We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nice and Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2005

We stayed here for three nights in September. We arrived on an early flight from chicago but the front desk were very helpful in letting us have a room well ahead of normal check in time. The room was very spacious with a huge, comfortable bed. We had a nice corner room on the 5th floor with a good view of Boylston street. The Bathroom was spotless with nice Aveda toiletries. I particularly liked the crystal glasses and ice bucket - a nice change from the usual plastic stuff you get in hotels.
The air conditioning was VERY noisy but to be honest you get used to it and sleep right through. We just put it down to one of the quirks of an older hotel.
The Hotel is in an excellent location - The T stop is a close by as is Newbury Street and Copley Square. We walked to Boston Common, downtown and Fanueils Market and it only took around 20 minutes or so. It could probably be done quicker but we were browsing along the way.
We were out a few nights until around 1:00 in the morning and when we came back the hotel was still bustling with party goers in the attaching Irish Pub. It seems to be a popular place with local Boston people but we could not hear any noise at all when we were back in our room. We walked around the hotel areas very late at night and felt safe
One word of caution though - even though I had pre-paid for the room and had no extra charges an amount was billed to my credit card on check in. Hopefully, this will be sorted and refunded shortly but I would advise you to just double check with the front desk when you hand over your card.
We would definately stay again and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank silvergirlracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,384
    646
    130
    51
    21
See reviews for
861
1,208
167
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2005

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the lenox in boston for our 6th wedding anniversary. Although not a terrible stay, i have had better. The room was the smallest i have ever stayed in. Only room for one person standing in the bathroom. No counter space at all. The hotel is very old and smelled a little. All of this was fine however. We came to see the city, not stay in the room. Very close to the T and Newbury street which is actually why we chose this hotel. My biggest complaint came on the last day. My husband had a beautiful bouquet of pink roses delivered to our room on the day of our arrival. When we left of course I wanted to take them with me since I had only enjoyed them for 3 days. The hotel was very unhelpful with providing a box for me to transport them home in. They said that if we wanted a box we shouldn't have had them delivered in a vase. So my husband and i walked down the street ourselves to Winston Flowers Florist and they helped us to package them so i could take them home. I was not impressed with the level of service at this hotel. Judging from previous reviews it seems to be hit or miss. Unfortunately this past weekend was a miss. I expect much more from a 4 star hotel. Next time we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamtrips99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, Kent UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Lenox for 5 nights and we had a superb time there. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, the furniture was in keeping with the style of room and I almost wished it was cold so that we could have a fire in the fireplace!
Breakfast each day was excellent, I almost became addicted to their 'Crab cakes Benedict', I wish I could get their blend of coffee, it was lovely (I have just started drinking my coffee without milk, for diet reasons and the coffee was so smooth and delicious). The service in the restaurant was always very efficient.
The front desk were helpful at all times, especially when a security lock jammed on my suitcase. Within 5 minutes the problem was solved!
The Concierge was very helpful, booking trips, restaurants and giving advise.
Whilst there we also met Jimmy an WW2 Veteren originally from Australia who still workd in the Lenox for a couple of days a week! He was a real character and we really enjoyed talking to him. Well done 'the Lenox' for employing him, he made our stay there even more interesting.
The hotel is very convenient for transport links. We bought a 3 day pass for the T and made had a great time travelling around the city.
We loved the Duck tour (quack quack) our narrator who was dressed as a pirate made a fun experience even more enjoyable.
The walking tour of the Freedom trail was very informative and our guide was charming.
Boston is a beautiful city, we will stay at the Lenox again if we return there. We are recommending it to all our friends!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SupplyTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2005

Stayed for 2 nights in "Superior Double" room t $269 per night plus tax nd $36 per day for parking. Room was tiny, no minibar, no coffemaker. Instead they want you to order in-room brekfast, which we did once - $50 for 2 people for bacon and eggs. One small window was facing service roof with a wire cage over a ballroom dome. Room above us had a leaking window air-conditioner that poured water into our window. Hotel supposedly won all kinds of eco awards for water conservation, etc. But shower in our tiny bath was as close to a fire hose as you can get - enough water coming out for 4 showers. They ask you to re-use your towels, or put the ones you want replaced on the bathroom floor. We left one on the floor - it actually never got replaced. Very curious experience, will never stay there again. Furniture and curtains were nice, but then the only blanket option was a down comforter in July!?


  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wtravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Rooms Division Manager at Lenox Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2005
On behalf of The Lenox we did our best to accomodate the guest with an early check in of 9:30 am. It is The Lenox policy to ensure that all guests are comfortable and if they let us know that they are unhappy with their room in any way, we will do our best to rectify the problem or offer to relocate them when another room becomes available later in the day.
With regards to the window air conditioner leak- we do not have window units but have determined that because of the tremendous downpours experienced that week there was a heavy flow of water cascading down the buiding, which could have been the cause of the dripping. As for the shower being very strong, we have flow restrictors installed on all of our shower heads, however occasionally guests request they be removed. We do have all-season, lightweight, down comforters on our beds with the option of a cotton blanket, which can be found in the guestrooms closets. We did our best to accommodate the guest with a 6:00 pm check out on a sold out night, at an additional charge of $100.
It is always our goal to resolve any issues a guest may have and to make all guests departing The Lenox want to return. Unfortunately, in this situation we were not made aware of any issues until after the guest left giving us no opportunity to make any corrective measures such as the offer of a room move.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Lenox from July1-5, to see Boston, but mostly to be there for the 4th of July fireworks. The Lenox's staff is very friendly (Kate) and very helpful - they even provided us with a blanket for the July 4th festivities on the Esplanade. Our room had a great view of the skyline of Boston and Cambridge, and was taken care of promptly when we left every morning. The location of the Lenox can't be beat - one block from the T station, one block from Newbury, and within walking distance to the Boston Garden and Common. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Copley Square - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing