We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Can You Expect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Boston

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What Can You Expect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

You can expect to be treated with a smiling and friendly staff, from the doormen, registration desk, bellmen and concierege. Having been a former member of Meeting Planners and having travelled the East Coast in some great and some not so great hotels, I would rate the Langham Hotel in Boston as 5 Star all the way. The ambience of the hotel, the location to various historical spots in Boston and the restaurants in the hotel are second to none. This was my first visit to the Langham Hotel and I was "blown away" with their excellence. Purpose of my visit to the Hotel was to attend a wedding which was exquisite.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammykelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    574
    152
    53
    35
See reviews for
386
855
82
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just because this is a fancy hotel in a historic building doesn’t mean that this expensive place is all you might think. I checked into a room that was stuffy and humid. The thermostat on the wall is just placed there as some kind of cruel joke; you can’t adjust the temperature one way or the other. I called the front desk and after being placed on hold for some period of time while they checked I was told that yes, I should be comfortable on the 70º temperature they have it set to…isn’t that right? I said no, I’m not comfortable at all. They said that they’d call “engineering”. Engineering never came but they called me back to say that engineering had set it to 65º (this was done remotely). Sure enough they had, so then after it ran for a while it was almost too cold; basically only choice was fan speed. This system is unbelievably non-user friendly…I want to be able to control my own comfort. Furthermore, the air outlet in the room was pretty well coated with mold & mildew (picture attached). I wouldn’t expect such a situation at an Econolodge much less an expensive hotel such as this one. Bath does have incredibly thick towels but all the amenities like shampoo and lotion are made in China and they don’t provide mouthwash which I expect in a 4-star hotel. The internet is extra charge, bottle of water are provided in the room “as a courtesy” and only $9.00 will be added to your bill if you drink one! That’s some courtesy! Toll Free calls are a dollar a piece; everything here is an “extra charge”. Decent selection of HD channels on the TV, good lighting in the room and bath.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 30-StateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The lobby was finished the day before we arrived and it was Gorgeous and very well decorated. Our room was perfect, comfy bed, very clean and a perfect view of the park. Everyone from the doorman to the bellhop were very professional and polite and made our stay enjoyable! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The King Supreme on the 5th floor was perfect for 2 people and the sound of the night club downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I researched many hotels to determine where my sister and I could stay on our first trip to Boston. Since we wanted to see the Freedom Trail and other historical sights we settled on a location downtown rather than the Back Bay. Boston is an expensive city so that did put a few restrains on our choices. But really we still had to pay almost $400 a night with taxes included and that was if we stayed 4 nights which we did. That apparently was reasonable for Boston. Also we did not have to prepay it which I liked in case our plans changed. The program was called "Linger at the Langham".

The Langham is right in the financial district, only 4 blocks from Faneuil Hall. The price was for a deluxe double which was very large. The price included a $25 breakfast each day for each of us and admission to the spa which was very nice. It had a pool, jacuzzi, workout facility and regular spa treatments. The bar is beautiful with a food menu which we used as we got in late when we arrived.

It is about 4 blocks to the "T" but that is not bad as we wanted to walk a lot on this trip. The doormen were wonderful and the Concierge booked our dinner reservations in places that were busy.

Overall a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor looking out on the street. It was very quiet at night time in Boston. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureLady007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We went to the Langham back in May for our anniversary. We loved it, and are planning on making it an annual tradition.

Location--Langham is located in the financial district of Boston, so if you are visiting on a weekend you will find that the surrounding area will be quite quiet and relaxing. On the flip side, nearby coffee shops are also closed. It's a quick (7-10 min.) walk to Faneuil Hall and the North End. On Sunday morning, we walked to the North Street Grille in the North End for brunch. It was a lovely walk (going through the Greenway), and the breakfast spot is to die for! I'd definitely recommend it over the 50 dollar breakfast buffet at the Langham.

Spa- We visited the spa on a Saturday for a massage, and found that we had the place to ourselves. The service was first rate, and were very accommodating. The massage, though, was less than wonderful. I could hear the toilet flushing during the massage. Spa area includes jacuzzi, pool, sauna, showers, and lockers. Very clean and nice.

The hotel was undergoing renovation during our visit, but it was no inconvenience to us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakeandicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here for a short business trip. Quick impressions.... large and traditional hotel geared in part to conferences but fine for a city break too, very helpful desk staff and concierge, tasty breakfast though no buffet so don't be in too much of a rush (didn't get chance to try main meals), good atmosphere in the bar and nice wines, well placed for the heart of the city, smallish and rather dark standard double room with comfortable bed and bedding, adequate but not spectacular bathroom, indoor pool inviting but didn't get chance to go. Black mark for steep wireless internet charges. Building work in the foyer at present making it noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Great attentive service and traditional decoration (maybe a bit too pink for my taste). The rooms were spacious and the bed very comfortable, specially the pillows! The location was in the financial district, near everything but too quiet at weekends. All in all a good experience but more for a high-end corporate stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londinenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#42 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,968 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#26 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,the Reserve, a refined champagne lounge which serves a continental breakfast selection and offers dining from dawn until dusk with a menu featuring soups, salads and light entrees, along with beer, wine, champagne and The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing