We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my stay here”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #3 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here for one night a few weeks ago. I though this B&B (compared to two others where I stayed in Boston) was incredibly good value for money. It is a beautiful building in a great area of Boston. The room I had was just so nicely decorated, the bed was incrediby comfortable, the linen was excellent quality, and it was very very clean. It was also really quiet. I shared a kitchen with the next room, and was a great range of great quality food available for breakfast. The bathroom was very spacious, clean and modern. The owner was so helpful as I booked last minute. If this is in your price range then it is a really great place to stay and much much nicer than a hotel - I think you would be paying $3-400 to stay in a hotel that has as nice a feel/quality. Boston is an expensive place to stay, and it's probably worth spending a little more to stay in this B&B than others that are in the $140 price range. The extra $50 I payed to stay here was so worth it - I had the best night's sleep and it felt very luxurious. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Mic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here for one-night after reading all the reviews posted here on Trip-Advisor. It was completely what we expected. It's definately self-serve, but I'm sure the owner James would be willing to help you out if the need arises and make recommendations for restaurants, etc. We are quite familiar with Boston and visit pretty regularly, so we didn't need James assistance. It's in a perfect location and is within walking distance to some great spots. The Parlor room was really clean and comfortable. The bed was extra comfortable, nice hardwood floors, and the bathroom has a good size shower with full size bottles of shampoo, conditioner & body soap (nice touch)! It's in a very quiet location, in a nice safe neighborhood with some good restaurants near-by. We parked at the Gainsborough Garage and walked to the Gilded Lady without any problem, about a 10-15 minute walk. We will be back here again when we visit Boston, it's our kind of place, almost like having your own apartment in the City, a really nice one at that! I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, it's just a "cool" place to stay, we loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowdog11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent two nights in Boston and really enjoyed the comforts of the Parlor room. The furniture and facilities were excellent and the whole place was extremely clean. The location was very convenient for the "tube" and there were plenty of near by restaurants. Having to share a kitchen and get our our breakfast wasn't a problem. Infact, we liked having the freedom to eat when and what we wanted. It was a little strange not seeing the owner but it didn't impact on the quality of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopherhunt235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Whose convenience is kept in mind first? - the traveler's or the host's? One could stay at the Guilded Lily and never meet a human soul... A traditionnel hotel offers more warmth.
The furnishing is quite comfortable, but we had to share both kitchen and air conditioning... Being on a jet lag, we were afraid to disturb common users whom we had not even been introduced to, and being Europeans, the air conditioning they set at 65°F was a bit low at the beginning of summer... there were no extra blankets...
Breakfast kit was OK if you have a sweet tooth: wholesome bread and cheese, for ex. would have been appreciated.
Having run a BB ourselves, we have always been surprised at the off-handed way B&B clients are often treated in the US: Americans in Europe need great care and counseling, which we enjoyed offering, considering this was part of the B&B service.

Room Tip: Try not to have to share either air conditioning and kitchen facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tang421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tglboston, Owner at The Gilded Lily, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. Should you choose to visit again there are some things we want to suggest to make the visit more pleasant. As we mention in our confirmation e-mail and welcome note, we are typically in the office off of the garden at the back of the building Monday thru Friday from 8:30AM to 5:30 PM. Many guests pop down and visit us and as stated in the e-mail, room posting and welcome note, we are always available by phone. A simple call would have been able to resolve most all your issues including the AC and extra blankets. Regarding, breakfast; In addition to the granola, cereal, yogurt, and sweet rolls, perhaps you did not see the bagels, cream cheese, croissants and apples? It is true that the B&B is set up for the more independent minded traveler. Many of our guests prefer this and say that there stay here is like having there own apartment int he city. This being said, B&B's have there own personalities and not all guests are looking for the same experience. Thanks again for the feedback. James Cullion, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent our last night of our US trip at the Gilded Lilly and we really enjoyed it a lot! Wonderful rooms, perfect and centrally located, practical breakfast, and a very friendly always helpful landlord.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are great! Lots of space and really quiet, even the ones towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We loved having the Gilded Lily as our home base for our week in Boston! The Parlor Room was charming, comfortable and clean, and we were able to walk to dinners or very convenient subway stations. Small, thoughtful touches like full size high end shampoo and conditioner in the shower added to the feeling of welcome and being a valued guest. Having the small shared kitchen for coffee and continental breakfast was a great time saver on busy mornings, and there was never a problem of running into the guests from the one other room in the kitchen. The only shortcoming was that the lineup of TV channels did not include any national news (CNN, etc.) so I went cold turkey on bad news for a week, but it kind of changed my life for the better so maybe it was a blessing in disguise. One of the best things about the Gilded Lily is the owner and staff, who do not hover but are usually available in the downstairs office to give FABULOUS dinner recommendations and make guests who want the attention feel very welcome. We would definitely come back and will have fond memories of Boston because of the Gilded Lily.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

James and The Gilded Lily made our first Boston experience truly memorable. If you want to live like a true Bostonian for a couple of days, this is the place to stay. Situated on a beautiful tree lined street, the architecture of this B&B is not too be missed. The location was located within walking distance to Fenway Park, historic Boston sites as well as many superb restaurants. The room was immaculate and very private although James was readily available to offer tips on what to see while visiting. Would highly recommend The Gilded Lily!

Room Tip: We stayed in Parlour Room 1. It faced the street, which was quiet, but offered a great view. As th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
558 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
447 reviews
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £119 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing