We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there, done that.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We booked 2 nights here after learning that Boston Harbor Hotel (our favorite, bar none) was full.

The rooms are nice--large, carefully decorated. We had no trouble booking connecting rooms for our kids and the reservationist was nice about allowing the dog ($25 charge). It felt a bit out of the way. The layout with rooms in different buildings is actually quite nice, although you miss the doormen if you are not in the main building. Housekeeping was in our faces on the last day, waiting for us to leave (we left at 10; they were trying to get into the room by 9.40; checkout is 11).

The HarborWalk is extremely cool, and well worth seeing. I thought breakfast at the hotel restaurant was ridiculously expensive ($100+ for 3 adults and one child), and the service was polite but pretty distracted (we got our second cups of coffee right away, but by the time the extra cream arrived they were cold).

There is no dog-walking service on-site, you have to book with the Dogfather of North End. (We did not, so I cannot review.) There are not too many places to walk a dog close to the hotel.

There is no Concierge per se. The front desk will book reservations for you but they lack a concierge's knowhow regarding events in town. They're friendly and trying to be helpful, but they're pretty much doing as they're told. Not much expertise.

No Pool.

This is inexcusable, in my view: you had to pay for WiFi! There was a nice little "technology kit" for laptops, and free Ethernet, but WiFi was $15/day per person. We had dinner at Boston Harbor (Meritage) and got free WiFi.

Room Tip: I booked on line and then called reservations to make sure it all went in the way I wanted. Did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocket C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,336 - 1,342 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed for a few days in July with family. Hotel is set up differently than most as buildings are separate from each other. The building we stayed in was across from building with reception desk etc. Room was fairly clean and modern with nice bathroom and large flat screen TV. The beds are surrounded by a vinyl (or leather) rail...

Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
Thank liang57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of our summer vacation. This place is beautiful and in a wonderful, safe part of the city. I worried a bit that it wasn't very close to the T, but it was a very short walk (10 mins) to the nearest station. And the walk is enjoyable too. We walked along the harbour and through a beautiful park to get to the Aquarium and the T is right there. A three minute walk will put you on Hanover Street where you'll find lots of restaurants and shops.
Our room was upgraded upon check in to a harbour view. Very nice.
The rooms are a little tight. There is no space for a cot. The bathroom however is spacious and had a wonderful soaker tub and a separate rainforest shower.
As for the staff, we were mostly treated very well. The front desk and especially the guys at the front door were very friendly and helpful. The only negative came from one guy in the lounge. My husband and I just returned from an afternoon Red Sox game, still wearing our ballcaps and t-shirts. We sat down for a drink. I felt a bit unwelcome there. Don't know if there was a dress code, or if he was a Yankee fan. Other than that, do not hesitate to stay here. I would love to come back, and hope to in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We ended our vacation in Boston after 15 days of travelling the Fairmont is always warm and you feel at home. We always try to stay at a Fairmont property due to it's qualified service and selected spaces. The Fairmont Battery Wharf is a very good example of well appointed good service, excellent rooms and also ammenities on them. Restaurant Aragosta is excellent and service is steadily professional and kind. Also hotel location is excellent for moving around the north end of the city with the Italian restaurants and liberty trail at a walking distance. So we had a great confortable place.
Due to hurricane Irene we had to extend our stay for 3 more nights and we could see that hotel staff was well aware of taking care of all of us customers discretely buy professionally. We will definitively would return here when back to Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view it is a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Arriving to the hotel by water taxi was a real treat, and check-in was smooth. Originally, I was a little dissapointed with the location of our room, located right off the lobby. Since this was a mother's day trip and getaway, I requested a different room, however they were fully-booked and could not accomodate the request. The layout of the hotel is a little odd in that guest rooms are fully visible and accessible from the lobby. While I was originally concerned about the noise, it ended up not being a problem as they have doors separating the lobby from the hallway where our room was, and they did shut the doors at night . The room was beautiful decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were excellent (clean, great decor, and huge, with a separate tub and shower, and plenty of counter space - I loved it! The hotel room doors were odd in that they didn't easily pull close and you could easily leave the door ajar - not great for security. Two experiences regarding service (1) I had some trouble connecting to the internet and staff was very helpful in solving that problem. (2) When we first arrived to our room first, in the corner there was some leftover trash on the floor that housekeeping missed - not a huge deal, but not the greatest thing to walk in and see upon arrival. We ate in the restaurant one morning and the service was fantastic! I also peeked at the meeting space on the lower level, which looked very inviting and appeared to be well-lit despite its location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lm1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Arrived here after spending 2 days at the Four Seasons. I wanted to experience a water location to get a different Boston feel. The hotel is very nice and new. The room is very modern and well appointed. However, I was not overly impressed with the staff. Except for one very enthusiastic lady at the front desk, the staff seemed didn't seem very engaged or professional to me. This was not the level of service or vibe I was expecting from a Fairmont. I was surpised to find that I felt isolated on Battery Wharf. The North End is right at your doorstep and the Aquarium along with the closest subway stop is about a 10 minute walk. I just felt disconnected from the city. A very nice hotel but a little different than I was expecting.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Okapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Beautiful hotel located right on Boston Harbor and in the historic North End. The hotel is in 4 different buildings, but once you turn onto the wharf, the building with the Fairmont flags is the main one where you check in. The room was exquisite. After-dinner drinks and dessert on the terrace (right on the water!) Saturday night were fantastic. Room service breakfast was expensive but timely and worth it. A five-minute walk to North Square, the heart of the Italian North End enhanced our get-away week-end experience. Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twosoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 86 in Boston
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#30 of 86 in Boston
1,486 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 86 in Boston
1,994 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Family Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £147 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing