We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice-but didn't feel like a Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Arrived here after spending 2 days at the Four Seasons. I wanted to experience a water location to get a different Boston feel. The hotel is very nice and new. The room is very modern and well appointed. However, I was not overly impressed with the staff. Except for one very enthusiastic lady at the front desk, the staff seemed didn't seem very engaged or professional to me. This was not the level of service or vibe I was expecting from a Fairmont. I was surpised to find that I felt isolated on Battery Wharf. The North End is right at your doorstep and the Aquarium along with the closest subway stop is about a 10 minute walk. I just felt disconnected from the city. A very nice hotel but a little different than I was expecting.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Okapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,291 - 1,297 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

Beautiful hotel located right on Boston Harbor and in the historic North End. The hotel is in 4 different buildings, but once you turn onto the wharf, the building with the Fairmont flags is the main one where you check in. The room was exquisite. After-dinner drinks and dessert on the terrace (right on the water!) Saturday night were fantastic. Room service breakfast was expensive but timely and worth it. A five-minute walk to North Square, the heart of the Italian North End enhanced our get-away week-end experience. Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twosoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Beautiful hotel, great location, lovely staff but best of all there was a nespresso machine in the room!

Breakfast was not included with the room and although it was delicious it was quite pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJG97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

What a disappointment! Our room was not ready when we arrived; "the sheets were delivered late and we're trying to reach housekeeping". Really?? An hour and a half later of waiting in the lobby we were finally given our room; crumpled papers were on the floor of the bathroom. So much for housekeeping. Heading out for dinner ( thank goodness it was not to somewhere we had a reservation) we called for our car to be brought round. Forty-five (45!) minutes later the car arrived. This is not the sort of service one expects from a Fairmont. Perhaps one can suggest to the Saudi princes who have a majority ownership in this chain that they consider proper levels of staffing, you know, something like they have in their palaces..

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leavemethehellalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Took my wife here for her birthday on New Year's Eve. The room was beautiful. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was nice. The shower was clean, but the rain forest shower head didn't flow as smoothly as the pictures on the web site make it seem. The location in the North End gave us plenty of options for good Italian dining. The concierge sent us to Limoncello....he told us to say he had sent us, but we didn't see any bonus from saying that. The concierge later told us that he eats for free, so I think we helped him more than he helped us, but the food was awesome. We went to the Atlantic Fish company the next night and it was incredible. We went to the Parker House for Boston Creme pie on New Year's Eve and were quite disappointed. The famous pie was actually quite ordinary...a little on the dry side. We took a city tour and visited the Aquarium. Overall it was an amazing weekend in Boston, and this hotel did not disappoint.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jathebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I was able to grab a last minute reduced price on a business trip to Boston and couldn't be happier with this choice. I was upgraded to a suite and had a nice view of the harbor. The room was amazing and the location for me was perfect. As always the Fairmont does not disappoint when it comes the decor, amenities and service. I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed for a few days in July with family. Hotel is set up differently than most as buildings are separate from each other. The building we stayed in was across from building with reception desk etc. Room was fairly clean and modern with nice bathroom and large flat screen TV. The beds are surrounded by a vinyl (or leather) rail which housekeeping forgot to clean. I did have to take a cloth and wipe something which had "spilled" and dried to the vinyl. Scrubbed off easily and did not bother mentioning it as did not want to make a big deal but gross just the same. We did find the room to be quite small. The only chair was the one that came with the desk. The air conditioner was located right beside the head of one of the two double beds. A bit noisy when trying to sleep. We did pay for a harbour view room which was nice. (we were on the side of the building at the end closest to the water.) The problem was that we were on the ground level and the surrounding shrubs and bushes had not been pruned and obstructed a fair bit of the view. Also, it was lovely to be able to open the windows but there were no screens on them. We soon had a few flies, so were not able to leave them open. I also noticed that the wallpaper in the corner of the bathroom was starting to peel. Although these may seem like minor details, they are all easy maintenance issues which should be addressed by a property charging these rates. Valet parking was nice but not cheap. You cannot access the parking garage without the valet so make sure you remove everything you may need from your vehicle. We only had breakfast at the hotel one morning. It was fine but expensive for the quality.
The best thing about this hotel, as others have mentioned, is the location. We were able to walk to most things. The dining options in the north end are wonderful. It is lovely to be near the water, especially on a hot summer day. Although there did not appear to be a dedicated concierge, any recommendations from staff were always very good. Would consider staying again next time we're in Boston.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny35123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 84 in Boston
1,094 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#31 of 84 in Boston
1,437 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,962 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £181 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing