We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to shell out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Prepare to shell out!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed at The Langham for one night on business September 19, 2013. The hotel is beautiful, steeped in history and very well located, however, the price for accommodation at this level in many other world class cities (New York, Toronto, London - I've been to all) is about half of what the Langham charges. It was about $400 for one night, and breakfast (which was indeed tasty, but again, overpriced) was about $27. Boston overall has very expensive hotels - even a "standard" hotel like a Holiday Inn is over $200 and closer to the airport (not well located). I hope the next time I visit I'll be able to find a better value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mefirstfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear mefirstfitness,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to learn that you found our hotel beautiful and our hotel ideally located. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    596
    160
    54
    38
See reviews for
414
885
86
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our stay at The Langham was our last night in Boston on this holiday and you couldn't improve on it. The room was luxurious, with every possible comfort. The staff from the maid who did the turn down service, to the Concierge and everyone in between, were courteous, helpful and wanting to make out stay a great one. The pink London taxi, the hotel's courtesy transport was a real experience and a very good one. We popped into the bar for an after dinner cocktail and it was buzzing. A wonderful way to end our holiday. If I was in Boston again I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaLeVasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear LindaLeVasseur,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham during your visit to Boston. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us found our accommodations comfortable and luxurious, and that you especially enjoyed our Pink Taxi. Thank you as well for complementing our colleagues for their courteous and helpful service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 with friends. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The Hotel is in the financial district of Boston and in easy walking distant of everything. Our rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear MotherDartford,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our location within walking distance to local sights ideal. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Boston.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Most places you will want to see in Boston are within walking distance of the Langham. We stayed here for 5 nights on our first visit to Boston for my birthday trip. On arrival we were given a warm greeting by staff and were quickly checked in and shortly after retiring to our room our bags were delivered. This meant we were able to rest in peace after a long and tiring journey. Our room was a superior and was very comfortable. The bed was roomy and comfortable and the linen of good quality. The bathroom proved to be a bit gloomy as there was no light over the bath and one of 2 lights over the washbasin was not working. Shower water pressure was a little low. All in all though the room was comfortable clean and pleasantly furnished and we were not aware of any noise problems. We decided to order room service for our first night and our food was delivered quickly and it was hot and well cooked and presented. (Unfortunately this was not the same on our last night when it was cold and almost thrown into the door by the waiter who did not even offer to put up the table. This was resolved when we complained and were served a second meal but by then it was late and we had rather gone off the idea.) We had booked bed and breakfast and were not disappointed with the quality of the breakfast. Service was excellent on all but our last morning. (When you book Breakfast with your booking you are allocated $30 credit each per day. The Langham breakfast at $28 is under this but there is no carry over to the next day. If you order something different (the buffet for example on weekends at $28 or steak and eggs) this does not come with tea or coffee, juice etc (The Langham breakfast does) so anything over $30 is charged to your account. I think this should be made clear. Some of this cost was deleted on checking out but we still had an $80 bill for breakfasts.) Internet access is good and the concierge arranged for us to have internet access in our room free of charge as we were staying for 5 nights. The concierge staff are a mine of information and were very helpful when it came to helping us spend our time in the most useful way. The only criticism I would have of this hotel is that there is a lack of written information regarding "how things work". The staff were very helpful when we asked about things but nevertheless we had to ask and a simply designed handbook in each room would have been most helpful. We had a lovely stay in Boston and would use the Langham again. Be sure to visit the Irish Pub just down the road (turn left out of the hotel front door). Food is good, drinks reasonably priced and a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanSEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear JeanSEEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us for your Birthday and found our accommodations comfortable and clean. I am disappointed to learn that you experienced a service shortfall with In Room Dining. Our Food and Beverage Manager is organizing a training session on the proper Langham standards for service and guest interaction. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I cannot fault this hotel.
In a very good location, not far from the market area and the financial district, it is pretty central and most sights are within walking distance.
The public areas are spacious and well appointed, as was our room.
All members of staff that we encountered were kind, helpful and considerate. I would particularly like to mention Lucile and Kate who went out of their way to ensure our comfort.
We stayed for three nights and wished that we had stayed longer.
Oh well!.. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pagliaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear pagliaccio,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and particularly enjoyed our location in Downtown Boston, within walking distance to the Waterfront, Quincy Market and the Boston Common. Thank you as well for complementing our colleagues Lucile and Kate for their exceptional service during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston!

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend. Although you're in the financial district, you're within walking distance of most attractions and you can also rent a bike. The staff are friendly and the rooms are nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased that your stay with us met your expectations and that you found our hotel ideally located within walking distance. Thank you as well for mentioning the friendly service you received from our colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Langham boasts a wonderful location and we thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay during a recent theater weekend. While most all of our destinations were within walking distance, transportation to a distant theater (and back and forth to Logan) was handled with incredibly fast responsiveness and comfort by Uber.

The lobby, public areas, and hallways of the Langham were very impressive: historic yet bright, crisp and modern. When we entered our room, however, the excitement ended—but not because there was anything wrong with our accommodations. The room was large, immaculate, and well-appointed but the heavy window treatments and traditional furniture didn't set the room apart from dozens of others we have stayed in. The bathroom was spotless but again, the tub/shower curtain combo and limited counter space weren't anything memorable. And since I would venture that roughly half of hotel guests are male, I fail to understand why the complimentary toiletries provided (soaps, lotions, shampoos and conditioners) are usually laden with strong feminine scents. How nice it would be—especially in a property with a reputation like the Langham’s—for men to be provided with their own bath products.

As we were constantly on the go, all of our meals were enjoyed off-site so I can’t provide any opinions on the Langham’s various restaurants or bars. We did use the fitness center and found it well-equipped whether for a cardio or strength training workout. We appreciated the nightly turn down service as so many properties have down away with it, and we found the Langham’s staff to be very professional, yet warm and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxandmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear jaxandmci,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to read that your stay with us met your expectations. Thank you for your comment regarding providing separate toiletries for men. I am glad that you found our accommodations clean and spacious, and that you enjoyed our nightly Turn Down Service as well as our Fitness Center. Thank you as well for complementing our colleagues for their professional and friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Langham, Boston on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,862 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,405 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing