We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS is customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Commonwealth Court Guest House
Ranked #27 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We selected this hotel based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We arrived quite early, before 11am. We planned to valet the car and leave bags but the Bellman (all were awesome) suggested we go check on room. Well, it was ready. We refereshed, the bellman brought bags, and we went down to enjoy the city. Again, bellmen helped us decide whether to walk or take a cab. The room was large. The beds comfortable (but pillow options too soft for companion). Easy access plugs, good lighting, decent water pressure and towels. Room service excellent. Overall a really nice experience.

Room Tip: The whol.e city is an ADA nightmare. If choosing, i recommend calling for information. They have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed at the Commonwealth Court Guest House twice and this has become our "go to" hotel/guest house. We have stayed in two different rooms and have no complaints whatsoever. The rooms have small kitchenettes which is useful, updated bathrooms that are lovely and all the essentials such as wifi, tv, etc. The rooms are clean and daily room service is provided. The building is quiet. Best of all is the location...easily walkable one block from Newbury Street and restaurants/shopping, two blocks from Boylston. The rates make the Commonwealth Court Guest House even more attractive. We have decided this is our "home away from home."

Room Tip: Call the hotel and describe your needs for a room as there are several floors. No elevator. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The location of the place is just great! very close to everything you need to visit in Boston. Very nice room (and clean) with a small kitchenette that can be very useful. just the bathroom is a bit tiny for for us everything was just perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cillovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The apartments are cozy, very clean (I can't understand some reviews here, to me the house seems redecorated inside and perfectly clean) and in a central location just a few steps away from Newbury street. It's a nice and quiet area so there's not much traffic noise. In a beautiful Victorian building.
Rooms are equipped with TV and a small kitchen (there were free coffee/sugar/milk packs).
If you're looking to have receptionists available 24/7 of course that's not the case in a guesthouse, but that wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtraveller419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Ok but not great apartment. Location is excellent. Place would benefit from a deep clean and lick of paint. However - it was still good value for money. Other places nearby are better, but are also at least twice the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gummy_bear_2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I have been there for two days. The only good thing is location, that's very good, in a nice hood, and price (not as absolute value, but compared with Boston prices - I paid 130 dollars tax excluded x night, double room). The rest, stairway is kind of stinking, carpet is dirty. Room, give some "dirty" feeling as well, even if bathroom was clean, mainly because of carpet again. Then, very bad, windows: you couldn't open them, and one had the inner glass broken, and never replaced ( there were some slivers jammed in the window frame. Advice: avoid it if you find something else.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
Thank Seadream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here for a week. The Commonwealth Court Guest House is a charming turn of the century brownstone with charming rooms updated with small bathrooms and kitchenettes. Love it here. Truly a Boston experience. We love our room. The only downside is we are directly on Commonwealth Ave. so the traffic noise may bother some light sleepers. We are a few blocks from fabulous restaurants, shopping, the Boston T (subway), Charles River, Boston U, Berklee College of Music, many other great spots. Walked to the Commons and the Fenway, but we are avid walkers so you can take the T or hop on hop off bus. I do not recommend renting a car in Boston. Traffic is hectic.

Room Tip: No elevator for those who can't handle stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commonwealth Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonwealth Court Guest House

Address: 284 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02115-2432
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £38 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commonwealth Court Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Commonwealth Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Court Guest House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing