We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We can't wait for our next stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We can't wait for our next stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

When we first were looking for hotels in Boston, we were overwhelmed by the number of choices. After searching for a couple of weeks we decided on the Fairmont and I'm so happy we did. My husband and I were debating on which room or suite we wanted to book. There are about 11 options and after reading other reviews, we decided on the Deluxe Harbor View Room. This ended up being the best financial move for us. It also gave my husband an excuse to use the savings to eat lobster at every meal! I say, if you're planing on sightseeing, save the money and go for a room.

Here's what we really thought of the place:

Service - Everyone was professional and welcoming. Even though we weren't staying in the most expensive suite, they treated us like we were. I had read such terrible things about Bostonians and how rude they are, but we never encountered this here. The front desk was extremely helpful, just ask and they were on top of it. Nobody hesitated to help.

Sleep Quality - The bed, pillows, duvet, and linens were amazing! Both of us slept comfortably. Every morning we woke up, we felt refreshed. The bed helped a lot to relax us after walking over 5 miles every day. Plus, nothing beats falling into a freshly made bed and propping up your legs.

Cleanliness - The space was very clean. Nothing to complain about. They did a great job of keeping the room and bathroom looking brand new. There were no signs of damage or "funny" business.

Location - You can't beat this location! We had our windows open every night (even on the first floor we felt safe). The breeze from the harbor was our favorite part. When you don't live anywhere near the ocean, you want to enjoy it as much as possible when it's around. We were told by our friends from Boston, to stay in the North End (where the hotel is located). The hotel is situated around a ton of amazing Italian restaurants and sites. Our friends told us to skip the car rental (because parking in the city is near impossible) and the hotel staff told us about the subway/train system. A few blocks from the hotel you can walk to the main part of the city, the rest of the harbor, or to a ton of historical sites. We enjoyed being in the city to shop and sightsee, but my husband and I like our quiet too. This hotel gave us that option. We never felt like we were in any danger walking around. The location was perfect, especially if you want a peaceful night's sleep but be close to the downtown.

Rooms - The bedroom was a comfortable size, even with all the furniture. We had a ton of luggage with us and we never felt like we were cramped. The bathroom was amazing too. The shower was roomy and the vanity/sink area was really nice. I would have to point out, if you are staying here with someone you don't feel comfortable going #2, this is probably not a good option for you. The toilet closet is just a glass door separating you and the rest of the bathroom. Not very smell or sound proof.

Overall - We can't wait for our next trip back to Boston. We will definitely book at the Fairmont again. To us, there's no need to look any where else. Nothing could top the experience and comfort we had here. Plus, we loved the boat taxi from the airport to the hotel. What a great way to be welcomed into Boston!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSzotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Marketing Coordinator at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay! We are pleased that you loved so many aspects of the property and that our staff was able to make your time in Boston as enjoyable as possible. Your thorough description highlights our commitment to make sure that all of our guests feel as though their visit with us is special. We are happy to hear that you plan to return again and we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip! Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    309
    123
    41
    31
See reviews for
284
586
72
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

PLACE: Wow! Amazing view and great rooms.
SERVICES: The excellence of the customer services
PEOPLE: internartional travellers
CHERRY ON THE CAKE: take a walk during the market near the hotel

GO THERE FOR: The perfect hotel experience: the joy to go out, the joy to return

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wineonbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed at Fairmont Battery Wharf on 6/15/12. It was a fantastic experience from check in to check out. We ate at Aragosta- wonderful outdoor dining with friends and ended the night toasting S'Mores at their firepits- very unique and fun. The hotel room itself was very clean, comfortable bed and a large bathroom. When we got back to our room after dinner there was a plate of fresh chocolate covered strawberries- such a surprise and a delicious treat! Overall I would recommend staying at the Fairmont for a romantic evening. The hotel itself was quiet and we enjoyed our view of the harbor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Very professional and helpful front desk staff. The room was modern, well appointed, comfortable and clean. The hotel is situated a short walk from the Italian quarter with its dozens of restaurants and cafes. A nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank winchesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just left the Fairmont Battery Wharf; the front desk, extremely helpful, polite and professional, absolutely awesome. The room, had to run the A/C at 65 degrees just to keep the room cool, don’t know why but the room always seemed warm. Very good breakfast; I bought the bed and breakfast option which says free breakfast but somewhere in the fine print it’s only good up to $21.09 per breakfast, very strange. What I didn’t care for at the Wharf is the bathroom, I don’t understand why the bathroom doors (two sliding doors so they never completely come together) are 5 feet from the bed. Without getting too graphic or gross, what this means is whoever is in the bedroom can easily hear all the “events” going on in the bathroom. In most hotels these doors are usually a solid wall with the bathroom entrance off the entry hallway that would at least allow for some bathroom privacy. The location is great, a 5-10 minute walk to the T and if you buy a day pass you can ride the T, train or bus all day. The water taxi over was fun and a cab ride back to the airport only cost $17.00 and you can’t beat the Boston north end.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagger06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico CIty
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We returned to the Fairmont Battery Wharf and confirmed it's excellent service, quality and staff friendliness. We had a superb view from the sea from our room and as before excellent quality of linen, and clean facilities. The Aragosta restaurant with it's terrace is a perfect place to dine on summer with excellent wines, tried the lobster diabla and was excellent, service is allways friendly and professional. Near to the north end is at walking distance of little Italy without being in the noise and turmoil. We thank the staff and surely will return, when in Boston.

Room Tip: If you can ask second floor room with a view. They are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We've stayed several times now at the Fairmont Battery Wharf and I want to give my overall impression.

First, the location is terrific. The views of the harbor are great, and it is across the street from the North End and only a 10 minute walk from Faneuil Hall Marketplace. Also, very close to getting onto Route 93.

The property consists of several buildings, some of which are also residential. There is the main building where you check in, and one just across from it where they have one bedroom suites. Another building, just off the water, and not as close as the other two, houses a separate Gold floor of rooms.

We've now stayed in all 3. The main building and one with the larger rooms have the best views. The rooms are nice, spacious, and modern. Bathrooms are large as well. The one bedroom suite is very large and the bathroom is enormous, with a separate tub and shower area. We loved both locations.

We recently stayed at the Gold building. First, it requires a room card key to get in, so if you are checking in there make sure someone is taking in your bags with you or you won't get in. Seperate check in here doesn't have the advantages as it does at other Fairmont properties. Now it took us about 10 minutes tocheck in once we got inside as they had us booked into another room which was already occupied. The room we did get had a nice view, but again set back a little farther from the water.

While the food, both at night and in the morning was very good, the service was poor. Finding any utensils, or a napkin, was a challenge, as well as finding a clean place to sit in the morning. Again, it wasn't like other Gold areas in other Fairmont properties.

We highly recommend staying here, and will do so in the future, but will probably stay in a standard Fairmont room where you get the best room and deal by far.

JDP

Room Tip: Stay in a standard Fairmont room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JDP112456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Property: Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing