We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This was the first time we have stayed in a Langham Hotel & we enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is in a great location for exploring Boston and is close to restaurants and in a safe location.

It is decorated in a style in keeping to the age of the building and is very clean and well maintained.

We especially liked the turn down service with the card advising of the next day's temperature in both Fahrenheit and Celcius.

We would definitely stay again if we return to Boston.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,315)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,098 - 1,104 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Looks good from the outside what with the flunkies on the door, but the whole hotel has an air of 'past its best'. The rooms are tired, staff are lifeless and unhelpful to point of rudeness, management was inept and actually lied to my face when a complaint was made and the corridors were noisy at night. Finally the food was awful and over priced but don't even think about complaining! There are better, more up to date and cheaper hotels in Boston - do your research and stay in them - it will be worth the effort. Let's put it this way, I spend my entire life in hotels on business and I've never written a really bad review but in this case I wish there was a category lower than 'Terrible'!

Room Tip: Not one in the Langham
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eronay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We like to have two beds, as far away as possible to minimise the sound of snoring! I was, therefore, not pleased to be allocated a room with one bed. However staff scanned the bookings and found us a very large twin room. I really appreciated their efforts and the up-graded room was really lovely.

We had a separate dressing area between the spacious bathroom and the bedroom. At the end of the two double beds was a sitting area, with desk, armchair small table, chest of drawers with TV and fridge, etc. It was very comfortable indeed. Our elegant room was in the old section of the hotel, so had high ceilings. Others in the group also enjoyed their rooms, most of which were in the new section.

The excellent breakfasts were served in a room that linked the old and new parts of the hotel with a glazed pergola-style atrium. Staff were attentive and pleasant.

It's a lovely hotel in a great position for seeing the city.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but was still quiet, We liked the view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked a weekend stay at the Langham Boston and found it to exceed our expectations. The room had a queen size bed with bathrobes and slippers.The towels were soft and of great bath size. The facility has a health club and swimming pool. Check in was very easy and fast. Valet parking had trouble parking my truck due to the height but kept it secure under the main alcove. Staff was very pleasant

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Love the location, décor, smell of the lobby when you walked in, loved the location, the cute pink car, nice turndown service, bathroom amenities...but if you're a business traveler, forget this hotel. I was at a conference and spent hours one night trying to respond to work email. It got so bad, I was up until 2am trying to have emails get out of my Outbox. When I didn't see it happening, I upgraded to the premium internet which wasn't much better. I called downstairs and told them I paid $18 to upgrade my internet speed and it still wasn't working. I really didn't care about the refund...just wanted to get two necessary projects out the door. As a result of this problem, I ended up missing a lovely dinner held by the company that arranged the business event. Front desk gave me a toll-free number, but this really isn't the answer. Spent a second night up till 1:30am having completely emails hang in the Langham hotel cyper space.

I also agree with another reviewer...no rooms next to the elevator. I was on the 8th floor...835 and heard constant noise all night. In addition, on my first day, someone from the hotel staff entered my room while I was in the room working on "email." When she realized I was in the room, she scurried away quickly. I left the room and asked her why she was entering my room, who she was and she had no explanation other than she thought the room was empty??? I called downstairs expecting a follow-up. I was able to give them my name, etc. and they were able to verify who is was...but why was she coming into my room when I had checked in 3 hours earlier...why take off and not introduce yourself? Maybe she stole my internet connection :-) No one ever followed-up...I eventually did and the person I talked with said there were notes in my file they had followed up and she should have knocked...yes, but she should have also stated why she was entering my room too...and she should not have taken off. I was disappointed in the lack of follow-up, service, lack of a restful night and being able to get my work done... Also, when I asked for milk to go with my tea during the conference during breakfast, I was told that it was at the buffet. We were in the midst of a table discussion...had high expectations and was excited to stay there...but disappointed.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you want to be disconnected from the rest of the world...if unplugging is what you...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My family and my friend's had a trip in Boston in Memorial Day weekend, and we stayed Langham for 3 days. The hotel is clean, spacious and staff is friendly and helpful. They always smile.

The day we checked in was also my birthday so we were upgrade to the room with king-sized bed and this room is spacious. My friend was staying the room with queen-sized bed, however, their room was at 7-floor so they had a good view of city. They were also happy to stay in that room.

We all had a good time there and hope we can visit this city again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I don't really know why Im doing this review: this hotel does not need a recommendation from anyone.
Im sure its reputation goes before it.
As you will know from my other reviews, Im not that easy to please.
Try as I might, I could not find anything negative to say.
From the moment we turned up in pouring rain, when we were met with a commissionaire wielding a large umbrella, who took care of our car and luggage whilst we were checking in, to the way they looked after our luggage on the last day after check out as we had a late flight, and even offered the services in the spa for us to freshen up, everything was excellent.
The hotel itself is a converted bank, and many of the old features have been retained, but the whole ambience is one of quiet opulence, but with an accent on SERVICE.
Our room was lovely, overlooking a little park. We had a locked minibar, and a 'pantry' of goodies like nuts and chocolate. The coffee machine made a lovely cup of tea (and uniquely, there was tea on the tray) AND there was a nice mug AND A METAL TEASPOON as opposed to the bits of plastic for stirring that we had grown used to.
The bed linen was elegant, the fluffy bath robes very fluffy, the toiletries straight from the hotel spa.
The quality of furniture in the room and maintenance of it and the furnishings and paintwork was excellent, and the standard of cleanliness was sublime.
I did look for a negative, but honestly couldn't find one!
Go there!

Room Tip: Our room was on the park side, the low 400s, and the view was nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meg107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,911 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,708 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#26 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £174 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing