is the best hotel in Boston. We live outside of Boston and wanted to have a little "staycation" along with some friends coming in from NY. We both have babies and as everyone knows, travelling with young kids can be a chore.

The valet was very patient and accommodating as we unloaded all of the extra junk we never used to travel with. Upon check in, we were given a small stuffed animal -- my daughter smiled.

The room we had on the 9th floor had been recently renovated and it showed, the linen was beautiful and the room furnishings were very tasteful and comfortable.

My wife and her friend wanted to have some time together so after the babies were asleep, they ventured downstairs to city bar (bar in the lobby) -- no reason to leave the hotel on a cold winter night -- they reported back next morning that they had a great time (although i was asleep when my wife came home so hopefully they didn't have THAT great a time!)

The soap/shampoo/lotion is made by Kiehls and the women raved about these products -- i don't know much about this stuff, i just use trader joes shampoo, but i guess its pretty good stuff and not cheap -- another big plus!

Lastly, cannot say enough about the friendliness of the Lenox staff. My daughter is up early in the morning so she and i spent some time in the lobby early sunday morning and she was totally entertained by the staff. The women behind the desk were making her smile and she enjoyed a ride on the lobby luggage cart and devoured 2 bananas provided at the front desk.

We loved our stay at the Lenox and you can tell that the hotel does a great job keeping their staff happy, unlike many of the "big box" or corporate hotels around that are just looking to squeeze every dollar out of their operation. You won't be disappointed with a stay at the Lenox, the location cannot be beat, the staff are wonderful and you will get a great night sleep in a beautiful room!

Room Tip: Splurge and get a fire place room -- totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tannerybrookrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is beautiful and SPOTLESS! We stayed for one night in room 819 and couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff is so sweet, professional and genuinely interested in your stay. The room service is delish. LOVE it. I'll never stay anywhere else in Boston. I can't hype this place enough! You won't be disappointed. Thank you, Lenox staff!! You're the best!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The building, architecturally, is beautiful. The lobby and bar are great but the rooms feel very out of date and a little cheap. Have to say, it sort of reminded me of a funeral home. The bed was a bit hard for my taste too. Nice staff and great location.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank SalamanderSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My spouse & I stayed at the Lenox for 4 days. A midwinter pleasure! The hotel is beautifully maintained; the halls are a lovely combination of deep blues and pale gold and the fireplace in the lobby attracts a group. Nate, the friendly young gent at the front desk gave me a lovely birthday gift of a corner room looking one way up Boylston St and the other toward the Charles. We arrived in the room to find a bottle of prosecco and 2 glasses to initiate the birthday celebration. A grand welcome! The front desk staff were consistently helpful with answering questions. The location is great; an easy walk to the BU theater, Newbury St and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMHMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed at The Lenox twice in the course of a week and half. Both times we were very impressed with the hotel. The staff there is incredibly friendly and helpful, you never feel like you are being a pain for them. The hotel is an older hotel but has had a ton of upkeep and renovations over the years and you don't feel like it is a very old building. The bathroom amenities are all Kiehl's products which is a very nice touch. You also get turndown service nightly and the chocolates are a great treat. The hotel does a considerable amount to be green which we always appreciate. The location is perfect for anyone visiting Boston, easy access to many of the sites either by walking or taking the T. We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrytravelers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,492 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,351 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £138 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing