We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Very Cool Part of Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My wife & I spent a long weekend in Boston and stayed at the Fairmont Battery Wharf using one of the Harbor View rooms. Very comfortable well appointed room with a great view. The staff was very helpful with ideas about tours, getting around town, etc. By the way we left the car at home and did not miss it. The food at the hotel was very good and the service was excellent. The location of the hotel in the North End is only steps away from the restaurant district, a short walk to the Wharf area attractions and tours, Fanuel Hall & Quincy Market, and right on the Water Taxi line from Logan Airport (the best way to get into town from Logan).

Room Tip: Look for a harbor view room in one of the two front buildings --
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

What an incredible location in the city of Boston - walking distance to Fanuel Hall - North End - great restaurants - Freedom Trail - couldn't ask for better. The decor is very modern and sleek - certainly very different than the other Fairmont Copley Plaza - Great service - staff very helpful and accomodating. Was a little surprised that room only had a shower/ no tub - but overall - well equipped and comfortable. Jazz on Friday and Saturday night was a great plus! -

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The gold buidling had limited views of the harbour but the sevice was among the best I have ever received. All of the food was great and they served breakfast, evening appies and dessert in the lounge. The ravioli at the main restaurant was better than the restaurants on Salem or Hanover. Great location; it was walking distance to most of the main attractions, but it was about a 15 minute walk from the T.

Room Tip: The better views are in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbarbs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

After returning from a recent holiday in Canada and USA which included 20 nights at five different Fairmont Hotels and having paid for Deluxe King rooms it was dissapointing to encounter poor customer service ( 13 to 17 July 2012) on check in and to be placed in a Coast Guard view room rather than the Harbour View as paid for . Front Desk staff ignored this error when it was pointed out. This Fairmont Hotel is not to the standard of those in Lake Lousie, Toronto, Quebec City or Washington. Further the comparative rate can not be justified.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I travel a lot for business and have stayed in many nice hotels throughout the US and Europe. I have also stayed in my share of Courtyard Marriotts and Hilton Garden Inns. The Fairmount Battery Wharf if like a Courtyard or Garden Inn with a much higher price tag.

I don't have any large complaints, just a lot of little ones...room service is awful: (1) I think that room service calls go to the front desk sometimes instead of the restaurant. The front desk is not trained appropriately. One night my dinner order got lost and never came. When I called down after an hour and a half of waiting, they said they could send it up in 50 minutes. (I just cancelled...no way I was waiting longer). The next day I was charged $6 too much for breakfast (my eggs were supposed to come with sausage, I was charged for a side of sausage). It's only $6, but annoying. I am sure the person taking the order (front desk!) just wasn't familiar with the breakfast menu.

(2) Our mini bar was never restocked during our 6 night stay.

(3) Our waiter spilled coffee on my husband (totally an accident, we were dining outside, it was dark, and he missed the cup). He was just super awkward and didn't really apologize for spilling hot liquid in my husbands lap. Weird. It's what you would expect at Perkins.

(4) The hotel doesn't really have many amenities. Only one restaurant (the food there was great!), no pool, no spa (there is an exhale spa next door that was ok, but not great).

(5) the walls are very thin...you can hear EVERYTHING in the hall.

Overall, the hotel is nice, the location is nice and the staff were nice. But this is NOT a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Service was impecable and the room was large and very comfortable. The complimentary coffee was much appreciated as well. This hotel is in a great area...across the street from little Italy and some wonderful restaurants (Giacomo's) and a short 15 minute walk to Fanneil Hall and the wharf where most boat tours leave from. One downfall is that there is no pool so my boys were a little disappointed but will definitely come back here!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Marketing Coordinator at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and that our staff left such a good impression. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our great location by visiting to some of Boston’s top attractions including Faneuil Hall and the North End. We look forward to welcoming you back to Battery Wharf during your next trip to Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

I cannot remember staying at any hotel before with such great staff. They all knew my name whenever they greeted me. They could not do enough to help and were extremely professional.

We stayed in the Gold building in a large corner suite with balcony. Great views of the river. Lovely big shower room.

Lounge in the Gold building beautifully appointed with wonderful snacks in the evening.

The only downside is the lack of a pool (hence 4 stars rather than 5), but even considering that I would have no hesitation in staying again when next in Boston.

Thank drellis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,097 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,963 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £178 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing