We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The First Boutique Hotel”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I am not sure if the Boston Lenox is indeed the first boutique hotel, but they do a nice job of living up to expectations. From the doorman (pure Boston) to valet to front desk to turndown staff to porter, the service is authentic friendly, not ostentatious, and helpful. Our room was very well apportioned and even though it was a classic (meaning no view), it was exactly what we wanted...facing the interior without street noise. A very pretty place, conveniently located, within easy walking distance of the Commons, waterfront, North End. Copley StAtion (green line) subway a half block away. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Room choose may depend upon how you book and what price you pay. We wanted quiet, away from elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 3,428 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

What is to say that already has not been said about The Lenox. A fine alternative to the chain hotels. Colourfully decorated and loads of history to boot. The location is great, not in busy downtown but conveniently centrally located to many shops, restaurants and bars. The staff were superb and the room was well equipped and comfy. The breakfast at City Table in the hotel was exceptionally good. The lobby is small but affluently snug. Other than their Irish Pub "Sólás" being rather expensive for an Irish Pub, no other complaints to be had. A small gym and business center with free internet are located in the basement. Hope to be back again someday. This is a classic hotel from days gone by.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CubanWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recently spent 4 nights at the elegant, classy Lenox. The location is ideal - many restaurants, shops and attractions are within easy walking distance. Everyone on staff is professional and helpful, especially concierge Nate, who went out of his way to help me plan my trip, both before and during my stay. Nearby Sorellina restaurant is outstanding! I will definitely be back to enjoy this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful to a fault, and the hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Back Bay. The décor is mostly fittingly historic, even if that means quite a lot of browns and greys for some tastes, and the breakfast was excellent, if not cheap. We prefer hotels with a difference but in this case there are two I would change. Make sure to ask for a room that is not part of a larger suite: the dividing door spared us no detail of our neighbors' late-night disputes, and although we were given a different room for the next night with no problem we would have liked to stay there for both. And however classy the silver coffee containers (but paper cups) in the lobby, it would be really good to be able to make a hot drink in the bedroom during the night. So by no means a bad experience, just a feeling it could be better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with a dividing door to a second bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisH137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having never been to Boston before and taking a family vacation there, we wanted a place centrally located but also somewhat affordable. Took a little maneuvering on Priceline, but got a rate we were happy with and were ecstatic when we found out it was the Lenox.

Check in was a breeze, and the front desk staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. They even offered to change us to two double beds with no problems. The room was great. Clean, good view right out over Boylston Street, and the bed was comfortable. Over our four day trip we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but when we did we were almost always greeted pleasantly at the door on our way to the elevator.

As for the location, it was great. Only a short walk to the train station, and several places to eat close by. Only downside was none of them were quick options, so upon returning late one night, there's nowhere to grab a quick burger/sandwich. There were several places still open, but I didn't want to sit at the bar waiting for some takeout. That's not the hotel's problem though. I just wished there had been a quick option close by. I ended up walking down the street to Walgreen's and getting something there.

All in all it's a hotel I can safely recommend with confidence for probably any traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawgatAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lenox hotel is an excellent choice. Walking distance from everywhere. A charming classy hotel with wonderful service in the center of this lovely city. I could not have made better choice. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The architecture and decor was wonderful, the upgraded amenities lovely, and the service was outstanding. From the valet and bell staff, front desk, concierge, to the wait staff in the restaurants.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Lenox and would highly recommend it to anyone. Parking was costly however there's such limited parking in Boston.
It was our first time visiting Boston and we will definitely return.
*I feel we've been spoiled by The Lenox so would find it very difficult to book anywhere else in future.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor for a better view. We were on the 7th and were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarahmcdee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,541 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £137 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing