We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find, great price!”
Review of Fort Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Hill Inn
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here 3 nights (minimum requirement) when we first got into Boston. The hosts were incredibly helpful and kind. Great room, tons of amenities, excellent bath facilities. The inn was conveniently located next to the Roxbury Crossing stop on the Orange line. Gorgeous garden patio sitting area for coffee. There are two things that I must address: to get to our room (a bedroom on the 3rd floor) required climbing 2 flights of very steep steps, and the neighborhood didn't feel like it was the safest place, but if you just stay aware of your surroundings, you should be okay. Overall, a very nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Travelling as two couples we stayed in a ground floor apartment with two bedrooms. The apartment was comfortable with good facilities but was also full of character in its furnishing and decor so that we were happy to spend time there as well as go out. Roxbury Crossing subway station is less than 5 minutes walk away and provided us with quick frequent trains a few stops from central Boston. The neighbourhood was not part of tourist Boston but had its own character and we felt safe going about by day and night. The host is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlackerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

First of all, the pre-arrival booking experience was flawless and very easy. Terry, as mentioned elsewhere was very accommodating, and also very charming and knowledgable.
The apartment is just beautiful, with every amenity you could wish. Lovely art adorns the walls. Very chic and very comfortable.
Location is away from bustle but 10 minutes from heart of Back Bay.
Priced attractively, beautifully maintained. Just about perfect for us!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Had a room on the 2nd floor for 3 nights. We loved this place, it's a lovely old Boston style house and it still has its old charm, whilst still being clean and comfortable.

Although the owner was no there when we arrived the key was waiting for us with easy check in information. The room was all ready for us, with lights and even light classical music playing to help make us feel relaxed and right at home.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was beautiful and there were more than ample towels for our stay. The room had teas and coffees, microwave and even a fridge.

Would definitely recommend Fort Hill Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the FHI from Wednesday to Saturday.

Communication prior to our arrival was excellent and while we did not have the opportunity to meet Terry, he had left the keys in an envelope on the front door. We had the ground floor apartment, it was impeccably clean and well maintained. Pamphlets with key attractions and maps were conveniently provided.

The only drawback of the apartment was the narrow winding staircase to the bedroom to the basement. It was treacherous to navigate after a night out!

The FHI is a three minute walk from the Roxbury Crossing T station. While the area is extremely safe during the day, Roxbury seems to have a rough reputation so we taxied back in the evening.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it as an alternative to the big hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank eric14453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed in the guest room for 3 days. It was a long climb up 2 flights of stairs but once there the room was very comfortable and well furnished. As mentioned by other reviewers, Terrence was very helpful, giving us lots of useful information about the local area and other attractions we might like to visit.

The Inn is in a quiet residential area and the directions Terence gave us for travelling by subway from the airport were very easy to follow.

The room is equipped with virtually everything one might need including lots of interesting books and decoration and we found it extremely comfortable. The Inn is conveniently located, just a short walk from Roxbury Crossing subway which means it is very easy to get into town. Back Bay is only 3 stops on the subway and here you can find lots of good restaurants. We can highly recommend "Legal Seafood".

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We arrived in Boston (our first visit there) for a weekend at the start of our honeymoon road trip, and we could not have found a more lovely place to stay.

This cosy Inn only a few stops from the centre of town, is impeccably decorated with art, antiques and books which all add to a very homely and fascinating base for our trip.

Despite the weather being very warm (by our Scottish standards) the air-conditioning worked a treat and we slept well on the comfy big bed.

It was very easy to find the local train station and on one of our days, we even walked all the way back from downtown - in stages, to take in some sights along the way.

Our only regret was not getting to meet the owner Terry, who was away travelling.

I'd definitely recommend this place, and hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceandrivereviews, Owner at Fort Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank You Helen for the very nice review! So sorry I did not get to meet you, but happy everything was good for your Honeymoon road trip and we were part of it. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to Boston...Happy Trails......-Terry

ps. Thank You for the tip on walking distance to the center, will help get geographical bearings for future guests touring Boston from here.

((We are 1.5 miles to Copley square/Back Bay, accessible by Foot or Bike(rentals available) via the southwest Corridor park. 5 minutes by subway))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
4,995 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
HI Boston
HI Boston
#1 of 30 in Boston
1,047 reviews
North End
Bricco Suites
Bricco Suites
#2 of 30 in Boston
234 reviews
Downtown
Oakwood at Downtown Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hill Inn

Address: 3 Centre Pl, Fort Hill, Boston, MA 02119
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect hotel alternative, super value, on clean, comfy, Full apartments and private guest rooms with private baths. nicely cared for brick Victorian townhouse. Located in the quiet Boston residential Fort Hill neighborhood. Private rooms w/ private baths. 1.5 miles from the center of the attractions. On the Orange Line, just minutes to the Back Bay/South End/Downtown. Nicely appointed. No smoking. Can accommodate from 1 and up to 8 guests in our apartments, 3 night minimum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Hill Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing