We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel experience EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Copley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copley House
Ranked #69 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Culleoka, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel experience EVER!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I try to come and visit my best friend as often as possible. When I do we like to catch a Bruins game or just enjoy the city for a night or two. I absolutely feel in love with Copley House as soon as I got there. Keep in mind, the rooms are tiny. The location,hospitality and cleanliness make up for the small space. It was cozy and all I could ask for in a Boston hotel experience! I did NOT want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us, Katie! Hopefully you caught a good Bruins game this time around. They're starting to look pretty consistent, which is a great sign for such a talented team.

I really appreciate your review, and I'm so happy to hear that you always feel cozy and comfortable with us. Next time you're headed to the city, we'll have a room waiting!

All the best,

Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    253
    118
    55
    52
See reviews for
155
220
60
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The first put off was that the actual apartment was a little distance from the reception, on a different street. But thanks to the Management who made arrangements to transport our lugguage.

Stayed 2 nights - for an apartment stated to be for 4 adults, it was quite tiny. The bedroom in particular was very small with almost no room other than the bed. The kitchen area was also inadequate.

The best thing about the property is its location. Getting an apartment at this cost at the centre of Boston was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for the review, Krishna! We're extremely fortunate to have the location that we do, and one thing that makes our location possible is having rooms on a few neighboring streets. With that said, we will always help with transportation of luggage and I'm glad that was your experience. I appreciate your feedback about the room itself. Would you please elaborate a little further about what you think made the kitchen area inadequate? We're under new management this year and we're putting a lot of effort into making new improvements to elevate our service. Some more detail could really help!

Either way, it seems like overall you had a pretty good stay and I want to thank you for choosing us. Hopefully you liked Boston enough to come back soon.

Take care,

Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villiers-sur-Marne, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here for three nights this weekend (November 2013). We we apprehensive at first but then once we got there, the studio was perfect. It was warm, cozy, clean and it had everything you need for a long or short stay. The economy studio was a lot bigger than we expected, very spacious, with a dinning table and a small kitchennette. The shower was very big and the bathroom was spacious. Clean towels and warm comforters were available along with shampoo and soap. The kitchen has the basic tools and even some sugar, coffee, tea, salt and peper.The neighbourhood is very beautiful and quiet, near Prudential Center, Boston Commons and the Public Garden. My fiancée and I loved it, it felt like home and we miss it already. I wish we could've stayed longer because it felt so cozy. I will definitely stay here next time I come to Boston.

Room Tip: Studios are situated on a few blocks near and on West Newton, and the staff will take you to yours i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonUser, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Sounds like you had a great time in Boston, Mimi! That's wonderful to hear, it's such an amazing city. Thank you for choosing us for your stay. Nice to know you were so pleasantly surprised by all of our amenities, and that you took advantage of our location by getting out to Prudential, the Commons and the Public Garden. Let us know if you're ever planning a trip to New England again, we'd love to have you stay with us. All the best, Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great room, comfy bed, cozy bed linen, useful kitchenette, super clean, free Wifi. The best location- 2 minutes walk to prudential T station, 5 minutes walk to many restaurants (PF Changs, Cheescake factory), and a supermarket. Only challenge was the tiny bathroom. Also recommended to try the excellent breakfast or the Obama burger at the nearby Charlie Sandwich Shoppe. We stayed in West Neuton St, and enjoyed every minute. Will definitely return if we get back to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonUser, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hopefully you'll make it back to Boston soon! We'd love to have you stay with us again. Thanks for the fantastic recommendation, and I'm so happy to hear you had such a nice time in Boston. Charlie's especially was a great place to grab lunch. They have a really cool history in Boston. A fun little story about them is that when they decided to close on Sundays after 32 straight years of being open 24/7, they had to make keys because nobody had one.

All stories aside, I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and hopefully we'll see you in the city again someday!

All the best,

Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at this place during the first week of November 2013. We requested a large studio and found out that it was a different building number (on same street) but was on the fourth floor. There was no elevation and the stairs were sort of narrow. If stair climbing is an issue then this studio is not recommended. The room was comfortable with a queen sized bed a large sofa. We travelled with a teenager that used the sofa as is and so we didn't check to see if it actually pulled out and became a bed. The room was clean and there was a small kitchen with a stove and refrigerator. The shower head was okay as long as you don't mind one set water flow. It would have been better for management to change the shower head and that would have made it an even better experience. The location of the property is close to the Prudential Center, on a nice quiet street with a supermarket and 711 store nearby. Everything was within walkable range, if you are so inclined or the subway was two blocks away. Except for the two small issues with the stairs and shower, I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Not more than a family of three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Workingassets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonUser, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thanks for the feedback! Great to hear that overall you had a really nice stay. The even better news is that we're under new management as of this year, so we're actively collecting guest feedback to see where improvements can be made. Your two main critiques are very helpful and we'll learn from them. So, I really appreciate you sharing!

Everything else seemed to go really well for you and your family. Hopefully we'll see you again next time you're in Boston.

Take care,

Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in #209 at 171 St. Botolph. It was at the top of narrow stairs a bit challenging to carry your luggage if you had something larger than carry on size. The efficiency room was small but comfortable. The bathroom was tacky! The building interior is very dated and could use a face lift including the rooms. It looked like student housing a one time. The location was great within walking distance of shopping and sites. Train station close by. A bit pricey compared to some of the nicer hotels but we wanted to have the option of cooking. The staff was really nice and very helpful. Overall it was OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlboul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonUser, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback. I appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to let us know how everything went. The good news: it seems like overall you had a nice stay in Boston with us. The better news: we're under new management as of this year and we're making improvements every single day based upon feedback like yours. I'm confident that next time you make your way up to New England, we'll come through for you with a 5-star lodging experience, all the while remaining cost efficient compared to hotels in the area. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you enjoyed your trip.

All the best,

Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our apartment was on St Botolph. It was within walking distance of just about everything. The efficiency room had comfortable bed, full kitchen and dinning table was clean and modern. The updated bathroom had a wonderful large shower. The parking at $15 a day was very reasonable especially since it was located right behind the building and we could see the car from our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonUser, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you, Rosanne! We really appreciate the recommendation. Happy to hear you really enjoyed your stay in Boston with us. Hopefully you'll plan another trip soon, we'd love to see you again someday! All the best, Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,374 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#28 of 83 in Boston
623 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#50 of 83 in Boston
2,040 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#65 of 83 in Boston
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Property: Copley House
Address: 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#53 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing