We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst. Hotel. Ever.”
Review of Constitution Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constitution Inn
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Oh my..where do I start?
This had to be the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed at.
2 adults and 2 children, you would think they would leave 4 towels....no.
The hotel "ran out" of coffee, and didn't have any for 2 days. Now, if it's my hotel, I'm sending someone to the local restaurant supply store to buy some to keep my clients happy.
The bathrooms were just nasty. Hair at the top of the shower that had been there who knows how long. Sink wasn't cleaned. No plug for the tub. Toilet wasn't cleaned. I don't think they actually cleaned the room or bathroom.
One window wouldn't close properly.
Air conditioning did not cool the room at all.
We had to call down to the desk numerous times to get towels sent up.
They did not replenish things like paper coffee cups, or bathroom plastic cups.
They have 2 luggage carts.Yes, two. So, if you don't get downstairs early on checkout day...you're carrying all your bags.
Parking is inconvenient. 2 blocks away. And expensive. For the rate they charge, parking should be included.
Every morning the cleaning crew seems to congregate at the elevators on the 2nd level. They block the elevators, don't move when other people try to get to the elevators.
Unfortunately I didn't get to use the weight room but did use the pool...yuck.
It's in the dirty basement. You can't take the elevator down to the pool level but you can take it back up...but you're not supposed to. Apparently that elevator is for staff, but the staff seems to use the other elevator causing paying customers to wait.
Near the pool is a room with a metal window frame of maybe nine panes of glass. The bottom of this window frame is completely rusted out and I'm sure is a safety issue.
The pool area is very run down and unappealling to say the least.
We asked if there are towels in the pool area and were told yes. We get down to the pool and we're told....No. You have to get them at the desk in the gym.
For the cost of a room here, I could have had a really nice room, in a nice "brand name" hotel with great housekeeping in a nicer building.
We will NEVER stay here again, and NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone.
The only good quality is the location. So, if you want to overpay for a terrible, dirty, room with sub-par staff, go ahead and book a room here.
I had to give a star rating but I don't feel this place deserves any stars at all.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stef J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Stef,

I apologize for the inconvenience of a less than perfect experience during your stay with us! We appreciate the opportunity of receiving your feedback, as this will help drastically improve our hotel. Unfortunately, during the month of June, we experienced unexpected technical problems with our AC.

This issue was solved, and we would appreciate the opportunity of transforming this experience into a positive one. A comfortable stay is our main goal, and we hope to see you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Alexandra Rauca
Director of Housekeeping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
There are newer reviews for Constitution Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this hotel for a girls weekend in Boston. It's a little bit of distance from downtown but just a short cab ride away. We walked it several times. Just over the bridge from the fabulous North End
It was a bargain so there's a real plus to that. It's nothing fancy but the staff was great, really helpful with directions and info.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmg714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is right by the USS Constitution so you can buy a trolley pass and have transportation access to the rest of Boston but the closest T-stop is a pretty far walk. The hotel is clean and the staff was helpful. However, the heating system wasn't really working and the hotel needs to be updated but the price was the best in the downtown area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tandih21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great location within walking distance to anything we wanted. Traveled with an 18 month old child and the staff bought and assembled another crib because there wasn't one available (I failed to request one when booking)
The 2 ladies working the weekend day shift couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant too. Clean, comfortable room at a great price. Will totally return!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairwind7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The review title pretty much says it all. This place offers discounted (cheap) rates to patients of MGH and the military. I've stayed here on average at least once per year for the last five years or so, for three nights each stay. The beds are not the most comfortable. The heating/AC system doesn't work especially well. Still, the staff are all great, the rate is cheap, and it is conveniently located for us. The free Partners Healthcare shuttle will get quickly get you to the North Station where you can take the T to almost anyplace you want to go in Boston. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed here one night for business. It is a nice hotel . Friendly , helpful staff, very clean, comfortable bed. I especially liked that it was convenient to many attractions. They don't have breakfast there, but there is a good place right across the street. My only negatives about staying there is the lighting in the room. The table was in a corner where there was no light except for that coming from the light on the bed headboard. It was insufficent if you want to read or do any work.
I thought it was a little pricey too. But when you look at other things around Boston, it is all expensive.
You won't need to use your car to get to many things. Mass transit is convenient. I walked to the North end for some nice Italian food. It is a short walk to the freedom trail. You can rent bicycles close by too.
It is located in the old Navy Base. Great Harbor views nearby. I liked the location and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sccoast1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are in need of updating but the area is great. You are close to the freedom trail and the uss constitution. As I said don't expect a lot out of the rooms. There was mold on the shower curtain and staff was hard to deal with. Towels were hard to get and we had to ask multiple times each day to get enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fvb1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
277 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
511 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#71 of 84 in Boston
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#77 of 84 in Boston
564 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
YOTEL Boston
YOTEL Boston
#65 of 84 in Boston
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constitution Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constitution Inn

Address: 150 3rd Ave, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129-2016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: £115 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Constitution Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constitution Inn offers the best hotel value in downtown Boston - great accommodations, great location, and a great low price! We are located in the famous Charlestown Navy Yard on the downtown Boston Waterfront, centrally located close to Boston’s great restaurants and lively pubs. We are just steps away from The USS Constitution, The North End, Faneuil Hall, TD Garden and many of Boston’s historic, cultural,and entertainment attractions. We share a building with the Charlestown YMCA. All guests are welcome to use their pool and fitness facility. Please check their website for daily hours of operation. The Constitution Inn is the perfect place to gather with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Constitution Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constitution Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing