We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, not bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commonwealth Court Guest House
Ranked #27 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great, not bad.”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Twin Room:
Both beds were of average size and comfort with a decent size bathroom and suitable kitchen area. However, no curtains. Blinds had little effect with sun coming through very early in the morning.

Good location to both downtown and Back Bay Area.

Main concern:
Upon checkout we asked receptionist (American Gentleman) if we could leave our suitcases within the guesthouse as our flight was not until midnight. "Only until 5" we were told. We tried to come to a compromise, leave it in spare rooms, leave it in utility rooms, garages etc etc but all he kept saying was no. After spending over 1000 dollars for 5 nights we expected some sort of effort from the staff but nothing was given. This resulted in me having to have my suitcase with me for 5 hours in Boston with nowhere to put it.

24 hours previous I dealt with a Slovakian member of staff who was extremely friendly and customer care focused, I wish he could have helped us upon check out.

Overall it was an ok place and I would have stayed here again when I return but after our situation on check out I will now go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    20
    6
    11
See reviews for
9
27
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Attending a conference at the Hynes Convention Center, I was looking for an alternative to the Back Bay hotels. Found a great deal on Booking.com for Commonwealth Court Guest House, which is a converted brownstone. Awesome location just off of Newbury and 2 blocks from the Hynes.
The Good: Very nice room with 12-foot ceilings, architectural details, and a large bay window looking out at Commonwealth Ave parkway. Nice colors, desk and comfy chair. Refrigerator, microwave, two-burner stove and sink.
The Bad: TV was 19" non-HD. Bed was average. Baseboard heating sounded its age.
The Ugly: Bathroom is tiny. Two people could not physically be in there at the same time. Shower was small with a shower head that had one setting: pitchfork.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 22, which this review applies to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I paid less than $100 a night to stay here, and was really impressed. The staff were welcoming, and the room was lovely. It's an old converted Boston townhouse which means it has a great feel. Also, I had a little hob, fridge, and microwave in the room which meant I could eat in and save money. The only downside was the wifi kept cutting out and you had to log in again - fine for emails etc but annoying if you're streaming shows.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have been in Boston for 7 days for a conference, all hotels were fully booked or with ridiculous prices, so I had to choose this one.

I took a double room, 200 $ per night, still too much for what they offered.

Bed was comfortable, bathroom incredibly small, especially taking into account the room was around 40 m2. One blind was broken, but the worst thing was the windows couldn't open.

Everytime I came back to the room it was a pain for the bad smell inside, given the room was never "refreshed" in years I suppose.

Floor was with moquette, dirty as usually happens in "Victorian style" places. The bathroom was never cleaned in 7 days, as well as towels were always the same in one week.

Door could not open properly.

The staff was however nice and available, while the place was in a nice area of Boston, 5 minutes from the Heynes metro stop with green line.

In conclusion, as I read from other reviews, go there if you have no other choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our first trip to Boston, and we could not have picked a better hotel. The location is ideal - you can even walk to the Museum of Fine Arts. Our room was fairly basic, but it was clean, and the kitchenette was useful. The staff were really outstanding, and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvroLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We selected this hotel based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We arrived quite early, before 11am. We planned to valet the car and leave bags but the Bellman (all were awesome) suggested we go check on room. Well, it was ready. We refereshed, the bellman brought bags, and we went down to enjoy the city. Again, bellmen helped us decide whether to walk or take a cab. The room was large. The beds comfortable (but pillow options too soft for companion). Easy access plugs, good lighting, decent water pressure and towels. Room service excellent. Overall a really nice experience.

Room Tip: The whol.e city is an ADA nightmare. If choosing, i recommend calling for information. They have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margarita0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed at the Commonwealth Court Guest House twice and this has become our "go to" hotel/guest house. We have stayed in two different rooms and have no complaints whatsoever. The rooms have small kitchenettes which is useful, updated bathrooms that are lovely and all the essentials such as wifi, tv, etc. The rooms are clean and daily room service is provided. The building is quiet. Best of all is the location...easily walkable one block from Newbury Street and restaurants/shopping, two blocks from Boylston. The rates make the Commonwealth Court Guest House even more attractive. We have decided this is our "home away from home."

Room Tip: Call the hotel and describe your needs for a room as there are several floors. No elevator. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#31 of 83 in Boston
644 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commonwealth Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonwealth Court Guest House

Property: Commonwealth Court Guest House
Address: 284 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02115-2432
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commonwealth Court Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Commonwealth Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Court Guest House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing