We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”
Review of Constitution Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constitution Inn
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We are staying here because our 20 month old daughter was severely burned in an accident and Shriners Hospital got us a discounted rate. Only 1 parent can sleep in the room per their policy. When I got the call at work my daughter was being sent to Boston I grabbed a change of clothes and drove to Boston as fast as I could. We have been checked out of our room twice this week because we do not have enough stuff in it. The only thing we left in te room was a cell phone charger that has disappeared, so why would we leave anything else. We take turns staying with our daughter overnight so our main bag is at the hospital.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently returned from a trip to Boston and stayed for 2 nights at the Constitution Inn. Our room was old but clean...however not very safe. My husbands relatively expensive watch was taken from a zippered bag he had put it in in the bathroom. We left the hotel for 3 hours and when we returned the watch was missing but the room was not cleaned up at all. We informed the front desk to no avail. Do not leave any valuables in the rooms if you choose to stay here. Not very safe!
Judy

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl52158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Judy,

We take great pride in providing safe accomodations for our guests and have not had accusations of theft occur in our hotel. Our records indicate you had a "do not disturb" sign on your door and our policy is to respect our guests privacy and not to enter. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly to resolve this accusation at 617.241.8400.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff were friendly. The hotel is located in a deserted part of town though -- so if you are wanting a place that is quiet, this is a good choice. If you are wanting to be close to the city, bars, etc - this is probably not the place for you. The rooms are a bit outdated, but large. Also, there are kitchenettes available in some rooms.

FYI - it is a $15 taxi fare (one-way) to the city (convention center on Summer Street), although you can take a shuttle to the T and then take the T to the convention center for less.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayoung003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you book on Expedia rates are cheaper than hotel website. Lobby feels like a YMCA and smells like one too. Staff barely welcoming. Called before I got there and one woman told me there was parking which would be validated, called back unable to find the garage which is on 5th Street by the way and a guy told me NO PARKING for HOTEL. Urgh. There is however at the garage on 5th.

Rooms moderate to passable. The basics, bed TV, kitchenettes in some but NO plates, or silverware, etc.

VERY HOT or VERY COLD from what other guests were saying. My room was an oven. Thankfully windows do OPEN.

On the 6th floor check out the CEO offices and Board Room right there ---kind of odd.

Overall you get what you pay for but fellow guests just a bit of a mix. Not patient families as I had thought.

Best deal FREE shuttle with Partner's (hospital) gets you to MGH red line and from there pay and go. Since the navy yard is a way out there ---this is better and cheaper than a taxi.

Room Tip: Do not book on 6th floor windows are under eves and you have to bend over to see out. Rooms also see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieMarieMarieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at the Constitution Inn. Your first impression of our lobby and Front Desk staff did not meet your expectations and we will use your feedback and work to improve our staffing. The parking lot on 9th street does except validation from the Inn at $10/night.

We are in the beginning stages of major renovations to give our hotel an updated appearance. Many of the rooms are still fabricated with our older furniture and we do apologize of you did not have the opportunity to stay in our newer rooms. We would like to invite you back for an improved second stay with us.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We must have been at another Constitution Inn, 'cos the staff we encountered could not have been more helpful and friendly. Admittedly it could do with some TLC but the rooms were spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHMShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Customer service is our top priority and we appreciate your recognition of our staff. We are currently undergoing renovations to our rooms to modernize our appearance. We do hope you will consider the Constitution Inn in your furture travels to Boston.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The staff here was extremely rude. The worst customer service I've ever received in my life!! I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE! I was screamed at by one of the security guards for no reason because I was walking around early in the morning looking for a vending machine to get a drink. Worst hotel stay of my life!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cms893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We did not meet your service expectations and for this we sincerely do apologize. We strive to continually improve our customer service and your feedback will be shared with the team.

Best wishes,

The Constitution inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is more for the YMCA than travellers, The second floor consist of a section for women recovering from substance abuse, think on our second night they had run out of places for one of these poor ladies and she was in the room next to ours and couldn't get to sleep unless her TV was on full volume to 5am! Made babies cry too. Quite disturbing. Lifts in constant shared use with laundry and cleaning trolleys. Wifi poor
Might be near the USS Constitution but that was closed due to Government shutdown!!
A bad start to our New England trip.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wishgranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Constitution Inn. We do have community programs within our building, serving a diverse population of those in need. We apologize if your stay with us did not live up to your expectations and for the disturbances in your stay. If you return to Boston, we would like to extend an invitation to stay with us so we can show you we are so much more.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
290 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
545 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#77 of 84 in Boston
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constitution Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constitution Inn

Address: 150 3rd Ave, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129-2016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: £59 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Constitution Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constitution Inn offers the best hotel value in downtown Boston - great accommodations, great location, and a great low price! We are located in the famous Charlestown Navy Yard on the downtown Boston Waterfront, centrally located close to Boston’s great restaurants and lively pubs. We are just steps away from The USS Constitution, The North End, Faneuil Hall, TD Garden and many of Boston’s historic, cultural,and entertainment attractions. We share a building with the Charlestown YMCA. All guests are welcome to use their pool and fitness facility. Please check their website for daily hours of operation. The Constitution Inn is the perfect place to gather with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constitution Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constitution Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing