We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the North End!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot in the North End!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I went to Boston for the weekend. Great location excellent room and wonderful service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    348
    141
    50
    37
See reviews for
331
644
77
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
colchester
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Arrived as suggested by water taxi but maybe ordinary taxi is easier but less romantic. Checked in at Fairmont Gold building and quickly whisked up to our 5th floor upgraded room with balconey.[It is worth joining their Presidents scheme which I did in Canada when I discovered and stayed in 3 great Fairmont hotels] I had booked this deal as an Advanced purchase as advertised on my Presidents monthly deals and the room was lovel with huge bed and shower and great views . Fairmont Gold includes complimentary brekkie and hors d'oeuvres both of which are very substantial and beautifully presented . We did not eat in the restaurant which was a shame as it would have been better than the restaurant we did go to . Just had a drink in the bar. Very easy to walk down to Harbour and town . Staff are very chatty and smile a lot only negative is $99 dollars fo a late [2 hr] checkout seems excessive.As normal checkout is is 12 noon we should have managed with that but did not realise it would cost so much and initially although we had a confirmed payment they tried to charge us again for room and taxes but that got sorted quickly .
Would I stay again .....always I just love the fact that everything works and there is a real Can do attitude from all the staff. They really value their customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of water if possible and high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here again a year after first staying here (see my first review for details). This time we were in the main building where you check in. The rooms were of exactly the same spec and standard as I had known from my previous stay in one of their adjacent buildings. The condition of the place and courtesy of the staff was also top notch like last time... My only gripe is that it is pricey, but you do get what you pay for in this instance.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BorderRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount kisco, ny
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed here for busines in January. This is a amazing hotel with amazing service and amenities.

Service: The service here was impeccable. Check in was a a simple process where I was literally treated like I owned the hotel. I was staying in the Gold which has it's own concierge and access to a private lounge. The attendant was very helpful and polite and remembered my name from the start. They must speak with the front desk or something because he addressed me by my name which I never told him minutes after being in the main lobby.. guess it's possible there were not many other guests but I don't think so.

Room: You can't beat these rooms. If you want five start amenities this is in. The room is huge for a king size room with a long entrance, huge closet, desk leather eco chair and very stylish furnishings. The bed very extremely comfy and I never wanted to get up for work. The bathroom was very well layer out with a huge shower and separate toilet area. The toiletries where top notch and all wonderful. I liked the fully stocked mini bar and snacks as I sometimes like a drink in the room or snack before bed. tsk tsp right..
Oh! and please don't be alarmed when you get to your room and the lights are dimmed and the music is playing.. there is no one in the room I swear. It's just the turn down service.. But the Music was so loud I felt bad for the neighbors.

Spaces: I used the lounge for work and play. My manager and myself would go to the horderves after we finished working and before dinner. The food was amazing with cheese and salmi and many other items that changes every day including hot sandwiches and sliders one day. They coffee is Nestle and Illy which were both amazing. There is off course a full service honor bar which had tons of options. If you do not know how to make a drink they attendant did offer to help. We also had breakfast in the lounge every morning which was again very tasty. hey had fresh juice which was to die for.

Near by: We at at Bricco one night which was to die for. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the area. I had a seafood risotto which was amazing and fresh. We also at at a sushi place but the name escapes me right now. But the Sushi was amazing and I am a huge sushi fan.


Overall: I would highly recommend this hotel for it's service and small touches that make you feel like your at home.

PS. Enjoy a nice drink in front of the fire places in the lounge it is very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana_Baseel, Fairmont Battery Wharf, Marketing Coordinator at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We’re thrilled to have welcomed you as our guest in our private Fairmont Gold Building, and were delighted you felt right at home with us during your business trip in Boston. Your detailed description of our property, amenities, and the service you experienced during your stay, highlights the experience that we are committed to making for our guests, as it is our commitment to make sure that all our guests feel as though their visit with us is special. Thank you for your recommendation of the best ways to take advantage of the Fairmont Gold Lounge, we certainly agree that a drink in front of the fire place is always a nice way to relax and unwind from your day. We’re sure that our other guests will appreciate the time you took to share your detailed experience. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I can't wait to go back to the Fairmont Batter Wharf! Having stayed at numerous hotels during sorority conferences, I have had a range of experiences, but I can attest to the quality service that I was given. The staff was extremely courteous, they bent over backwards to ensure that my stay was pleasant. The rooms were absolutely amazing! Had I not had a meetings, I would definitely have stayed in bed all day! Anyone looking for comfort, great service, and warm, friendly hosts, please make sure you make your way to the Fairmont Battery Wharf!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I was personally walked to my room by the check in clerk - a first for me. Room is a decent size for Boston and included a 42" LCD TV with true HD service and satellite radio. Even had a repeater speaker in the bathroom! Dinner at the hotel was delicious and was a good value with the 50% off coupon I was given at the front desk. I got back from dinner and turndown service had lowered the lights, changed the towels, and put on jazz music on the satellite radio. Bed was amazingly comfortable. If people were staying in the rooms next to me I had no idea thanks to the great insulation between the rooms. Lots of little extras like a phone that looked like a computer, an espresso machine, old school coffee peculator, automatic lights in the closet, and a nice sound system and media player hooked up to the TV. I had the cheapest available room and still had a halfway decent view of the water. Room felt very secure thanks to card-key-only access to the building and the elevators. My only complaint was that the valet staff drove guests' cars a little hard (OK that's an understatement, he was beating the snot out of them) but when I brought it to the attention of the hotel manager he assured me it would be taken care of. Absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattBart3975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana_Baseel, Fairmont Battery Wharf, Marketing Coordinator at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Your review describes our desire at Fairmont Battery Wharf to make sure each and every one of our guests has a wonderful experience. Our commitment to providing exceptional service and luxurious amenities for a comfortable stay is important and we appreciate your feedback. It is however unsettling to hear about your experience with Valet. We value that you brought your concerns to the attention to our hotel management during your stay, however we will be sure to follow up with the Operations team on our end, as well. We hope you find a reason to visit us soon, as it would always be our pleasure to host your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I actually stayed at this hotel in the summer over the July 4th weekend but forgot to review it until now. I honestly can't say anything bad about this hotel, I enjoyed my stay there immensely. I had no issues with the staff who were all friendly and the view from my room which looked out on to water was breathtaking in the day but also to see the lights at night. I really enjoyed my time in Boston and this hotel was gorgeous and super clean (the two things I always look for in hotels). We debated between the Copley Plaza Fairmont and the Battery Wharf and I'm glad we chose Battery Wharf, for the views and it seemed closer to a lot of the Boston attractions (Paul Revere, Mike's Pastry, Faneuil Market, Beacon Hill) and the heritage core. I would recommend this hotel to any friend who asked where to stay in Boston. I had a lovely time and when I left on July 4th there was a ship in the harbour firing cannons (blanks of course ;D) which was fantastic and I watched from my room window. I liked the water taxi directly from the hotel to Logan airport too. I don't think there is a city like Boston anywhere in the world, and I was completely enchanted by the city and this hotel.

Room Tip: There are two parts of the hotel, the main part where the lobby is and the private apartments and ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picky_travellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#32 of 83 in Boston
1,411 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,278 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
1,047 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Property: Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing