We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarendon Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marblehead, MA, USA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked one night for a winter getaway. Tara, the manager, welcomed us warmly and provided all necessary information. Our deluxe Queen room on the third floor was immense, featuring gleaming mahogany woodwork and handsome furnishings. It included a nice sitting area and desk. The luxurious bathroom had a soaking tub, his and her sinks and large shower with two shower heads. Our accommodations were very quiet and comfortable. The continental breakfast was expansive, featuring hot oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, cheeses and cold cuts as well as fabulous pastries from Pan d'Avignon on Cape Cod. This beautifully restored Victorian house is a short walk to a variety of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadameButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    45
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
307
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was our second experience at the Clarendon Inn. We stayed for five nights beginning December 12th. Our room was outstanding, on the ground floor - quite roomy and quiet. We will definitely request this room again.

We like the Clarendon because of its location - blocks from the South End - our old neighborhood and also quick walking distance to Back Bay and Trinity Church in Copley Square.

A Starbucks is a quick three blocks away when the Inn is not ready for breakfast until 8 am each morning.

AN EXTRA: Free Boston Globe and New York Times to read daily.

Room Tip: Request large room on ground floor, in back of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We arrived at this wonderful B&B in the late evening (11:30pm) and let ourselves in as per the instructions we received via email for late night arrival. If you’re a bit taller, make sure to duck down a bit when entering the door (I hit my head twice as apparently I’m a slow learner haha...I nicknamed it the Hobbit door). Upon opening the door, we immediately had a very positive first impression: music was playing softly in the background, warm welcoming lights, fresh flowers, and snacks and a beverage carafe left out on Upon opening up the door I immediately gave myself a mental pat on the back :-)

The house is huge and made up of many levels:
-Main level is the breakfast/eating area
-next level up is the sitting area with 2 different seating areas which included a library & a piano -then there is the “pear” level (a row of pears on a ledge) with rooms
-then the “apple” level (where our room #2 was located) with rooms
-another level above us with rooms
-and finally the roof terrace with hot tub and an amazing city view! We made use of this every night
(there is also another level below the “main level” which more bedrooms. The total number of bedrooms is 7.


This and that:

-Lots of stairs which showed me just how out of shape I’m in
-Good selection of continental breakfast that sets you off for the day with healthy choices
-Staff-extremely welcoming and helpful (whether you need help navigating the city, booking reservations.....we received nothing but excellent service).
-Walking distance to the T (train), shops, restaurants, wine bars, and sites.
-the T is easy to navigate with a colour coded system
-Taxi tips: flag down on street, don’t book ahead –call as needed as it only takes 5-10min for them to arrive (if you try and book ahead they are very unlikely to show up---advice from numerous locals)
-we didn't rent a car and got around easily on foot, taxi, and the T (when we went to the football game)

We highly recommend this Inn when staying in Boston, and if going back-would book again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w0rld2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

When you travel a lot you get tired of the same chain hotels - no matter how big and fancy they are. That is yet another reason why I try to stay at the Clarendon Square Inn whenever I am in Boston. The inn nestled on a beautiful quiet side street in Boston, has its own mix of contemporary and traditional design, lines, and feel. It is cozy yet elegant. The service is always top notch as is the breakfast. The views from the roof deck and the hot top are spectacular. My last stay was another great experience and I am looking forward to the next one!

Room Tip: Don't forget to check out the sunsets on the roof deck from the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If like me you find travelling a bit lonely at times, then this is the perfect place to stay when in Boston. It is friendly, warm and romantic. The people (Tara and Kris) could not have been more helpful and lovely. The breakfast may be "continental" but it is delicious and plentiful - lots of tasty options. It is superbly located for discovering Boston, too.

Room Tip: There are stairs so if you're unfit or at less than full capacity you may want to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieW44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarendonsquare, Owner at Clarendon Square Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Melanie, we are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at Clarendon Square. Many of our business travelers, like yourself, miss home while they are away. Our work to provide luxury as well as comfort to all of our guests. We are also glad you enjoyed our signature breakfast – we find the small touches like Pan D’Avignon pastries, fresh seasonal fruit and special cheeses are a perfect way to begin the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We chose the smallest interior room which still had the best bathroom in four weeks of travelling in New England. Tara and Kris could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We would have appreciated additional restaurant options including the NorthEnd as the local restaurants are expensive. The parking is tight but achievable with patience and we were warned that a compact car would be preferable. The interior is beautiful and the location is excellent - upmarket and relaxing. They certainly catered to our every whim. We would unreservedly recommend Clarendon Square Inn, but recommend that you choose your room carefully if stairs are a problem. Having said that, they will happily carry your luggage. Oh. And Winnie is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Truly enjoyed my stay. My room was very nice and the owners are very helpful. The outside space is terrific and very private. I was attending a trade show, and Hynes Convention Centre was an easy walk. Went to Fenway for a game, and that was an easy walk as well.

There are several great neighborhood bars and restaurants, and if you are traveling solo, I highly recommend Anchovies Restaurant around the corner - sit at the bar and have mussels!

Pack a hair dryer as the one provided is very low wattage and plan a shower in non-peek times as the water pressure can be bad. I was also stumped as to why there would be a great chaise in the room without a light and table next to it so you could read?

If you have trouble with stairs, make the is known when you book a reservation

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarendonsquare, General Manager at Clarendon Square Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Jeanette,
Thank you for your helpful review. Many business travelers enjoy staying with us for a more intimate experience and as you mentioned, our location is close to conference venues. Part of that intimate experience is our providing individual recommendations for dining and shopping. We are very approachable and hope every guest will let us know in person of any ways to improve. Please, please, please... let your host know of any concerns "during" your stay - we want nothing more than for you to be comfortable.

Our modern plumbing is hotel grade, and our showers have adjustable water pressure. It is our pleasure to instruct on all luxuries that may be adjusted for comfort, whether hot/cold, pressure/ intensity - please allow us to do so during your stay. CS is known for tasteful furnishings and design, so our 1600 w hairdryers are the highest available while still fitting in that cute little bag in the closet. We don't like messy cords any more than you do, but if you prefer a hair dryer with a larger "fan" please just let us know, we have one - and a curling iron too! We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 83 in Boston
3,221 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,599 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Square Inn

Property: Clarendon Square Inn
Address: 198 W Brookline St, Boston, MA 02118-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarendon Square Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarendon Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Square Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing