We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased, worked well for us”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were arriving later than expected and called the hotel. The hosts were very accommodating. The couple was very, very friendly. They knew how to tell us to get around the area. The room was very clean, quiet, and charming. Very close to Boston University. Great area to run if that is one of your hobbies - two blocks from the river. If we return to Boston, this is where we will stay. Only one block from the subway. It is in the back bay so not close to many of the historical landmarks. This should not keep you from staying here because the subway is very close, cheap, convenient and easy to use. Loved this place, very quaint.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The area was a quiet neighborhood close to town and Fenway Park. Good walking distance to both. Easy to get to the T. Room was simple and just enough. I stayed in a single room with a private bathroom which was located down the hall. Breakfast was simple, mainly cereals, breads and cold cuts and cheese. Lihua and her husband were very hospitable and full of information.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor which was okay but not easy if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TWongAiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We specifically go to Boston for the Baseball, so this property is Location, Location ,Location.
The hosts are really friendly, but not in your face. Rooms are spacious and very clean and tidy. Only downside is the stairs, but good workout. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at Abigayle's/The Brownstone as an extended family group aged 2 - 60. We all found the hosts pleasant and welcoming, especially Li.

The rooms were a good size and immaculately clean. The bathrooms were a bit tight, but functional. We loved that the location was close to Fenway, as we had Red Sox tickets, and one had quick access to public transportation to take you anywhere in the city. We'd stay here again.

Do note that the name of the place is actually the Brownstone, as our fellow guests have let us know. They were able to pay less than we did because they didn't have to pay the placement fee we had to when going through the service that calls this place "Abigayle's" to hide its true name.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are quieter. Also, know that the single rooms are TWIN beds.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank ashleyinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BnBBay, Manager at Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are happy this guest liked Abigayle's. The B&B name was added a few years ago because it was in conflict with other properties named Brownstone. The Brownstone name has not been deleted but Abigayle's is the same property and we are a bit hurt that a negative assumption was made about us. We are an honest and reputable business since 1981.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location, great room, great hosts—definitely the place to stay, and very affordable if you compare to the local hotel room rates—we already plan to stay there again on our next visit to Boston. There's also a great local pub around the block (and the T stop is right there, too): "The Cornwall" for a decent burger and adult beverage.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The owners were very good about knowing how to get around Boston as well as fun things to do. I really enjoyed talking with them.

I had one of the single bed rooms with bath in the hallway. It was fine for me, but if you are modest, it might be a little daunting. They provided a robe for cover up.

The room was a bit warm, but opening the window helped. This caused all the traffic noises to come in my room. Ear plugs are a must if you aren't used to that. With the ear plugs, it was pleasant with the night time breeze through the window.

I had a very pleasant stay here and would do it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogsteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We just returned from a four day trip to Boston. Can I say we loved this Bed and Breakfast. It was clean, very beautiful, and the room with attached bath was nothing short of roomy, and perfect. The hosts were quintessential northerners. And I mean no disrespect by this comment. The breakfast room was cozy and quaint. The other guest were engaging and charming. And the advice given by the hosts was spot on. We took the ferry (at their advising) to the USS Constitution and walked the Freedom Trail Backward. But I have to confess, when we got to Little Italy the atmosphere was so inviting and fun we got swept up in the festivities and the farmer's market. We are small town (800) people, but we totally fell in love with Boston. Already planning another trip,soon. And we will most likely stay her at Abigayle's.
Thank you for your hospitality and your travel advice. Hope to see you again, soon....

Room Tip: We chose Room 3C. it is very spacious and has a private bath. The owner actually told us it was his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thorpes96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,490 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Kenmore Sq, Bay State Rd at Deerfield St., Boston, MA 02215
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £102 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming brownstone, built in 1896, is set on a quiet, tree- lined street adjacent to Kenmore Square and the Charles River, and very near Boston University and Fenway Park. The property has been lovingly maintained as a private residence for two generations, and all original architectural details have been preserved. The home boasts modern amenities with old world Victorian charm, and its guest rooms come with: queen bed with a single foam sleep sofa (for a small child), or twin beds that can be made into a king bed with a single foam sleep sofa (for a small child), and private attached baths. There is also a single room with a private bath in the hall. All rooms have TVs, private phone lines, desks, and A/C, and are on either the 3rd or 4th floor. The B&B's popular breakfast is self-serve continental in the dining room. There is limited parking on site plus public parking lot half a block away. The green line subway is just steps from the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abigayle`s b&b
Abigayle`s Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing