We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Street & Great Location”
Review of Copley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copley House
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Quiet and comfortable. It's nice to have a refrigerator, microwave and even a stove. This hotel is tucked away in row-houses just 2 blocks from the Prudential Center (which has a T stop). Easiest route to and from Logan is through Back Bay Station (as Government Center is closed for 2 years). That's less than 1/2 mile away. Wifi included. Perfect for a business traveler who wants to relax or for visitors. Good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thanks so much for reviewing, Erik! It sounds like you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us, and I'm very happy to hear it. While I'm very pleased to know you were happy with the value we provide, if there's anything you can think of that might've made your stay with us more enjoyable, don't hesitate to reach out. I'd be happy to hear your thoughts, and want you to know that we would love to have you stay with us again anytime in the future.

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went to Boston for a weekend trip and was looking for a place to stay that was a reasonable price and near everything. We really enjoyed our stay at Copley House. It was clean and had everything we needed. The buildings are old so they do not have central AC. Our room was hot so we called and they installed a window unit. I would definitely stay there again if I go back to Boston.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebd84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

I'm very happy to read you enjoyed staying with us during your weekend in Boston! Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend our hotel -- your support is much appreciated. If there's anything we can do to make you more comfortable during your next stay with us, feel free to get in touch directly! I'd be happy to hear from you. Needless to say, you're welcome here anytime.

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our family just came back from staying at the Copley House for my brother's graduation. We are a family of 4 and rented the 1 bedroom apt. We were placed at the Saint Stephens building in Room 307. We were so pleased when we walked in to find a very spacious apartment with a small kitchen which included a full size refridgerator/freezer, microwave, small stove, coffee maker, pots, utensils, glasses, etc. Very good to have if you don't want to save a little on maybe having breakfast before you head out on your travels. A dining table for 4 was also in the room. There is a nice size, updated bathroom with fresh towels everyday.

This rental has a private bedroom with a queen size bed and private closet, and a queen size sofa bed in the living room. Both were pretty comforable and there were plenty of pillows and blankets for everyone. Since my brother is a 6 ft. 240 lb guy, we called and requested an airmattress and with no problem, the staff provided that to us as well so that we could be more comfortable and not have to share the sofabed. A flat screen t.v. is in the room and had some channels to go around. They also provide an iron and ironing board, which came in handy since we all had a graduation to attend and had some wrinkled suits to iron. lol... Air conditioning worked great too and extra fans are provided should you need it. We are from Florida and didn't even need to use it.

The location is great. Close too whole foods, a couple bakeries, dunkin donuts, wendys, CVS, Cleaners, a couple bars, and a 10 minute walk to the train station.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again. The staff was very accommodating and did anything they needed to do in order to make our stay a pleasant one. Compared to all of the other chain hotels, you definitely get your monies worth with Copley House as they are also more affordable than most of the other Boston area hotels.

The only recommendation I would have for Copley House is to consider installing the inexpensive black out shades for their windows. If you like to sleep, its nice to be able to have these so that all the sun is not shining through in the morning.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. So if you have trouble with stairs, request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for this detailed review, Melissa! I'm very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed staying with us for your brother's graduation. It's so wonderful to hear that you felt you were comfortable and felt you got your money's worth, so thank you for taking the time to share. Your suggestions are always appreciated, as are your tips for fellow travelers. We'd welcome you and your family back anytime, so keep us in mind for your next trip to Boston.

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Overall we had a really nice stay at Copley. I've stayed in hotels in Boston before paying upwards of $400+ per night. This place is like a guest room if you were staying at someones house is what I would compare it to. The staff were welcoming. We enjoyed our stay. Our only suggestions for improvement were that we had no air conditioning remote and there was no fan which made it quite hot and humid. The street was very loud in the early morning too so leaving the windows open at night (no screens in the windows) wasn't the best option. The bathroom also didn't have any hand soap for after you use the restroom. So just minor things. Overall we would stay again - and ask for the AC remote.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank botermsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I'm glad you had such a homey experience staying with us! Thank you for taking the time to share and leave us some feedback to work with. We're more than happy to accommodate requests of this nature, so don't hesitate to ask during your next stay! Your review is greatly appreciated, and you're welcome here anytime!

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Once again, tripadvisor has led us to a gem.

Go in May when the trees are all blooming! The street was quiet but the accessibility was excellent -- only two blocks from the convention center, two blocks from the T line (either green or orange), 7-11 across the street for snacks & groceries. There's a wine shop that sells beer about two blocks away. (No beer or wine sales in most groceries and convenience stores.) And it's right on the greenway which makes walking anywhere delightfully pleasant.

Room Tip: If you can climb stairs, the top floor room we had was delightful with skylights just outside our do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank harriet_deborah_vane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

This was delightful to read, Harriet. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to make the most of our location. It sounds like you had a wonderful time here (May is a truly magical time of year when all is in full bloom!), and we'd be more than happy to host you the next time you're in Boston.

Thanks and best wishes,
Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I came to Boston for the first time and stayed at Copley House. It was in an ideal location and priced for my budget. Clean with a friendly staff. It's not fancy, but certainly a great place to come back to at the end of the day to recharge your batteries. It's not a big hotel where you can feel lost, it was like coming home each night. There is a corner market just up the street where I picked up the morning paper every day. There is a Whole Foods in walking distance, 12 minute walk maybe. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. A beautiful park across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing, Michael! I'm very happy to read you enjoyed your stay so much. Your compliments about our staff and amenities are greatly appreciated! Keep us in mind the next time you're in Boston as we'd be happy to host you.

Thanks and best wishes,
Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The place maybe be nice and convenient but the service is gonna turn your stay in a nightmare. It's cold (and I read previous comment about it but didn't pay to much attention). In the afternoon we realized that in our room was very cold and we asked to increase the heating and they said they will do it. We came back after dinner and the room was even colder than in the afternoon so we called the reception and the feedback was awful. They said they couldn't provide us the heating and neither a blanket!!we begged for a blanket on the phone but nothing and no heating because we've been told they can do it just before 9pm!!But we ve asked the heating even before 9pm...no answer at that!!the result?we had to sleep with the blanket I finally found in the room and my jumper on!!unbelievable!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Giuditta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed our location and amenities, Giuditta. However I regret that the issues over the heating made your stay unpleasant enough that you'd rank us as only 1-star. We try our best to accommodate all of our guests' requests when it comes to the temperature of the rooms. However because our hotel is located in historic brownstones, the buildings aren't equipped such that individual rooms can set their own temperature -- changing the temperature for one room changes it for the whole building. We did honor your request to turn up the heat when you first asked, but I apologize that we weren't able to make the whole building as warm as you'd have liked. I regret that we couldn't do more to accommodate you, and I sincerely apologize if any of our staff was anything less that totally pleasant when you spoke with them. I hope that you'd consider giving us another try the next time you're in Boston. Until then, feel free to reach out if you'd like to continue this conversation.

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
3,818 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#68 of 84 in Boston
971 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 84 in Boston
1,939 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#73 of 84 in Boston
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02116-6412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £88 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing