We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No where near 5-star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent two nights at the Langham Boston over Labor Day. We typically like to stay in five star hotels and given the reputation this brand has, we thought we would give it a shot. It does most things well enough (service is average, lobby has a classy feel, rooms are decent), but it is not a 5 star resort as it has been advertised by some.

Room - We had a Queen Room and it felt cramped to a certain degree. Not sure if it was the odd layout or the low ceilings, but it didn't feel luxurious. The furnishings were traditional and appeared to be ready for replacement. Same goes for the bathroom - too tight to accommodate two people. (For comparison purposes, Nine Zero in Boston blows the room out of the water).

Service - Front desk was very courteous. Concierge was readily available and helpful. We visited Bond (the bar off the lobby) and this is where the service fell apart. The bar itself is beautiful. Extremely classy and upscale. However, something was seriously wrong in the kitchen. After an hour and 15 minutes of waiting and finally telling the manager that we were leaving, he provided an excuse for the problem and threw the bartender under the bus for absolutely no good reason. It wasn't his fault the kitchen staff couldn't figure it out. Every guest in the place waited at least 1 hour for simple appetizers (and this was at 2pm - the place wasn't packed). I found it classless that a manager would treat his employees like that in front of guests for something that was clearly his fault.

Pool - Spent approximately 15 minutes in this area. The whole area needed cleaning. There was a lot of sediment at the bottom of the pool and trash was scattered around the perimeter. Mold was growing in the water cooler. Very embarrassing.

Location - If you need to be in the financial district, this is an ok choice. Otherwise, find somewhere else to stay. There isn't a convenient T stop, but it is walkable to the harbor.

Overall - Unfortunately, I would not choose The Langham again. In a city full of hotel options, there are simply better ones available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear JBHighRoller,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston over Labor Day weekend. I am disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations, and that you encountered a shortfall in our service in BOND and with our Pool area. We have addressed the shortfall you encountered in BOND with both the Kitchen and Manager on duty, and have organized a training session for all wait and kitchen staff regarding menu knowledge and the preparation time for each menu item. As for the Pool area, our colleagues in Chuan have been re-instructed on the importance of hygiene and cleanliness at all times. I am glad however that the service you received from our Front Desk and Concierge team was helpful and courteous. For future stays at The Langham, Boston, there are two T stops located within a 5 minute walk to our hotel (State Street, Downtown Crossing), with another 2 T stops within a 10 minute walk (Government Center and Haymarket). Thank you for once again your feedback.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Beautiful hotel right in the financial district. Great service. A few issues with the hotel keys, but nothing to really complain about. The rooms were spacious and the lobby is tastefully done. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Desiree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Desiree P,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you found our hotel ideally located in downtown Boston and our accommodations spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights during Labor day long weekend, and the hotel was busy but the front desk helped us to check in within few minutes. The client services at this hotel is very good, and Front Desk staffs are very friendly and helpful (we found they are more helpful than designated concierge desk staff). Our room is a one king bed suite, and the room itself is very spacious. The room is facing the front street, but we can't hear any noise at all. Cleaning lady always replace/refill the cleaning product in the bathroom, and the room always cleaned and tidy. Overall we enjoyed staying in this hotel. Only thing is that WIFI is not free at room, and you always have to go to common area/lobby to access free WIFI. I think if they can include free WIFI access in the guest room, then it will be perfect.

Tips: basically the location is close to old state house and surrounding tourist area. If you come from airport, you will need to get off at Aquarium station and walk about 10 minutes to get here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear RLMarkham,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston over Labor Day weekend. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found our colleagues, especially from our Front Desk to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for your comment regarding WiFi. In light of guest feedback, we are now offering complimentary Wifi in all of our guestrooms. Thank you for your e-mail and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Langham, Boston soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Located in the financial district The Langham has been created from the old Federal Reserve Bank building. For us a perfect location and very easy to walk to most things we needed or wished to see. Very, very comfortable bed, good size room, quiet, clean, excellent staff and service. There's a lot to like. $60 will get you brunch in the restaurant where you can see the original Federal Seal. I'd want to see more than that to pay $60 for brunch! For us the cost of the restaurant and the hotels other extras were the only downside of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Chris M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you loved our ideal location within walking distance to local sights and attractions, as well as our clean and comfortable accommodations. Our Restaurant and Lounge BOND, where the original Federal Seal is still in the floor is open for Lunch and Dinner, while our Sunday City Brunch is located in Café Fleuri and is a long-standing institution in Boston and at the Langham. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on our next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Unfortunately we only spent one night here but from the minute we walked in until the minute we left we were treated without exception, like royalty. Firstly we were upgraded. The room was a double queen with robes, slippers, bath, shower, dressing area etc etc. We were so pleased with the space and only wished we had spent more time in it. We went to the gym and spa. There was no shortage of cv equipment and weights. The staff in the gym were so helpful and we actually got a great recommendation of somewhere healthy to eat that evening, thank you to the young African American man who worked late on that Thursday night. We had the best meal ever ! Sorry I can't remember your name.
We were not due to leave Boston until late the following evening. We spent the day shopping and were provided with an umbrella for our outing. We were able to leave our bags in the hotel and then on return had a shower in the spa. Towels were provided !
Finally we needed a taxi to get us to the airport and the door man tried relentlessly in the rain to get one for us. Thank you Mr doorman.

If I come back to Boston anytime soon this is the only place I am prepared to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PeacefulWarrior67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear PeacefulWarrior67,

Thank you for your flattering review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us, although only for 1 night, and that our accommodations were spacious and comfortable. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Gym and Chuan Body & Soul. Thank you for complementing our colleague Tola in Chuan for his dinner recommendation, as well as our Doormen. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Although the rooms can be a bit cozy, they are very clean and the beds are comfortable. No negative issues. I have stated at this hotel twice and would return. Service seems good. The hotel is very convenient if you are visiting a downtown office. Only thing I would recommend is free coffee in the lobby

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Cherise S,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased that you find our beds comfortable and our hotel in Downtown Boston within walking distance to the Waterfront ideally located. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed un the Langham for four nights. It is walking distance to the tourist attractions on the waterfront and fifteen minutes walk to Newbury street. The staff are helpful and efficient. If you have a chance go to the spa and have a treatment with Elisa her facials are wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank australiaSydny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear australiasydny,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at The Langham during your visit to Boston. I am delighted that you found our location within walking distance to local sights and attractions ideal for your stay. Thank you as well for complementing our colleagues for their helpful and efficient service, with special mention for Elisa in Chuan Body & Soul. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 86 in Boston
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#37 of 86 in Boston
2,891 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,453 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
4,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#26 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £154 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing