We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect home in Boston!”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect home in Boston!”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We loved having the Gilded Lily as our home base for our week in Boston! The Parlor Room was charming, comfortable and clean, and we were able to walk to dinners or very convenient subway stations. Small, thoughtful touches like full size high end shampoo and conditioner in the shower added to the feeling of welcome and being a valued guest. Having the small shared kitchen for coffee and continental breakfast was a great time saver on busy mornings, and there was never a problem of running into the guests from the one other room in the kitchen. The only shortcoming was that the lineup of TV channels did not include any national news (CNN, etc.) so I went cold turkey on bad news for a week, but it kind of changed my life for the better so maybe it was a blessing in disguise. One of the best things about the Gilded Lily is the owner and staff, who do not hover but are usually available in the downstairs office to give FABULOUS dinner recommendations and make guests who want the attention feel very welcome. We would definitely come back and will have fond memories of Boston because of the Gilded Lily.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    43
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
186
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

James and The Gilded Lily made our first Boston experience truly memorable. If you want to live like a true Bostonian for a couple of days, this is the place to stay. Situated on a beautiful tree lined street, the architecture of this B&B is not too be missed. The location was located within walking distance to Fenway Park, historic Boston sites as well as many superb restaurants. The room was immaculate and very private although James was readily available to offer tips on what to see while visiting. Would highly recommend The Gilded Lily!

Room Tip: We stayed in Parlour Room 1. It faced the street, which was quiet, but offered a great view. As th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The best Bed & Breakfast evaar! We had a wonderful stay. Room (Parlor 1) was very large, nicely decorated and very comfy. Everything you need is already there, James didn't miss any details. Thank you again!!! Marie

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We had never been to Boston before and were dithering over whether to stay at a B&B or a hotel. Well I'm glad we decided to stay here. It has the privacy of your own apartment and close to everything you need, but distanced from the city bustle if you so choose. Immaculately styled and comfortable and clean.
Some people have mentioned the breakfast. Well it doesn't have the various sweet cooked combinations that we Europeans find so odd in the US, but I am a big man, and the breakfast selection was just fine for a 300 pound Englishman.
Oh and the stairs. I think too much is made of this. I'm 65 and not the fittest and had no problems at all. As I said. Just like being at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beefykeefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altofts, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

A very high quality establishment with classy fixtures and fittings. Well located close to the 'T', buses and food. within 20 mins of Fenway Park, Museums and the Prudential Centre.

The breakfast system suited us fine and gave us the freedom to eat when we wanted. Check out the pictures but they hardly do the place justice in terms of quality.

The connecting rooms are brilliant for a family or friends.

Slight negatives for some would be the outside steps and stairs(no lift) but this is only an issue for those who are not fit enough or don't benefit from owner James being on hand and offering his muscular help with the bags!

The best city B&B we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are just a couple choose a Parlour Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baskingseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

On a recent trip to Boston, we stayed at The Gilded Lily. The location is very convenient with lots of restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance. An orange line subway stop was just two blocks away.
Our rooms were spacious and well furnished with comfortable beds. The bathrooms are modern. The breakfast options provided in our kitchen were lovely and it was nice to have a fridge available to stock with snacks and beverages.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdtravelling20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Gilded Lily is an intimate and charming guesthouse in the South End of Boston. The location convenient to the South End and Back Bay in a loveley neighborhood setting making me feel like I had my own Brownstone in Boston. The proprietor Mr. Cullion is an Architect by profession which is evident in the fine attention to detail in the comfortable rooms which have every amenity which one could desire. You can not go wrong choosing the Gilded Lily as your home away from home in Boston

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children get the connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Property: The Gilded Lily
Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing