We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarendon Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Exceptional
Having visited many places in over 30 years this has set the standard in B&B terms.
Only the second place we will return to
Boston is lovely & so is this place
Many thanks to Alex & team for a very enjoyable stay
10/10 in every section

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamkensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    45
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
306
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very accommodating staff and beautiful home. The details are the best.. the old house, the atmosphere, and Alex the intrepid trustee of this great place just makes it even better.

The neighborhood was wonderful. We walked everywhere, even to downtown Boston. We were there on St. Patrick's Day, so it was very busy. Alex kindly showed us the Walking Map and gave us a start, which worked out great.

We loved the room. it was not an issue, but I think our room was changed just before we arrived, but it caused us no problem. we did stay in the sub ground level floor, but it was not like a basement at all, since you can walk right outside to be in a little patio in back.

We would stay again, and just for variety, we would like to stay in an upper room, even though there are a lot of stairs. The exercise is not a bad thing. we did not have a chance to use the hot tub, but we went up there and it looked fun and inviting. Next time for sure.

Breakfast was wonderful. I ate too much because I couldn't make up my mind which good item to choose, so I had them all. Even though they don't cook, the fare was substantial and tasty enough to satisfy even the biggest eater.

If you are looking for a NICE place, this is it. The price was right also, and they were very good about parking my car behind. That was a concern I had and they took that away from me so I did not worry at all about my car.

Thanks to all at Clarendon Square Inn!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My girlfriend and I feel extremely lucky to have found this wonderful place during our vacation to Boston. We were scheduled to stay at the Clarendon Square Inn for two of our three nights, but felt so welcome and comfortable that we stayed for the third! Our room was clean and tastefully decorated, the owners were super nice and accommodating, the neighborhood was ripe with good shopping and awesome little restaurants/bars. Our hosts gave us custom advice on where to go and eat, which made our touring that much more enjoyable. We highly recommend this spot if and when you visit Boston. ps. there's a hot tub on the roof!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JF B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This review is a little late in the writing, but i did promise myself that Clarendon Square is definitely worthy of a great review, so here it is. My girlfriend and i stayed here on Christmas eve awhile ago and it has been by far our best experience in Boston. Starting from the entrance to the beautiful rooms to the breath taking view of the city from the roof jacuzzi, this place blew us away! The entrance was simple yet quite elegant and a nice welcome from the Boston snow. We removed our shoes and instantly felt like we were visiting a wealthy relative for the holidays. A beautiful tree was on display in one of the main rooms and we couldn't help but notice how clean and crisp everything was. At the same time we felt very comfortable and smells of delicious food and pies were in the air. Our room was awesome, spacious enough for us, very clean, and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfy and the robes they provided came in very handy later on when we ventured up to the jacuzzi. We opened a bottle of wine (which they had available for sale literally right outside our bedroom door, and at a very reasonable price) and we went to the top of the Inn to explore the jacuzzi. It was very cold out side and started to snow, but once we jumped into the hot tub we were fine. The night city view mixed with the light fluffy flakes of snow falling in a bubbly hot tub is a memory we will always remember and often refer to when talking about Boston. Also the owners and staff should be applauded! The next morning they had an incredible breakfast made and helped us with questions we had and exploring the city. Very down to earth and sociable. I feel very confident in recommending Clarendon Square as your first choice if you're staying in or near Boston.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights in Boston at Clarendon Square and we were very glad that we chose this accommodation. A small and intimate hotel but the room wasn't and was far more comfortable than some 5 star places I've stayed. We loved the common lounge areas to sit, read and chillout in. We were given a really good rundown on Boston, things to see and do. The hotel is a block away from a variety on restaurants and bars of good quality. An easy walk to the city and not far from the railway.

Stephen and the team were a lovely, friendly group of people and more like a famiy. Not a real family but one which you would actually want to visit again, The morning breakfast was great to have a chat with them and any other guests from around the U.S. or overseas. If you're from Australia they have Vegimite too.

Business or holiday, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bert1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have stayed here quite a few times and if you are looking for a place to stay that is relaxing and quaint this is it. However, the last time we stayed (Feb 14, 2012) the toilet in our room broke which meant having to switch rooms mid stay- so we had to repack then unpack again in the middle of a romantic evening. I understand things happen, but after that I called to inquire about an item that had been left behind due to the qucik repaacking to change rooms and the owner's email was just rude.

Another tip- wait to book your room- they lower prices so if you book months ahead of time someone else who books the day before will get a lower price and they will not honor the lower price they have listed for the exact same room once you have paid the higher price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We recently stayed in Boston for 2 nights, 3 days at the Clarendon Square based on the reviews from trip advisor and alls we can say was how blown away we were with our first experience in Boston. We were greeted by Lydo who was so nice and very helpful to us, couldn't ask for a better host. Our room was beautiful, clean and our bed was very comfortable. Every morning they put out a very nice continental breakfast which had a nice variety of cereals, cheeses and pastries, very good. The inn was gorgeous with a modern look to a victorian feel. The rooftop hot tub was very nice as well, on a cold night in Boston a hot tub overlooking the Boston skyline was breath taking. The neighborhood was beautiful as well, all victorian homes with a nice tree lined street. The south end of Boston is the oldest with the most charm. Overall my fiance and I were blown away and we would recommend this place to anyone and everyone who is reading this review. If you need a place to stay in Boston, Clarendon Square is the place!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 83 in Boston
3,197 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,593 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Square Inn

Property: Clarendon Square Inn
Address: 198 W Brookline St, Boston, MA 02118-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarendon Square Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarendon Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Square Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing