We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly convenient”
Review of Copley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copley House
Ranked #67 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We were staying in Boston for four nights and needed something central. The unit was a basement unit. The kitchen light never did work so it was always somewhat dark. The bed and bathroom were fine. It cost about $130 per night though they wanted to charge about $175. Apparently all accommodation in Boston is expensive.In any case we were not there to stay in a room and saw little of it. It was highly convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trooo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

I am astounded at the other reviews regarding this property!
My husband and I booked for 5 nights in 11/2010. On arrival 26/10/2011 we were allocated a 'last minute' room. After much 'noise making' our room was changed to a room of minimal improved standard. The rooms are not serviced approprietly, towels are thread bare, linen on bed jaded. Furniture is old, tired and the carpet is extremely dirty. Airconditioner when working poured water onto furniture. Bathroom has stagnant odour.
WiFi access is limited to NON existent.
The only plus to this establishment is that it is located in a prime position!

Room Tip: Don't stay here - the internet advertisement is very misleading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Back Bay brownstone--what more could you want if you're tired of the corporate same-ness of hotels? This was conveniently situated for the Boston sightseeing we wanted to do with the kids. "T" locations (subway stations) and shopping were nearby, so we parked our car in a pay garage (commercial, not hotel) and used public transit and our feet. The brownstone accommodations consisted of a spacious and tasteful living room with fireplace (nonworking), pull-out couch, dining table, kitchen (oven, microwave, toaster oven and coffee maker), plasma screen TV, free WiFi, and a separate bathroom (with thick towels!). Decor was generally tasteful (nice colors, woodwork, high ceilings), but the bathroom wasn't updated and there was a shortage of electric outlets for laptops and even for the bedroom lamp and clock (!). The brownstone has just accommodations, no pool, business center, fitness center, etc., but if we wanted those things, we would have gone to the corporate hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moonspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

stayed 2 nights in copley house. very nice room. clean with simple but pleasent furnishng. With kichenette. Good area for siteseeing. near trains and buses. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessa9911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was my second time staying at the Copley House and I figured that I should write a review. This is of course not your typical hotel, as they are actually apartments that you are renting for the length of your stay. Oddly enough, both times, I got apt #501, I think that it may be kismet or something. The apt is a small studio with just enough room for two people. The first time it was me and a friend and the second time, I was alone. The room is very clean and spacious and the furniture is not the most modern, but I found everything to be clean and the bed was comfy. This room is right on the first floor, so you can hear the street noises and see people walking by and such, but that is why I like it... hey, I'm a New Yorker and I like noise and people! :)

Check in was very quick and efficent and they give you nice map of the city as well as the neighborhodd in wich you are staying in with things such as the lanydry and supermarkets pointed out so that you can prepare your own meals and such. A great location to the subway or bus lines and the city is very walkable as advertised.

Really, it's not a five star hotel, but for the price and the location (which is in a very sweet, down to Earth neighborhood with tree lined streets) you can beat it! :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShyFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at the residence on Saint Stephens on Thursday, 21 July. We were extremely disappointed in the accomodations. We felt we paid for a residence closer to Prudential Center, Copley Plaza, etc only to find that we were much further than we originally thought when booking the reservation. In addition, the air conditioner window unit barely worked and we sweated for most of the day and into the night while trying to sleep. The accomodations were not quaint or charming, but old and run down. The bathroom had mildew in the shower and the baseboards/floor in the bathroom were disgusting. The kitchen window was broken when we got there and was down from the top. We were able to get it back up and after minutes of messing with the lock, finally secured the window. The carpets were disgusting as well, looking as if they had not been vacuumed in quite some time. Overall, we regretted we chose this hotel over a chain hotel closer to the airport. We have pretty low expectations in hotels being in the military and traveling, literally, all over the world and Copley House was on one of the dirtiest we have stayed in. Our flight the next morning was cancelled and re-booked for the following day, instead of staying one additional night in your hotel, we decided to wait it out at the airport for the next flight. I cannot ever recommend Copley House to a friend or colleague staying in the Boston area as we definitely did not get accomodations worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thejohnsons556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We booked two rooms through hotels.com, upon arriving at the Copley House they didn't want to honor the rate from our reservation. It took over 40 minutes for the manager to finally agree to honor the reservation -- she blamed the "mistake" on an employee that wasn't present.
After that ordeal we were walked about four blocks, dragging our suitcases, to the building where our rooms were located.
The rooms were dirty and of very poor quality, ie. broken tiles, leaky faucets, blinds that didn't close, exposed wires, outlets that didn't work, musty closets, old mattresses, and the key to one of the rooms didn't work, so we were given a master key! Imagine, we had access to ALL other rooms -- where other guests were staying -- for two days.
The Copley House is conviniently located and cheap, but you WILL get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jelajela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#56 of 86 in Boston
2,177 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 86 in Boston
3,898 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#69 of 86 in Boston
973 reviews
Charlestown
Constitution Inn
Constitution Inn
#82 of 86 in Boston
787 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
YOTEL Boston
YOTEL Boston
#27 of 86 in Boston
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02116-6412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#40 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £77 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing