We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is located really close to great restaurants and walking distance to many of the sights, including the Fine Arts Museum. Our room was bright and extremely comfortable, and the bathrooms are fantastic - what a shower! The serve-yourself kitchen is a great idea for breakfast, and was well-stocked. We wished we could have stayed longer, and would defiinitely stay here next time we are in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    43
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
185
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Our family of 5 from Switzerland stayed at the Gilded Lily at the end of July 2012. There are so many nice things to say about it...It is perfectly located in Boston for those visiting - mostly everything there is to see in the city is reachable by foot (or subway). The house has been beautifully renovated and the two rooms we rented on the same floor were spacious, charming and stylishly furnished - the beds were so so comfortable. There were real nice touches of class everywhere down to the guest products in the bathrooms. The arrangement with the shared kitchen between the rooms worked perfectly. Everything we needed was there. Last but not least there was Jim who was so welcoming and helpful on our arrival - this is a very special place. There is no doubt that we will go back there on our next visit to this great city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jphinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We got in late, not sure if we were in the correct parking spot and there was innkeeper, Jim, at the window waving and assuring me via phone that we were just fine. Jim helped us get situated in our beautifully appointed comfy room right next door to a shared kitchen stocked full of healthy and splurge-worthy foods perfect for breakfast or a midnight snack. This is the perfect place for someone who likes all the comforts of home, but appreciates feeling pampered in a classy, understated way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here for one night a few weeks ago. I though this B&B (compared to two others where I stayed in Boston) was incredibly good value for money. It is a beautiful building in a great area of Boston. The room I had was just so nicely decorated, the bed was incrediby comfortable, the linen was excellent quality, and it was very very clean. It was also really quiet. I shared a kitchen with the next room, and was a great range of great quality food available for breakfast. The bathroom was very spacious, clean and modern. The owner was so helpful as I booked last minute. If this is in your price range then it is a really great place to stay and much much nicer than a hotel - I think you would be paying $3-400 to stay in a hotel that has as nice a feel/quality. Boston is an expensive place to stay, and it's probably worth spending a little more to stay in this B&B than others that are in the $140 price range. The extra $50 I payed to stay here was so worth it - I had the best night's sleep and it felt very luxurious. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here for one-night after reading all the reviews posted here on Trip-Advisor. It was completely what we expected. It's definately self-serve, but I'm sure the owner James would be willing to help you out if the need arises and make recommendations for restaurants, etc. We are quite familiar with Boston and visit pretty regularly, so we didn't need James assistance. It's in a perfect location and is within walking distance to some great spots. The Parlor room was really clean and comfortable. The bed was extra comfortable, nice hardwood floors, and the bathroom has a good size shower with full size bottles of shampoo, conditioner & body soap (nice touch)! It's in a very quiet location, in a nice safe neighborhood with some good restaurants near-by. We parked at the Gainsborough Garage and walked to the Gilded Lady without any problem, about a 10-15 minute walk. We will be back here again when we visit Boston, it's our kind of place, almost like having your own apartment in the City, a really nice one at that! I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, it's just a "cool" place to stay, we loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowdog11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent two nights in Boston and really enjoyed the comforts of the Parlor room. The furniture and facilities were excellent and the whole place was extremely clean. The location was very convenient for the "tube" and there were plenty of near by restaurants. Having to share a kitchen and get our our breakfast wasn't a problem. Infact, we liked having the freedom to eat when and what we wanted. It was a little strange not seeing the owner but it didn't impact on the quality of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopherhunt235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murs, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Whose convenience is kept in mind first? - the traveler's or the host's? One could stay at the Guilded Lily and never meet a human soul... A traditionnel hotel offers more warmth.
The furnishing is quite comfortable, but we had to share both kitchen and air conditioning... Being on a jet lag, we were afraid to disturb common users whom we had not even been introduced to, and being Europeans, the air conditioning they set at 65°F was a bit low at the beginning of summer... there were no extra blankets...
Breakfast kit was OK if you have a sweet tooth: wholesome bread and cheese, for ex. would have been appreciated.
Having run a BB ourselves, we have always been surprised at the off-handed way B&B clients are often treated in the US: Americans in Europe need great care and counseling, which we enjoyed offering, considering this was part of the B&B service.

Room Tip: Try not to have to share either air conditioning and kitchen facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tang421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tglboston, Owner at The Gilded Lily, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. Should you choose to visit again there are some things we want to suggest to make the visit more pleasant. As we mention in our confirmation e-mail and welcome note, we are typically in the office off of the garden at the back of the building Monday thru Friday from 8:30AM to 5:30 PM. Many guests pop down and visit us and as stated in the e-mail, room posting and welcome note, we are always available by phone. A simple call would have been able to resolve most all your issues including the AC and extra blankets. Regarding, breakfast; In addition to the granola, cereal, yogurt, and sweet rolls, perhaps you did not see the bagels, cream cheese, croissants and apples? It is true that the B&B is set up for the more independent minded traveler. Many of our guests prefer this and say that there stay here is like having there own apartment int he city. This being said, B&B's have there own personalities and not all guests are looking for the same experience. Thanks again for the feedback. James Cullion, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Property: The Gilded Lily
Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing