We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit out of the way but a ok Hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Constitution Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constitution Inn
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way but a ok Hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here in October 2013,found the check in staff very helpful and friendly.The area around is very limited for finding restaurants and food,it's ok for getting into Boston just a short walk to the Navy yard ferry that takes you near the Aquarium on long wharf or you could walk into Boston via the Charlestown Bridgetown to start the freedom trail walk,also you get a ticket at the Navy Yard for the trolley into Boston.It is also very handy for seeing the Constitution ship and Bunker hill Monument.The hotel itself is Ok ,nothing fancy having a microwave in the room was good would stay again if I ever go back to Boston.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Ken,

Thank you for reviewing the Constitution Inn and for providing travellers with inside tips to navigate the area. We are continually improving our appearance and would enjoy seeing you during your future travels to the Boston area.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    217
    198
    110
    98
See reviews for
203
202
49
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived late in the evening. Our travel agent booked this hotel for us and it was prepaid. Had it not been so late we would have left but we were very tired after two long travel days and just wanted to sleep. This hotel is not clean, the bed was terrible, one of the walls in the room was painted cinder block, the heat did not work and the toilet ran. It was in not a great part of town for people wanting to explore Boston. We were to stay two nights and decided to "put up" with it as I did not want to go through the process of moving. They do have kitchenettes but NO dishes, pots, pans, silverware etc. Seems they charge a $20 deposit for them...returned when the "stuff" is counted after use. The cabinets for the dishes were not tidy. I would use them unless I put down paper towels. Makes me wonder what shape the dishes, etc. would be in. I was not going to cook so that did not matter to me. The hotel seemed to be associated with the YMCA and had discounts for guests from the armed services with need of rehabilitation and family's with kids in hospitals. They also must give discounts to schools as there were groups of minor kids running and screaming up and down the halls. At 11 PM I finally stuck my head out the door and firmly told them to stop. That did end it. Having discounts for people in need is not a bad thing but this hotel should stick to people in need. I will say the front desk people were very helpful. Also, there is no restaurant. They do have what they called a food station with a bank of machines. Half of them did not work and the half that did were dirty. We got sodas and chips for dinner.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn and Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Marilyn and Les,

We sincerely apologize for your experience in staying at The Constitution Inn. If you would be willing to speak with a member of management, we would appreciate hearing more from you so we can provide a better experience for all of our guests.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is perfect for those who are looking for an affordable place to stay that is still close to the action of downtown Boston. The area surrounding the hotel is very quiet, with limited dining options in the immediate vicinity, so you do have to make a bit of an effort to find food. The Navy Yard is only a block and a half away, which was excellent as all tour trolley companies have a pick up there. While the hotel is out of the city, there are numerous way to get into the heart of downtown, including taxis (approx. $10 one way) and the subway system ($2.50 one way).

The hotel itself is on the "no frills" side of things, but was clean and comfortable. Our room was quite large and had a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The beds were comfortable, the pillows were soft and the linens were clean. The bathroom was on the small-ish side, but was also clean, which is my main concern when traveling. The only complaint we had was the uncontrollable heat in our room. Our in-room thermostat was broken and we had no way to cool the room down. I had to have a cold shower at 4 am it was so hot in there. When we called to complain about it the response we got was "Yeah, it's pretty hot down here too". I don't know if it was due to the unseasonably warm November weather, but I wish something else would have been done to help us out.

Overall, I would recommend this property to my clients (I am a travel agent) who were looking for a budget-friendly place to stay in Boston. Aside from the heating issues, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was quite nice.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing away from 3rd Ave....otherwise your view will be of an abandoned building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Whitney,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Constitution Inn. We are a budget friendly hotel providing an affordable alternative to some of Boston's pricer properties. Once familiar with the area, navigating to North Station is effortless with both access to the orange and green line subways which will bring you to major points in the city. We would be happy to introduce you to our Sales Manager if you are thinking about recommending your clients.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We are staying here because our 20 month old daughter was severely burned in an accident and Shriners Hospital got us a discounted rate. Only 1 parent can sleep in the room per their policy. When I got the call at work my daughter was being sent to Boston I grabbed a change of clothes and drove to Boston as fast as I could. We have been checked out of our room twice this week because we do not have enough stuff in it. The only thing we left in te room was a cell phone charger that has disappeared, so why would we leave anything else. We take turns staying with our daughter overnight so our main bag is at the hospital.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently returned from a trip to Boston and stayed for 2 nights at the Constitution Inn. Our room was old but clean...however not very safe. My husbands relatively expensive watch was taken from a zippered bag he had put it in in the bathroom. We left the hotel for 3 hours and when we returned the watch was missing but the room was not cleaned up at all. We informed the front desk to no avail. Do not leave any valuables in the rooms if you choose to stay here. Not very safe!
Judy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl52158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Judy,

We take great pride in providing safe accomodations for our guests and have not had accusations of theft occur in our hotel. Our records indicate you had a "do not disturb" sign on your door and our policy is to respect our guests privacy and not to enter. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly to resolve this accusation at 617.241.8400.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff were friendly. The hotel is located in a deserted part of town though -- so if you are wanting a place that is quiet, this is a good choice. If you are wanting to be close to the city, bars, etc - this is probably not the place for you. The rooms are a bit outdated, but large. Also, there are kitchenettes available in some rooms.

FYI - it is a $15 taxi fare (one-way) to the city (convention center on Summer Street), although you can take a shuttle to the T and then take the T to the convention center for less.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayoung003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you book on Expedia rates are cheaper than hotel website. Lobby feels like a YMCA and smells like one too. Staff barely welcoming. Called before I got there and one woman told me there was parking which would be validated, called back unable to find the garage which is on 5th Street by the way and a guy told me NO PARKING for HOTEL. Urgh. There is however at the garage on 5th.

Rooms moderate to passable. The basics, bed TV, kitchenettes in some but NO plates, or silverware, etc.

VERY HOT or VERY COLD from what other guests were saying. My room was an oven. Thankfully windows do OPEN.

On the 6th floor check out the CEO offices and Board Room right there ---kind of odd.

Overall you get what you pay for but fellow guests just a bit of a mix. Not patient families as I had thought.

Best deal FREE shuttle with Partner's (hospital) gets you to MGH red line and from there pay and go. Since the navy yard is a way out there ---this is better and cheaper than a taxi.

Room Tip: Do not book on 6th floor windows are under eves and you have to bend over to see out. Rooms also see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieMarieMarieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at the Constitution Inn. Your first impression of our lobby and Front Desk staff did not meet your expectations and we will use your feedback and work to improve our staffing. The parking lot on 9th street does except validation from the Inn at $10/night.

We are in the beginning stages of major renovations to give our hotel an updated appearance. Many of the rooms are still fabricated with our older furniture and we do apologize of you did not have the opportunity to stay in our newer rooms. We would like to invite you back for an improved second stay with us.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 83 in Boston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Days Hotel Boston-Harvard Fenway
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constitution Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constitution Inn

Property: Constitution Inn
Address: 150 Third Avenue, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Constitution Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constitution Inn offers the best hotel value in downtown Boston - great accommodations, great location, and a great low price! We are located in the famous Charlestown Navy Yard on the downtown Boston Waterfront, centrally located close to Boston’s great restaurants and lively pubs. We are just steps away from The USS Constitution, The North End, Faneuil Hall, TD Garden and many of Boston’s historic, cultural,and entertainment attractions. We share a building with the Charlestown YMCA. All guests are welcome to use their pool and fitness facility. Please check their website for daily hours of operation. The Constitution Inn is the perfect place to gather with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Constitution Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constitution Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing