We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and expensive”
Review of Asana - CLOSED

Asana
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield Street
Transit: The nearest stops to the hotel are Copley Station on the B, C, D and E Green Lines, Hynes Convention Center on the B, C, and D Green Lines and Prudential on the E Green Line.
Description: With a fresh approach, Asana welcomes diners with authentic and pure New England cuisine. Inspired by local and seasonal ingredients applying their modern twist, our culinary team offers a menu enriched by taste and tradition. The dramatic floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking bustling Boylston Street give the space a modern flare that is as vibrant as its Back Bay surroundings. The hand-carved limestone block walls, rich exotic wood floors, and stylish banquette seating create an organic background for the inspired dishes to truly delight. Working hand in hand with the culinary team is our pastry team which brings vast international experience and training to its sweet creations in Asana. Located in the Mandarin Oriental, Boston, Asana is the perfect place for the power breakfast, business lunch or sophisticated dinner.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good and expensive”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Food was good and service was quick. Unfortuntaly atmosphere is not the best - very close to the bar which is far too loudly ( music and guests ), difficult to relax. Relatively expensive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

At first glance the menu seemed limited and uninspired, so my wife ordered the flat iron steak and I ordered the skirt steak. Both steaks were as good as we've had anywhere! The ambiance is pleasant, service good and the accoutrements are just fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RShereff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
320 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“great seafood and elegant atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

While not comparable to top French restaurants in NYC, we had an excellent meal here. Drinks were great to start and the 2 pound lobster (completely de-shelled and placed on the plate) was fantastic. My favorite dish was the black cod with kale chips - great blend of flavors. The side of wild mushrooms was also excellent. The cavatappi was good although the lamb that accompanied it was just so so. We weren't tempted by the dessert menu (which says something) so nothing to comment on as far as dessert as we didn't order drinks or cheese/pastries. The people watching from the window table was a trip and our waiter was super helpful in navigating what we wanted. A special shout out to the chimichurri sauce which was delicate but tasty. Though not a true 5 star meal, we enjoyed our dinner very much and the service was excellent. I wish the bar had more cutting edge drinks/cocktails - pretty average selection. Overall a high quality meal but not exceptional by any means.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Losing ground”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

we have been coming to this restaurant for a couple of years and I find the quality and value is diminishing. The staff are attentive and kind but the quality of food has definitely lowered over time. We will look elsewhere before eating here again although the atmosphere is pleasant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank twets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Zen dining and vibe with great food”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Love this place with the elegant minimalism from breakfast to cocktails to the spa treatments. Good tartare and cocktails in the evening, Delicious merguez sausage with poached eggs for breakfast. Great croissant and dumplings too. Love the spa coffee scrub. Yum.

Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Asana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing