We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 November 2009

My wife and I stayed at the fairmont battery wharf for our anniversary and found it perfect. The room was beautiful with contemporary designs, the marble bathroom was beautiful with a walk-in rainforest shower. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Its nice because it's right by the water where it is nice and quiet as opposed to in the middle of boston where it's noisy with all the cars and such. It's a two minute walk to Hanover St. where there are great authentic italian restaurants and a 10-15 minute walk to the government center/haymarket T stop which will take you anywhere in boston. We went to the Sensing hotel restaurant for brunch and had delicious crepes and blueberry pancakes as well as some fresh squeezed orange and grapefruit juice. Wonderful hotel! Pictures are from the 2nd floor of Building 3, in the Junior King Suite

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhsin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2009

We stayed here one night, during an overnight layover in Boston. We loved being able to take the water taxi from the airport. Comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms, and friendly staff. The hotel's close proximity to the North End was an added bonus. I agree with other reviewers that the setup is a little different than most Fairmonts, but that did not take anything away from our experience. We definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denver007Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

I've stayed at a number of Fairmont Hotels. Battery Wharf is a fairly new hotel built on a pier in Boston's North End Boston on the water. Location is nice if you want to walk the North End of Boston which is a lot of fun. It is a nice property but a bit confusing. Two buildings. Lobby/bar/dining/reception in one and have to go outside to get to the other building where at least half of the rooms are located. I think this would not be very appealing in Boston winter! The rooms are a bit eclectic. First room I was given was ground floor looking out onto a pedestrian path. No privacy as folks taking a stroll could look into your room so. Also, the room was tiny. No desk to work on a laptop. Bedside tables were two little metal boxes on the floor...just wierd design choice. I asked to be switched to a different room on an upper floor and was accomodated. This room was much roomier with a desk. It was a very nice room in tune with my expectations for the hotel when I booked a room. I may stay again but I would be very specific about rooms. So-so fitness facility in a converted hotel room. Not what you'd expect for luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UWHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My Husband and I loved this hotel......Do not have one bad thing to say about this place!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1spout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We stayed at thsi hotel for a weekend getaway on September. It was not was we expected. teh hotel was very nice, but the service was not was it was expected. We took the water taxi and noone helped us when we arrived to the hotel. the hotel put us in a handicapped room and they changed us 20 minutes to the closest room to the front desk, extremely noise. I had to ask 3 times the front desk lady to see the manager. it took them another 45 minutes to get us another room. We will not come back to this hotel. We have also stayed at the Lenox and it was a lot better

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asturias2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

I stayed for 3 nights in early October after staying 4 nights at the Intercontinental. Got the room on a friends and family rate of $150 per night which I felt was outstanding value in light of the quality of the staff and hotel.

The room was nicely furnished and a good size, even with two kings it didn't feel cramped. Large LCD TV and phone with data system was a nice touch, along with a phone that could be used anywhere within the hotel.

At all times staff were friendly and courteous, addressing me by name on many occasions. They were very knowledgeable about the area and the doorman were always able to get us taxis very quickly, despite the hotel itself not having a rank.

I only ate in the restaurant for breakfast, however the food and service were excellent - truely outstanding croissants! In the evenings however there are just too many good restaurants in Boston and I ate out instead.

Overall a superb stay and only one minor quibble - when I returned home I noticed a charge had been placed on my card for minibar items that I hadn't consumed. One phonecall was all it took to rectify this issue, with no argument or query. Small things like this when properly handled are what set apart quality hotels from the rest.

I would return in the future and indeed hope to do so.

One last tip... If arriving from or going to Logan take a water taxi to the hotels dock. $10 per person is cheaper than a taxi and more to the point it is a great way to approach the city and appreciate the beautiful skyline.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieEighteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We pricelined 4 star hotels for a quick overnight trip and got the Fairmont for $125. I looked on their website and rooms started at $400/night.
We could never have afforded the $400, so I am extremely happy we were able to stay here.
The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the setup is a little different, 4 individual buildings separated by a driveway/courtyard. The hotel has upscale furnishings, beautiful bath with rain showerhead and robes.
We asked for a change of room when we got there because we noticed a cleaning problem in the bathroom. The staff immediately switched us to another room, walked to the new room with us and made sure every inch was clean and then took a picture of our complaint in the first room. They took this very seriously and Ive never been treated so well, impressive.
We had a drink at the bar and they have the best veg chips (made right there) I have ever eaten. The ambiance was beautiful
This hotel is a block from the North End and all the Italian restaurants.
There are no close T stops, so be prepared to walk alittle or get a cab. Boston is a walking city anyway
I would go back to this hotel any time --- it was beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashuaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 86 in Boston
2,432 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
4,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 86 in Boston
1,768 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 86 in Boston
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £148 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing