We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We booked for 2 nights in the parlour room and ended staying for 3. This is a beautiful house with decor that has been finished to the highest of standards.

Really enjoyed the fact that breakfast was left in the kitchen adjoining our room and the fridge and drinks facilities were very convenient.

The Parlour room is lovely and spacious and has an airy fel as its up amongst the tree tops.

James is incredibly helpful and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

The Gilded Lily is in a great location with an underground station a 5 minute walk away and merely a leisurely stroll from the back Bay area and the Prudential centre.

Thanks again James for being a welcoming host and we'd come back tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmawilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    43
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
188
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I stayed 3 nights in the parlor room on the top floor, shared the kitchen with the neighboors from the garden room.
The room is spacious and well decorated, very charming. Very comfortable king size bed, small sofa an chair and a round table with 3 chairs. The rainshower is great.
Breakfast is provided in the kitchen: anytime when you're ready.
I also enjoyed the garden, sitting in the sun, reading a book.
The location is great: nearby prudential, newburystreet and the museum of fine arts.
James is a great host with lots of recommandations what to do, map and lonely planet provided in the room.

Room Tip: the parlor room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingrid040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tglboston, Owner at The Gilded Lily, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
Ingrid,
Thanks so much for your kind words. I enjoyed your visit as much as you did! James Cullion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I recently had the opportunity to have an overnight getaway to Boston to attend the Boston Pops Holiday Concert. I found the Gilded Lily on TA and I knew as soon as I read the reviews that this is where I wanted to stay. Being an Innkeeper myself I prefer to stay at B & B's and hold very high standards. I was not disappointed. The location was perfect. It is a 15 minute walk from the Back Bay Amtrak station (I had taken the train from New Haven) and a 10 minute walk to Symphony Hall. It is located in South Boston amongst restored brownstone lined streets that lead to a beautiful pedestrian walkway that connects Back Bay Station with Mass Ave.
The owner and host was most congenial. My room (Garden Room) was simply but exquisitely decorated. The little kitchenette between the two guest rooms provided everything you would need for a bountiful continental breakfast plus makings for coffee or tea whenever wanted. I have found my favorite B & B in Boston, will recommend to guests staying with us and will definitely be back. A friend and I are already planning a getaway there. Kudos to James and continued success.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank innkeepersupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The Gilded Lily manages to capture the best of all one might expect from a B&B: convenience, comfort, exquisite design and decorating taste, just the right amenities, all with a gracious, knowledgeable and accommodating host. It truly raises the bar to a higher level! I will definitely stay again and again....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandaandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We needed a getaway & being a B&B owner we tend to stay B&B's. I found the Gilded Lily on TA and the reviews hooked me in. My wife & I were so happy to have found this little gem. It's located on a quiet street within a two block walk to the T. There are even a few restaurants nearby. We hit the the Petite Robert for some fondue and the little bar on the corner for a night cap. The Parlor Room was very spacious with an alcove for the bed a sitting area & table to eat at. The decor is minimalistic in a city chic kind of style. It was very comfy with a boutique hotel feel. Between the two rooms is a shared kitchen with all you could want or need. They even had champagne flutes for our proseco bought a a nice wine shop up the road. A conti. breakfast is available in the kitchen and the k-cup coffee was a nice touch. We walked to Chinatown for dinner (10 min) and to the Elizabeth Stewart Gardner Museum (10 min) which should not be missed. All in al lit was a great stay. James the owner is very nice and full of information but if you are the type who prefers not to socialize you can do that too.
If you are going to Boston stay here!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

My family just returned from a two night stay at the "Gilded Lily". This Bed and Breakfast far exceeded our expectations in every way! It was impeccably clean and lovely in a way only a historic Brownstone that has been maintained to shine can be. Our host, James Cullion, went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. I personally loved the fact that the Boston "t" was just a short distance away, allowing us access to all of Boston without the hassle of driving. We parked our car right at the B&B, and used the Boston Transportation with ease.
My brother and sister-in-law enjoyed the Garden Room, while my husband and myself took the Parlor Room. Each room had it's own entry door and it was perfect for us, giving both couples complete privacy as it was separated by a well stocked kitchen with doors at both ends. A leisure Breakfast with fresh brewed coffee, rolls, croissants, jelly, cereal, and yougert were available to us each morning, along with much more.
I found this Bed and Breakfast on the Internet and cannot believe just how lucky I was!. In the evening we came back to our rooms exhausted, had a few glasses of wine on our comfortable couch and chairs, refreshed ourselves, and were back out in the friendly neighborhood of brownstones enjoying some of the best restaurants right in the neighborhood. It very conveniently had internet Wi-Fi, so I was able to connect with the rest of the family to tell them what a great time we were having!
The Gilded Lily has it all! Comfort, Security, History, Charm, Convenience. I'm so glad we discovered and experienced it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie12Utica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Garden Room at the Gilded Lily for two nights in mid-October. The room was well-appointed and very clean. The shared breakfast area was convenient and well-stocked. The inn is in a quiet neighborhood and easily accessible from the Mass Ave T station. We were able to walk to all the major tourist sites without problem. The surrounding neighborhood also has a good selection of restaurants. We recommend the inn highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTRAVELER08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,359 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,634 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Property: The Gilded Lily
Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing