We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bostonian Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bostonian Boston
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel is very well located next to Faneuil Hall. Very nice looking lobby which let's you believe the rooms are equally "trendy"... Unfortunately they are not. Due to the used colours, they look a bit dull.
Excellent large shower (though more water pressure is desperately needed)! Large comfortable bed. Really nice.
Careful with the room choice, though. We had room 738: right above the big fans of the air conditioning system; if you like to have a buzzing noise to fall asleep (like my partner does), then you'll find this room very good. If not... change room.
The gym is ok to help you out in need: 5 cardio machines and some free weights.

Special mention for the staff: they are very very friendly!!!!! From the door men over the reception staff to the cleaning staff. Thank you very much.

I will certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: 738: noisy room due to fans of air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghibli608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Belgium,

Thank you for selecting Millennium Bostonian Hotel while visiting America's Walking City and we value your comments.

The historical nature of our hotel is difficult to preserve and the recent renovation design team selected varying earth tones in warm soft colors. WIth that said, I agree that with some updates in 2014 that a splash of color will enhance the overall room package and we recognize your comment.

I hope that your travel plans might again include Boston in the future, and I welcome the opportunity to personally your accommodations.

Again, thank you,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
robert.rivers@mill-usa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    526
    158
    66
    39
See reviews for
304
637
80
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with out two daughters (11 and 8). The hotel is right across from Faneuil Hall and within walking distance to most major attractions and many excellent restaurants. The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms are spacious and very clean. The gym is small, but functional with a few treadmills, ellipticals and free weights. The first night we stayed on the 8th floor which was just beautiful and then we were moved to adjoining rooms on the 4th floor due to a mixup by the hotel, but the rooms and views were just as nice (corner rooms). I have to say they were very gracious in accepting responsibility for the error and trying to fix it and provided breakfast vouchers. Really appreciated the customer service. Would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondiemurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Top Contributor,

We appreciate your time to share a review of your recent stay and highlight our product and service commitment. We regret anytime that a reservation mix-up occurs and apologize, again, for this inconvenience.

Our team is committed to servicing our guests' needs, and fully empowered to correct any situation that creates inconvenience. While management provides the tools, and liberty to award as necessary, it is reassuring to hear of your encounter and satisfaction with the outcome.

Location is critical and certainly we are central to all that is Boston and a perfect point from which to launch a family excursion highlighting history, waterfront activities and family entertainment.

Please let us know of any future Boston travel plans so that we might add a few favorite family spots to enjoy.

Again, thank you,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
robert.rivers@mill-usa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at The Millennium Bostonian for two nights, as most people have indicated, the hotel is in a great location for access to Quincy Market , Faneuil Hall, Boston Common and the Freedom Trail. It was a bit odd but some cab drivers didn’t know the hotel when we called it the Millennium, but did recognize the hotel when we mentioned Bostonian, so if a cab driver says they don’t know it, try the full name. Check in was fast and easy and the room, although a bit dated (carpet looked a bit rundown in a few areas) was clean and everything worked. We had asked for a room with a view and ended up overlooking what appeared to be some dumpsters in the back of the hotel. After a day of running around Boston it was an easy and quick walk back to the hotel (great location) and we would stop in the bar to grab a quick drink before heading to the room. The bar staff was great and very friendly. TIP: There’s a Walgreen's a short walk from the hotel, it’s a great place to grab snacks and drinks or anything else you may have forgotten – easily less than a five minute walk. The Hotel also has good access to Logan airport, less than a 10-15 minute cab ride (in normal traffic). We all really liked this hotel and will return, hopefully next time we’ll get a better view of the city from our room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aperio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I can't rave enough about my stay! I made reservations very last minute as the place I was staying was noisy and smokey. The staff were so warm, welcoming yet unobtrusive. The location could not be better for walking, taking the "T" or ferries, meeting friends. My room was exceptionally large, quiet, bright & sunny with a fabulous view of Quincy Market and downtown. I was there for a week and they brought me a small refrigerator (no charge) on my first day and really went out of their way to be supportive, schedule spa appointments and just generally be very pleasant. It was a great trip and having the Millenium as a "home base" in a city I used to live in and still love was just a joy!

Room Tip: Ask for what you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Eryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Joaquin, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location. It's practically right across the street from Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall. You can find any kind of food you want at Quincy Market for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Some places open at 8 for breakfast, others around 10 for lunch. The hotel is also a short walk (about 3 blocks) to one of the stops (by the Old State House) for the orange and green trolley which stops at the major attractions in Boston. I was traveling with my 88-year-young mother who walks with a cane on long trips, and she did fine walking to these places.

Our room was modern and stylish with a large flat screen t.v. There was a mini-bar with candy bars and such, but I wouldn't want to buy them at their prices. I believe the large water bottle was around $6. We didn't touch it. The desk was very nice with two plugs on the lamp and a very comfortable chair. There was also a comfy chair with a footrest and table by it. The air conditioning worked well, although you can't tell what temperature you're setting it at. You just move the switch one way or the other depending on whether you want it hotter or cooler.

The bathroom was pretty large and had one of the newer square sinks. The large shower was a walk-in type, which is better for older people who don't want to climb into a bathtub. The showerhead was the rain-type. There was also a hand-held fixture for those not wanting to use the showerhead. Just outside of the bathroom was a little area with another mirror and little table. The closet contained an ironing board and iron.

One thing I didn't like was the glass on the bathroom door. It was the kind you can't see through, but you can see the form of someone. There was another door like it to the closet which could also be closed so you would have two doors between you and the room. Since I was traveling with my mom, it didn't really bother me much. I guess whether it would bother you would depend on who you're traveling with.

Check out was very simple. The late check out time allowed us to see a little more of Boston before we had to leave. Overall we had a wonderful stay at the Millennium!

Room Tip: If you want a good view, you should ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Over the 4th of July we did an over night stay at the Millennium Bostonian Hotel. The location for sightseeing was perfect since we were able to come in on the T from the suburbs. Parking would have been quite expensive we learned. The back rooms overlook the market but when we asked for another room we were told there were none available. Actually it was very quiet and the room was well appointed and comfortable. We were thankful that the A/C cooled the room on a dreadfully hot 4th . A nice touch is the fresh fruit and coffee in the lobby. The staff was very attentive and I don't remember ever having to open the door myself. This made the hotel seem very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0l27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I recently spent my second stay at the Millennium Bostonian Hotel. I had the opportunity to stay in February and enjoyed my stay so much, I returned last weekend. I had received wonderful news just prior to checking in and shared my news with the front desk. They were so excited for my traveling companion and I that they upgraded our room! They also helped with dinner reservations and while we were at dinner, they sent champagne and dessert to our room! The hotel staff is very warm and inviting. The location in Boston can't be beat. It is within walking distance to everything! And if you prefer to park your own car (though they do have valet), the park garage is right next door. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms that overlook Faneuil Hall are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amancini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#48 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bostonian Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bostonian Boston

Property: The Bostonian Boston
Address: 26 North Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Boston, MA 02109-1503 (Formerly Millennium Bostonian Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#38 Business Hotel in Boston
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bostonian Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bostonian's chief asset is its prime location adjacent to Faneuil Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your The Bostonian Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Millennium Bostonian
Millennium Bostonian Boston
Boston Millennium Hotel
Millenium Bostonian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing