We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in March. The hotel has several buildings and we were in the "Gold" building. We had a lovely room but we particularly liked the the ground floor room where breakfast was served. It was lovely and peaceful. Breakfast and hors d'oevres were delicious . There was an honesty bar, a fuel effect fire , making it really homely. Service was first class. Highly recommended .

Room Tip: I don't know if the other buildings were as nice but I would recommend the Gold building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameronHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello, and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm so pleased to hear that your experience was a "superb" one - from the many amenities of Fairmont Gold to the "first class" service.

Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    293
    120
    40
    31
See reviews for
272
564
71
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Located in the North End, the Fairmont Battery Wharf is a wonderful hotel with an exceptional front of house staff. Upon arrival, Khalid, the bell person, graciously showed us to our room, and ensured that we were comfortable and happy. He also made sure we had transportation, as the weather was a bit chilly and wet, and Christopher provided informative livery service to Boston Common. Also, because if the weather, Joe graciously took us to The Garden, as Josh, the concierge, procured great tickets for us to the Celtics game. We also enjoyed weekend jazz in the lobby area, with expertly mixed beverages, and pleasant service. Gwen, the manager, was also instrumental in ensuring our stay was enjoyable. Breakfast in Aragosta was excellent, and our room was comfortable, including high quality linens and pillows. This was our second stay at this property, and we will definitely return again.

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor rooms because they offer more privacy from people jogging or strolling pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelingtutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit! In particular, that my colleagues - Khalid, Christopher, Joe, Josh, and Gwen - made your stay all the more memorable. I have shared your comments with our General Manager and other hotel leaders so that these colleagues may be recognized for their great work.

Thank you, again, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Travelled April 2014, x1 night, solo, on business.
278 USD after corporate rate.

As expected from a Fairmont hotel - excellent service, spotless rooms, luxurious room furnishings/bedding/pillows. Newer, modern facility with large rooms. I have stayed in the Back Bay area previously but really enjoyed staying in the North End. Generally quiet at night, and walking distance to the great Italian restaurants in the area (Salem/Hanover street minutes away walking), right off the water.

This has been commented on before - walls seem to be paper thin, doors slamming are heard quite clearly in your room, etc.

Strongly recommend any visitor to sign up for Fairmont President club - ensures that you get free access to their standard WiFi.

Would stay here again, and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlockOfEagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our excellent service, well-appointed rooms, and our location on the North End waterfront. While I am sorry to hear that your evening was disturbed by hallway noise, I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay overall.

Thank you, again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Spent a weekend at the Fairmont Battery Wharf recently. Very convenient to attractions and fun location on Boston Harbor. Easy walk to the North End and Haymarket areas. The hotel itself is quiet and clean - not particularly personal or charming. There was no full length mirror in the room, and no book outlining hotel amenities or policies. The hotel seems to hold a lot of events, so it's not a quiet, reflective place. Easy water taxi ride from Logan for $10. Not very near any public transportation. Nice but nothing memorable, and pretty expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our kids for spring break. We spent 3 nights at the hotel and it was excellent! We could walk to many destinations, our favorite being Little Italy where we had dinner each night! The location was beautiful and very convenient to the hop on hop off bus we booked. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Boston!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

It's with some regret that I write this review. I travel to Boston often for business, and the Fairmont had once been my favorite place to stay. Little did I know that I was actually being upgraded to Gold those first several visits.

The Gold experience is totally great. Beautiful breakfast in the morning, beautiful hors d'oeuvres by the fireplace in the evening. Wonderful concierge service. Perfect all around.

But the last two stays, I was not given the upgrades, but rather, the Fairmont regular stay. Since I had once had such a great time in the Gold building, I hesitated to post a negative review. But post I must...because Fairmont, if you're reading this, you need to up your game.

Some examples: There is no bottled water at all in building 1, not even a soda machine. There are no refreshments at check-in. If you want something to drink, you can either walk to the main building and ask, or else order something from room service at an exorbitant price. You then wait for twenty to twenty-five minutes...which, when it comes, could be the wrong order.

One morning during a recent stay, I received two wakeup calls that I didn't ask for, which were too early and woke me up and kept me up, sleep-deprived for an important workday.

And so on. These experiences have become rote ever since I began staying at the normal, non-upgraded Fairmont. And sadly, it was once my haven in Boston. I already don't like the Milennium Bostonian, I guess it's onto the Omni Parker House.

Since this is business travel, my trips are expenseable, and so I don't say anything while checking out. But had I been paying the $250 nightly rate for this kind of service, I'd be pretty pissed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm disappointed to hear that your last two stays did not live up to the standard set by your previous visits. I'd like to take this opportunity to address some of your concerns.

All rooms should have bottles of water on the nightstand - if you did not receive one, or it was not replenished, we certainly apologize. I'd also like to extend our apologies for the unwanted wake-up calls you received - this is absolutely not acceptable. I have shared your post with our Front Office Manager and Director of Rooms, in order to facilitate further follow-up on your comments.

I do hope that in the future, you will feel comfortable expressing such concerns to us during your visit. My colleagues will then be able to address them before you leave, perhaps ensuring a more pleasurable stay. Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Fairmont is a strong label, so expectations are of course at the level and at least at the level of the prices they charge. Well, we enjoyed Boston very very much and the aera around the wharf too. But this was not thanks the Fairmont. People were friendly, especially the valets. In a Fairmont hotel you do not expect to share the television programs of your neighbours but here you can listen three channels in the same time... Not acceptable because the first thing you do expect from an hotel is too sleep. Beds are perfect, so is the bathroom. Breakfast is only "à la carte", no buffet and is very expensive for what you get. So, there is Fairmont and.... Fairmont. We had choosen this hotel because it belongs to the Fairmont company but we were wrong. The hotel is in fact divided in different buildings which obliges you to run between the drops when it rains. And last but not least, the wi-fi is 15,95 $ for 24 hours. Thanks our Fairmont president membership this was waived!

Room Tip: Do not dream to have a room with view on water because the situation of the different buildings of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilippeDouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello Philippe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While I'm pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and guest room comfortable, I'm disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your visit.

We certainly regret that your stay was interrupted by noisy neighbors - such a disturbance can and should be brought to the attention of the Front Desk, so my colleagues there can promptly address it for you. As for WIFI, ours is competitively priced for the city; though as you point out, it is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club members.

Thank you, again, for your post, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#34 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Property: Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#33 Green Hotel in Boston
#34 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing