We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for North End” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bostonian Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bostonian Boston
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location for North End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I spent 3 nights at this hotel in August and although i thought the price i payed for my stay was outrageous, i clearly wanted to be within walking distance to the North End and this is truly a stones throw away from Hanover St.
I was swiftly checked into a very large room # 627, with a great view, facing the market out the front and north end.
The room is HUGE and i mean huge, i had a king size bed (comfy) and lots and i mean lots of room to walk around in, then it had another entrance into the powder area with a dresser and large mirror and a seperate entry to the bathroom. Although the hotel isn't new, i wasn't phased with the decor as the amenities and view made up for it. I had requested a refrigerator and within minutes it was delivered to my room.
I cannot vouch for the hotel restaurant as i never ate there, as there are literally hundreds of options within walking distance to the hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful, but i found the hotel to be very noisy on saturday night due to a wedding being held at the hotel and you could hardly hear yourself think, nor have a conversation with staff.....but hey, not a big deal.
As for location, this place is great whether your travelling solo as i was or with friends or family, literally across the road from Quincy Market & Fanueil Hall, with street entertainment which was great, if you didnt feel like venturing far of an evening.
I specifically chose this hotel due to its proximity to the North End and i wasn't disappointed at all, it was literally an 5 min wallk to Hanover St and an abundance of restaurants and very safe.
I happened to be in Boston during the time of the Fishermans Feast, what a delight, great entertainment and food to die for. You need to go to Mikes Patry.....the best cannoli outside of Italy itself....the wait is worth the wait.
You are also walking distance to great shopping, which i must say tax free Boston is the place to shop. All sites are also within walking distance and the Freedom trail right outside your day.
All in all, i had a wonderful stay at this hotel and in Boston, would definately recommend this hotel to others and would stay again if ever in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oze63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Contributor,

We are very grateful for the time and effort you awarded to completing a review of Millennium Bostonian Hotel and I wish to thank you for your endorsement.

Our location is premier, for downtown Boston, and your comments are mirrored many times. Certainly access is critical and being just a short walk from Mike's Pastry is a plus!

We hope that your travel plans will again include any one of our cities internationally and that we have an opportunity to again honor ourselves with your stay.

WIth my appreciation,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
rrivers@mill-usa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    525
    158
    66
    39
See reviews for
303
637
79
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed at the Millennium post cruise. We had planned to stay only one night, and had the 1982 Anniversary package which was a reduced price on a premium room which included champaign and breakfast. Well.... Hurricane Sandy extended our stay for 2 more nights. Not at the reduced rate of the first night but at a pretty good price considering the rack rate.
The hotel is beautiful. The entire property is immaculate. The furnishing are very high end and the bed is very comfortable ( except the pillows). Our view was of Quincy Market and at night the lights were absolutely beautiful. They offer Starbucks coffee in the lobby in the morning and hot apple cider in the afternoon.
Because our flights were cancelled twice, we had to extend our stay and the staff especially the concierge were very pleasant and helpful.
The door on our "balcony" kept popping open ( gusts of wind due to the storm I guess) and both times the response was quick and it was secured.

I wish that we had stayed here pre cruise instead of the hotel at the Harbor that was almost twice the price. That however, is another review.

I would definitely recommend staying here. It is a perfect starting point for sightseeing and there is no lacking for dining choices.
The Wifi isn't complementary, but printing off boarding passes is.

Now... I just hope they correct the billing on our credit card as I have double charges pending and my husband has a double charge pending from the restaurant that we are hoping is taken care of soon.

Room Tip: Check out the special rate for this year... quite a deal compared to other hotels in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

There is no closer hotel to Quincy Market or Faneuil Hall downtown Boston...Also very close ( half of block ) to Union Oyster House restaurant and walking distance to most historic places downtown Boston....Hotel itself is fully renovated inside which looks better than outside facade. Rooms are spacious and bed very comfortable...Our balcony overlooked some bus stop and fruit market with some construction so you may ask for front view ( over to Quincy ). We only had a breakfast in hotel restaurant ...food was good , so was the service. The hotel had some issues with smoke detectors, and while we ate breakfast we had to endure fire alarm...hopefully the management came over speaker system to calm down ( my wife ) and we enjoyed Bostom firemen posing outside restaurant window. We would recommend this hotel for tourists

Room Tip: Get higher floor rooms with market view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenePavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Contributor,

Thank you for taking time to compliment our hotel and staff and we appreciate your online review.

We understand that our location is premier, however this alone cannot deliver a total guest experience. Thus, all of our team is trained utilizing a program called Outstanding Service Excellence, OSE, and we are encouraged to hear of our success'.

In reference to the Fire Alarms, Boston has the most stringent life safety practices in the US, and we realize that our systems are sensitive. I assure you that we monitor our systems closely to avoid unnecessary alarms and apologize that your breakfast was interrupted.

We look forward to your return,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
rrivers@mill-usa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

An excellent family hotel. Very close to airport. Right across the street from Quincy Market. Balcony with great views of city. Nice walk to Northend (Little Italy). Everyone was friendly and helpful. Since we have a 2 year old we ordered room service (right from restaurant menu) and were amazed. One of the best meals ever. We look forward to staying here again. Recommend it to anyone visiting Beantown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etherboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your comments related to our property and specifically room serivce and I will share your review with our team.

Our Food and Beverage team understands the importance of delivering a positive in-room dining experience equal to that of dining in one of our outlets.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return visit.

Again, thank you,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
rrivers@mill-usa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

The location is excellent. Rooms were a bit loud but very comfortable. The gym is awful for the price you pay for the room. It is like a motel gym. If that is important stay somewhere else. Nice valet people.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmjm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Senior Reviewer,

We recognize your comments and appreciate your online review related to Millennium Bostonian Hotel.

Our location at Faneuil Hall, as you noted, is ideal for venturing into America's Walking City with easy access to the Freedom Trail, North End, and an endless list of historical landmarks. We hope that you were able to experience many of the attractions on this trip and encourge a return for any that you might have missed.

Millennium's Fitness Suite offers both cardio and free weight options and I solicit any additional feedback you wish to share on how this can be improved. We are eager to enhance a guests' stay and I look forward to your input.

I appreciate your comments,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
rrivers@mill-usa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Unless you have a really compelling reason to lodge in some other part of the city, I cannot imagine choosing any hotel other than the Millennium Bostonian Hotel. The location is superb. The physical facility is excellent (the structure's architecture, the rooms, public areas, off-street entranceway and restaurant). The staff is professional and pleasant. The rates are appropriate. All in all, an ideal place to stay when visiting Boston. We were delighted.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phototheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Right across from Faneuil Hall & within walking distance of Little Italy. You're paying for location..pricey but worth it to us. Cabbies were horrible.Didn't speak English well so payment by credit card had to be re-done w/ cash. Still waiting to see if we were double charged.

Room Tip: Umbrellas in room saved the rainy Boston day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alioaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for you online review posting and we appreciate your recognition of our service and location.

Boston is a wonderful city to visit and Millennium is in the heart of America's Walking City! As noted on your assessment, location is worthy of a 5, as all that is Boston is in view of our hotel.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Gratefully,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
rrivers@mill-usa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#49 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bostonian Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bostonian Boston

Property: The Bostonian Boston
Address: 26 North Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Boston, MA 02109-1503 (Formerly Millennium Bostonian Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#38 Business Hotel in Boston
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bostonian Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bostonian's chief asset is its prime location adjacent to Faneuil Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Bostonian Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Millennium Bostonian
Millennium Bostonian Boston
Boston Millennium Hotel
Millenium Bostonian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing