We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Copley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copley House
Ranked #69 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Once again, tripadvisor has led us to a gem.

Go in May when the trees are all blooming! The street was quiet but the accessibility was excellent -- only two blocks from the convention center, two blocks from the T line (either green or orange), 7-11 across the street for snacks & groceries. There's a wine shop that sells beer about two blocks away. (No beer or wine sales in most groceries and convenience stores.) And it's right on the greenway which makes walking anywhere delightfully pleasant.

Room Tip: If you can climb stairs, the top floor room we had was delightful with skylights just outside our do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank harriet_deborah_vane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
This was delightful to read, Harriet. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to make the most of our location. It sounds like you had a wonderful time here (May is a truly magical time of year when all is in full bloom!), and we'd be more than happy to host you the next time you're in Boston.

Thanks and best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    254
    118
    55
    52
See reviews for
156
221
60
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I came to Boston for the first time and stayed at Copley House. It was in an ideal location and priced for my budget. Clean with a friendly staff. It's not fancy, but certainly a great place to come back to at the end of the day to recharge your batteries. It's not a big hotel where you can feel lost, it was like coming home each night. There is a corner market just up the street where I picked up the morning paper every day. There is a Whole Foods in walking distance, 12 minute walk maybe. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. A beautiful park across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing, Michael! I'm very happy to read you enjoyed your stay so much. Your compliments about our staff and amenities are greatly appreciated! Keep us in mind the next time you're in Boston as we'd be happy to host you.

Thanks and best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The place maybe be nice and convenient but the service is gonna turn your stay in a nightmare. It's cold (and I read previous comment about it but didn't pay to much attention). In the afternoon we realized that in our room was very cold and we asked to increase the heating and they said they will do it. We came back after dinner and the room was even colder than in the afternoon so we called the reception and the feedback was awful. They said they couldn't provide us the heating and neither a blanket!!we begged for a blanket on the phone but nothing and no heating because we've been told they can do it just before 9pm!!But we ve asked the heating even before 9pm...no answer at that!!the result?we had to sleep with the blanket I finally found in the room and my jumper on!!unbelievable!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Giuditta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed our location and amenities, Giuditta. However I regret that the issues over the heating made your stay unpleasant enough that you'd rank us as only 1-star. We try our best to accommodate all of our guests' requests when it comes to the temperature of the rooms. However because our hotel is located in historic brownstones, the buildings aren't equipped such that individual rooms can set their own temperature -- changing the temperature for one room changes it for the whole building. We did honor your request to turn up the heat when you first asked, but I apologize that we weren't able to make the whole building as warm as you'd have liked. I regret that we couldn't do more to accommodate you, and I sincerely apologize if any of our staff was anything less that totally pleasant when you spoke with them. I hope that you'd consider giving us another try the next time you're in Boston. Until then, feel free to reach out if you'd like to continue this conversation.

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

MAMMOTH LAKES
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Copley House is different from a lot of other places, in that it offers apartment/studio style accommodation, located in several buildings in the neighborhood. We had a top floor studio (lots of stairs!) on St. Stephen's street, near Northeastern U. and the Symphony T station. The room was great, freshly painted and nicely furnished with a separate kitchen and bathroom. Although there was a pullout couch as well as the queen size bet, it would have felt crowded with more than two adults, but would work great for a family traveling with one or two kids though. We were a bit surprised to be shuttled from the check in location to our building - as a standalone room we didn't have access to central hotel amenities (at least not with a half mile walk), but a nearby Whole Foods market, subway station and restaurants nearby made it easy to be self-sufficient. It felt like a good value compared to the other available options during the busy (and expensive) Boston Marathon weekend. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Check which building you'll be in when you book, so the location isn't a surprise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! This review will undoubtedly be helpful to other travelers, so I really appreciate your taking a moment to share your experience and give readers an idea of what to expect while staying with us. We'd love to host you again the next time you're in Boston! Thanks again for reviewing.

Have a great day,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Boston & enjoyed every minute. We arrived by train & walked easily to our apartment, after booking in at the main office. It was close to shopping and bookings for tours. Although in the process of being renovated this didn't worry us. We walked into Boston's Copley Square & the main sights along the Freedom Trail. We felt safe, it was clean and private and it was easy to come and go. We loved it!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing, Stevanne! I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us. It sounds like you were able to take great advantage of our location, and I couldn't be more pleased about that. I really appreciate your flexibility as we renovate! If there's anything else we might've done to improve your stay, don't hesitate to reach out. Should you find yourself in Boston again, we'd be happy to host you.

Have a great day,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Booking online was easy. It was difficult to get someone on the phone during work hours, kept getting the automated greeting. This was our first time to stay here based on reviews and affordability. We (daughter & I) took the red eye flight to visit colleges and so did not get any sleep the whole day. Came to Copley in the evening. We didn't realize that there are separate buildings...actually apartments which they rent out to. We were driven to another apt about 3-4 minute drive. Good thing we packed light since there are no elevators and we had to go up two flights of stairs. There seemed to be other residents who stayed in the building. When we stepped in the front entrance we smelled home cooked fried chicken. Our apt was really cozy, comfortable, modern, clean and had all the amenities for an apt (kitchen, dishwasher, refrigerator, cook top, plates, utensils, etc but no washer/dryer which we didn't need any way). Everything was great in terms of location (Whole Foods around the corner). However, I had a difficult time sleeping. I heard so many people walking around outside late at night and early morning shouting, laughing, and people walking up/down the main stair case and people up stairs walking around. I would have rated it a little lower because of the noise but the receptionist was very nice and accommodating. I don't recall if there were double pane windows but it didn't seem like it since we heard people talking outside even when they weren't shouting. Replacing the windows to double pain would help alleviate the noise outside. The noise inside (footsteps from stairs and walking upstairs) happened about 3x but were loud enough to prevent me from sleeping.

Room Tip: Travel light since there are no elevators, bring ear plugs and eye covers esp if you're a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I'm so pleased you found your room comfortable, but I am very sorry to hear you had trouble sleeping. Making sure our guests are well rested is a top priority of ours, and I'm disappointed to hear we weren't able to address this problem during your stay. Because of our location in such a popular part of the city there is often a lot of activity outside, especially during the warmer months. Your feedback about the double pane windows is very helpful, and we'll definitely look into this possibility. We hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future! We are always happy to accommodate any requests, so feel free to let us know next time if there's anything we can do to make you more comfortable.

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed at the Copley House St. Patrick's Day weekend. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating even before we left. We were having a family reunion so rented 2 small apartments which was great since we could put the younger of our group on the pullouts. The price was the same as a hotel room and we got so much more space. It's close to the T which is very easy to use. 7-11, Charles deli and a small grocery store nearby to stock up on breakfast items and snacks which cuts back on costs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Kathy. We do our best to provide a more homey and affordable alternative to hotels, and it's so great to know you felt well taken care of. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay even better, don't hesitate to reach out with your suggestions. We'd welcome you and your family back anytime! Best wishes, Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#51 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#66 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Property: Copley House
Address: 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#53 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing