We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lot Better in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Lot Better in Boston”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Langham in April 2014, for a week, for a family sightseeing holiday. Totally disappointing stay. Started with a family room not being available even though we booked months in advance for our family stay and we received an arrogant attitude from the reception staff, ended up with having a camp bed for our son squeezed into the room we were eventually offered.

The room was "ok", nothing special and certainly not the 'luxury' that we had seen from reading posts about the hotel!!, the hairdryer had loose wires and the bathroom was small and the tap was loose, overall the suite room that we were in was in comparison to a UK travelodge and certainly not worth the money we had paid. Also, the location (which is the main reason we picked this hotel) is not that impressive, there are a lot of other good hotels with better location!

We also went to see the Basketball which was very good and the baseball which was ok.

Would I recommend or stay again at the Langham?, No.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear David G,
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. We are disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations, and that you encountered several shortfalls with your room. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused. The hotel is actually located within walking distance from the Waterfront, North End, Faneuil Hall and Boston Common. In addition to this, we do offer a complimentary Pink Taxi for our guests to use within a 2 mile radius from Wednesday – Sunday should you prefer not to walk or use public transport. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and are saddened to know that you will not be returning to The Langham, Boston.

Sincerely

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,329
    577
    152
    53
    36
See reviews for
397
859
84
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is very nice. Old school elegant. Service top notch. I was in town to work and everything was first rate. Including connectivity, gym facility and pool. I did not eat so no info there. The club in back looked like a high end joint.

Room Tip: I was a ways from elevator, 7th floor. Not a peep. Great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Bill J,
Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and found our amenities enjoyable and our service exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Long weekend with my sister. Fabulous hotel and a fabulous location. Great value if you book the 70 day in advance rate (other wise not cheap but it is a fabulous hotel). Lovely room and great place for after dinner cocktails or try the cafe/bar in the reception area for a good value breakfast or after dinner drink (also afternoon tea looked great too). Would def stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a double twin room on floor 7 which was lovely for sisters sharing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noidea46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Noidea46,
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with your sister. We are delighted that you both had a wonderful stay with us and were able to enjoy BOND for cocktails and our Lobby lounge The Reserve for Breakfast and after dinner drinks. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The Langham is a very traditional luxury hotel with lots of elegant shiny marble and character and in the room, heavy furniture and drapes. If you're looking for value for money then don't look here because that's not what they do. The towels are sumptuous and plentiful, the bed firm but comfortable and the linen is smooth and soft. Because the building is old and care had been taken not to lose its historic character, I expect their rooms are not as spacious as a purpose built hotel - our King sized deluxe room on 7th floor was slightly L-shaped but had two comfortable chairs as well as a desk. Dinner in the Bond restaurant was good and breakfast in Cafe Fleurie was the best yet during our visit to the US. The location is great for downtown Boston.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear JR,
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. We are pleased to read that you had a memorable stay with us and found our accommodations comfortable and our services enjoyable. Additionally, we are delighted that our location within walking distance to the Waterfront, North End and Back Bay was ideal for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I were in Boston the last weekend in March for a friend's wedding and stayed at the Langham (where the wedding was held). The hotel itself is lovely and in a good location for wandering Boston. Our first little snafu was at check in. They did not have us down for a king room, but a double (I'd booked back in October and requested the king room as it was also my birthday weekend and an opportunity to have some time together without the kids.) The woman checking us in gave us "I'll see what I can do" and when she "found" a room it was like she was doing us a favor. Which fine, no big deal.

The room was well appointed, good sized, and had comfortable beds. We were staring straight into an office building, but that's not unexpected in a large city. The bathroom was large enough both my husband and I could get ready at the same time, good water pressure in the shower and nice products for use. My husband worked a little while in town and the wifi connection was adequate, though not great.

Friday afternoon we hit the freedom trail and had lunch at the Bell In Hand Tavern. I will say the concierge was very helpful with directions and recommendations, probably the nicest person we encountered at the Langham. After freshening up we hit the Hillstone for dinnner, which was incredible. We came back to the hotel and decided to check out their bar, Bond. Bond is very trendy and I'm sure a draw for the more elite 20 something crowd in Boston. Tables were along the walls and group seating was in the center of the room with the bar at the far end. The four of us took the only couch/chair grouping with out a reserved sign and ordered a drink (which ranged from $9 for beer and $15 for mixed drinks). At first our server seem nice and attentive, but we never got another drink, she never came back over and we had to hunt her down for the check--it was not busy. In addition, the manager came over to our table and asked how long we planned to stay because she'd promised the area where we were sitting to a different party. Oh OK, we'll just move to one of the tables along the wall. No, that's dining only. So you're basically telling us to stand or get out? (all the other tables were reserved) I was seriously floored. I would never have set foot in there again if the majority of the wedding party hadn't chosen to spend time in there later that evening.

Saturday morning four of us had breakfast in the hotel cafe, Le Fleur. It was a choice between menu or buffet. All of our party chose the buffet, so all the waitstaff was responsible for was drinks and clearing dishes. The food was decent, not anything special, but they did have a nice selection of fruits, meats, cheeses and dishes to choose from. Unfortunately, the server neglected to come clear plates at all, we ended up having to stack them on a little alcove next to our table and we also had to flag someone down to get a top off of coffee or water. This is just not what I expected from such a nice hotel.

The wedding itself was lovely and appeared to go smoothly. There was also a nice little sendoff brunch the next morning in a private room.

Perhaps we just had an unlucky weekend when it came to staff, but it left enough of a bad taste in my mouth that I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear TravelingMom30,
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. We are disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you encountered a shortfall upon check –in, as well as having unsatisfactory experiences in BOND and in Café Fleuri which we would like to apologize for. We have addressed the shortfalls in service with all Department Heads concerned and appreciate the opportunity you provided us to improve our level of service and are saddened to read that you will not be returning to The Langham.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Langham is a great hotel, located in the downtown area of Boston. It's a great alternative to staying in the Back Bay area, which is where I normally stay when visiting Boston. The Langham is located within a 3 block walk of the State Orange Line "T" stop. It's also a 5 block walk to Chinatown.

The room was very nice. We had a street view. The beds were comfy, and there was plenty of closet space and dresser drawers. We also had a desk and a couch and sitting chair.

We ordered room service both nights, dessert one night and a late night pizza and fries snack another night. Food was good and served very quickly, less than 30 minutes!

Another great plus, was that our room was available when we arrived at the hotel, about 11am. We were certainly not expecting that since it was also Easter weekend. So that was a great surprise!

I would definitely stay at the Langham again on future visits to Boston!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Haweye0416,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Langham, Boston over Easter Weekend. We are delighted to read that you had a memorable stay with us and found our accommodations comfortable and our amenities enjoyable. Thank you as well for complimenting our In Room Dining colleagues for their prompt service and delicious food, and our Front Desk colleagues. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed at the Langham for 10 days in March 2014. we had a brilliant stay there and would definitely return. Staff and service was exceptional. Cleanliness and friendliness the best.
Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottlee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear scottlee62,
Thank you for your flattering review of your stay with us at The Langham, Boston in March. We are delighted to hear that the service you received our colleagues was friendly and exceptional and our accommodations clean. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,059 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing