We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Langham, Boston
Nearby Hotels
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Boston Logan Airport(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$395
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lenox Hotel(Boston)
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Boston Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,487)
Filter reviews
2,487 results
Traveller rating
1,564
632
184
60
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,564
632
184
60
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe financial districtcafe fleuribond barchocolate barfederal reserve bankturn down servicepost office squaresuperior roomquincy marketbeautiful hotelfaneuil hallwithin walking distanceindoor poolfreedom trailthe north endnew englandbed was very comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,442 - 1,447 of 2,487 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Everything was wonderful at the Langham. The front desk staff was great as were many other staff that we encountered on our weekend in August. We were attending a wedding & the accommodations were beautiful & the hotel was elegant. It's easy to get around from the location.
The buffet breakfast was great that our friends treated all wedding guests to. We stayed with several other friends who also enjoyed this hotel. We will return to stay at the Langham again at a later date.
We did experience a glitch in that I accidentally booked 2 rooms. This was discovered by a friend & I am very happy it was or there may have been a problem. The front desk staff was helpful in resolving the issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Ellen C,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and found our accommodations beautiful and breakfast buffet delicious. Furthermore, I am pleased that our location was ideal for your stay with easy access to four T Subway stops and within walking distance to local attractions and sights. I am disappointed that you encountered a problem with your reservation, but am happy to learn that is was resolved quickly and efficiently. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent two nights at the Langham Boston over Labor Day. We typically like to stay in five star hotels and given the reputation this brand has, we thought we would give it a shot. It does most things well enough (service is average, lobby has a classy feel, rooms are decent), but it is not a 5 star resort as it has been advertised by some.

Room - We had a Queen Room and it felt cramped to a certain degree. Not sure if it was the odd layout or the low ceilings, but it didn't feel luxurious. The furnishings were traditional and appeared to be ready for replacement. Same goes for the bathroom - too tight to accommodate two people. (For comparison purposes, Nine Zero in Boston blows the room out of the water).

Service - Front desk was very courteous. Concierge was readily available and helpful. We visited Bond (the bar off the lobby) and this is where the service fell apart. The bar itself is beautiful. Extremely classy and upscale. However, something was seriously wrong in the kitchen. After an hour and 15 minutes of waiting and finally telling the manager that we were leaving, he provided an excuse for the problem and threw the bartender under the bus for absolutely no good reason. It wasn't his fault the kitchen staff couldn't figure it out. Every guest in the place waited at least 1 hour for simple appetizers (and this was at 2pm - the place wasn't packed). I found it classless that a manager would treat his employees like that in front of guests for something that was clearly his fault.

Pool - Spent approximately 15 minutes in this area. The whole area needed cleaning. There was a lot of sediment at the bottom of the pool and trash was scattered around the perimeter. Mold was growing in the water cooler. Very embarrassing.

Location - If you need to be in the financial district, this is an ok choice. Otherwise, find somewhere else to stay. There isn't a convenient T stop, but it is walkable to the harbor.

Overall - Unfortunately, I would not choose The Langham again. In a city full of hotel options, there are simply better ones available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear JBHighRoller,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston over Labor Day weekend. I am disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations, and that you encountered a shortfall in our service in BOND and with our Pool area. We have addressed the shortfall you encountered in BOND with both the Kitchen and Manager on duty, and have organized a training session for all wait and kitchen staff regarding menu knowledge and the preparation time for each menu item. As for the Pool area, our colleagues in Chuan have been re-instructed on the importance of hygiene and cleanliness at all times. I am glad however that the service you received from our Front Desk and Concierge team was helpful and courteous. For future stays at The Langham, Boston, there are two T stops located within a 5 minute walk to our hotel (State Street, Downtown Crossing), with another 2 T stops within a 10 minute walk (Government Center and Haymarket). Thank you for once again your feedback.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Beautiful hotel right in the financial district. Great service. A few issues with the hotel keys, but nothing to really complain about. The rooms were spacious and the lobby is tastefully done. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Desiree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Desiree P,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you found our hotel ideally located in downtown Boston and our accommodations spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights during Labor day long weekend, and the hotel was busy but the front desk helped us to check in within few minutes. The client services at this hotel is very good, and Front Desk staffs are very friendly and helpful (we found they are more helpful than designated concierge desk staff). Our room is a one king bed suite, and the room itself is very spacious. The room is facing the front street, but we can't hear any noise at all. Cleaning lady always replace/refill the cleaning product in the bathroom, and the room always cleaned and tidy. Overall we enjoyed staying in this hotel. Only thing is that WIFI is not free at room, and you always have to go to common area/lobby to access free WIFI. I think if they can include free WIFI access in the guest room, then it will be perfect.

Tips: basically the location is close to old state house and surrounding tourist area. If you come from airport, you will need to get off at Aquarium station and walk about 10 minutes to get here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear RLMarkham,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston over Labor Day weekend. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found our colleagues, especially from our Front Desk to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for your comment regarding WiFi. In light of guest feedback, we are now offering complimentary Wifi in all of our guestrooms. Thank you for your e-mail and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Langham, Boston soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Located in the financial district The Langham has been created from the old Federal Reserve Bank building. For us a perfect location and very easy to walk to most things we needed or wished to see. Very, very comfortable bed, good size room, quiet, clean, excellent staff and service. There's a lot to like. $60 will get you brunch in the restaurant where you can see the original Federal Seal. I'd want to see more than that to pay $60 for brunch! For us the cost of the restaurant and the hotels other extras were the only downside of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Chris M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you loved our ideal location within walking distance to local sights and attractions, as well as our clean and comfortable accommodations. Our Restaurant and Lounge BOND, where the original Federal Seal is still in the floor is open for Lunch and Dinner, while our Sunday City Brunch is located in Café Fleuri and is a long-standing institution in Boston and at the Langham. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on our next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews