We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and tastefully restored B&B in South End”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lodz, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
821 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Elegant and tastefully restored B&B in South End”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Gilded Lilly, located in the impressive Brownstone building in South End is very good option for visiting Boston. Very conveniently located in the authentic surrounding, 5 minute walking to the subway station, this B&B has been our comfortable base for exploring the town.
We occupied the Parlour Room, sharing the kitchen with the neighbour Garden Room.
In the moment of booking we got very precise instruction about the arrival, entering the house and using all the facilities. This system is good for the tourists preferring to protect their privacy and being completely independent from the the housekeeper. However if you prefer every day contact and expect more assistance in the new place, there is rather no proper address for you.
In any case, the room we had, was absolutely perfect. Very tastefully restored , faultless clean and with specific touch.
The only one serious remark concerns the banal choice of breakfast assortments, which are stored in the fridge. Such a "plastic" frozen components do not match to this exceptional, chic place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    44
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
189
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great location. Great neighbourhood. Convenient walking to everything. Parlour Room was immaculate and comfortable.
Because my sister-in-law operates an outstanding B & B in BC, Canada (ranked 1 of 14 on TA)
our standards are high. The Gilded Lily exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Gilded Lily is the best guest house I have ever stayed in. It is immaculate and well considered, with a real personal touch. I would certainly recommend staying here.

On arrival we let ourselves in with a pre-arranged code to enable us to get in the room. We were presented with the Garden Room on the first floor, with an adjoining kitchen which we shared with the other room on our floor. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious, with a large bathroom with a shower. The adjoining kitchen was stocked with breakfast foods/juices etc. You had access to a fridge if you wanted to store your own food, and there were facilities for you to cook a meal if you wished. We chose to eat out but it was nice to have the option. There a few restaurants within walking distance - we recommend the cafe/restaurant literally on the corner and the thai restaurant opposite.

I noticed some people have mentioned the stairs - I am not able to walk brilliantly, but I found them ok. There is a steep flight to get into the main door, and then one flight up to our room on the first floor. Just be prepared to carry you're bags up and you'll be fine.

As first time visitors to Boston, we were delighted to have a downtown map, guidebook and other information on Boston in our room on arrival. Not many places provide you with everything you need for your stay.

With regards to the location, you're three stops from the main downtown subway station. However, you can easily get to Chinatown close by (two stops), the Prudential building (which gives amazing views of the whole of Boston from the viewing deck - one stop or a short walk), and it's an easy ride up to Cambridge where you can see Harvard. The T (subway) is one block away for the orange line, and two for the green line, so it's a great location for getting about.

If you've not been to Boston, there are a few things I would recommend you do - we only had two days there but here are our experiences. For amazing views of Boston up to Harvard, try the river cruise going from Lechmere (on the green T) - the sunset one is great and you can have a cocktail as you sail :). As mentioned before, the Prudential building is great for an ariel view. Of course, Harvard is worth a look, and a picnic by the Charles River on a sunny day is a good thing to do. We also wanted to see the Boston Tea Party museum, but this is currently under reconstruction, so don't waste a journey over there.

So, if you're a discerning traveller wanting quality and comfort, I recommend the Gilded Lily. It's personal without being overbearing (you might not even see the inn keeper but the rooms have a personal touch) and definitely value for money.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden Room at the back of the building - a superb quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five nights in August and I can honestly say that we could not have made a better choice of b. and b. We had the second floor 'Parlour Room' which was spacious and simply but tastefully decorated. The shower room was up-to-date and spotless. The small kitchen shared with the next room was ideal for our needs - we could have a breakfast at a time to suit us, we could be as leisurely or quick as we wanted and there was a good choice of the usual cereals, juice, coffee, tea, croissants, pastries etc. We could also have cooked there had we wanted. The location too was great; only a short walk from 'T' stops on two lines, one of which was at the Prudential Centre. The neighbourhood also has good restaurants and is pretty too - we loved walking along the 'green corridor' park each morning on our way out. James was the ideal host - helpful without being intrusive. We also loved Boston itself - our highlights included watching the Red Sox play at Fenway Park and 'An Affair to Remember' at the outdoor screen by the Boston Harbour Hotel, and also the festival in the Italian North End of town. What more can we say - it was great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verve80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here for a week in total and it comes highly commended.
Location: a short walk from Copley Square along a lovely park called the South West Corridor. We walked everywhere from here and it's also right beside the Mass Ave T station. The neighbourhood feels really safe and there a few local restaurants and cafes nearby that aren't touristy, so you can live like a Bostonian for your stay. It's also a bonus to get to be in this part of town which you might otherwise miss as it is mainly residential.
B&B: spotless, really tastefully decorated - elegant and crisp with thoughtful attention to detail. The brownstone building was recently refurbished to a high standard and you'll be confident when you walk in that things like the air con, shower and bed will be top notch - it was the sight of the nespresso machine that assured me that the owner wanted to do his best. The furnishings are gorgeous and tasteful - I loved the chandelier and large mirror above the fireplace. We stayed in Garden Room 1 which is a compact room but ample for a city break. I liked this room because it was so quiet and peaceful at the back of the house. There's a small table with two seats in the bay window where you have your breakfast from the self-serve shared kitchen.
Summary: if you are looking for a cutesy B&B with a fawning host this is not for you. This feels more like a friend let you stay in their (gorgeous) city pad while they are out of town. You may or may not meet the owner as it is a self-check-in/out set up, however he's available by phone and we bumped into him twice. Overall this B&B was absolutely perfect for a city-break.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelreview7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malagash
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Boston in August – wonderful place, wonderful people. The Gilded Lily – just lovely.
Elegant, quiet, and with a very private feel, this B&B is for discerning people who don’t mind climbing stairs to get to their room in a tall and elegant Boston townhouse.. The location is perfect; we walked the north and the south end right from here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, AR
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We loved spending a weekend at The Gilded Lily. James is an outstanding B&B host. The bedroom and bath were gorgeous and spotlessly clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. It was very convenient to have a shared kitchen with one other couple where we could serve ourselves from the abundance of breakfast options at any time of day or night.

Room Tip: Climbing stairs is required but definitely worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonanddebbiejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,408 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Property: The Gilded Lily
Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing