We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice B+B”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed in October,2012 when I was in Boston for a conference. Compared to a hotel, the cost is reasonable , considering the excellent location, nice rooms and the parking space that I reserved at additional cost (worth it).

I was able to walk to everything during my stay in Boston. The room was very nice and comfortable. The proprietor was friendly. This is a great place to stay for the independent traveler. You are basically on your own with some nice, basic breakfast stuff available just off the room.

This is a B+B I will return to on future Boston travels. I will probably alternate with Encore B+B (also nice) for sake of variety.

Room Tip: I had the parlor room, which was quite nice
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnk03431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for The Gilded Lily
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

The other reviews have it right! A top-notch place to stay -- comfortable and well situated! The Garden room -- which is cozy and beautiful -- has a very comfortable bed. The outlet in the bathroom is a bit hard to find. But there is indeed one there -- it's on side of the wall to the right of the mirror. It took a while to notice it as it's somewhat hidden in a corner.

Also, it's less not like a traditional B&B at all and more like a private apartment -- which was very nice indeed if you are more an independent sort/don't really prefer to chat with other guests over breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineLentil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We just returned from spending a week in Boston staying at The Gilded Lily. The reviews posted on TripAdvisor are correct in stating that this is really the best place to stay in the city. The Gilded Lily boasts convenient public transportation, a 10 minute walk to the Hynes Convention Center, amazingly clean rooms, extremely comfortable bedding and with a superbly decorated interior. We picked a rather cold week to visit but were always comfortable with the temperature in the building. They were renovating the downstairs during our stay with construction starting around 8am but the crew were always friendly and asked us to inform them if they were too loud. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Steep stairs and rooms on upper floors do not make this a good choice for those with limited mobilit...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gilded Lily between Christmas and New Year, and could not have been happier with this luxurious B&B. The location was superb, with easy access to the entire city, and the rooms impeccably clean, and cosy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJM144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

A most wonderful stay at this beautifully restored B and B in Boston's South End. Conveniently located near Mass Ave subway station or for walkers, easy 20 minute walk into the centre of town.
Our parlour room on the second floor overlooking the streetscape was incredible!Furnished to the highest standard, comfy beds with fluffy pillows and an elegant bathroom.
A fully equipped kitchenette was provided with yummy breakfast goodies and a big fridge to store own food if you chose to dine in.
Lots of yummy restaurants nearby, we loved Orinoco, a Venezuelan restaurant, on Shawmut st.
And our host James was probably the best host I've ever encountered.He was so friendly and generous, always available if needed but discreet! We will never forget our wonderful stay in his beautiful home.Compliments also to Stella, the lovely Spanish housekeeper, who kept the place spotless!!

Room Tip: any room, but we stayed for a week so were very glad to have the bigger space of the parlour room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdenn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I enjoyed a five-night stay at the Gilded Lily in June, while attending a conference. The conference hotel - like all in Boston, it seems - was incredibly expensive, so I looked for something more affordable. I'm glad I found the Gilded Lily.

The set-up is somewhere between a B&B and a serviced apartment. James, the owner, manages everything via the web, email, and a PIN code for your door. It's rather liberating not to have to carry a key! This possibly makes the whole thing a bit impersonal (you get the PIN before arrival, and don't need to speak to anyone) but makes it very flexible too. The check-in details you need are in a letter-rack in the hallway after you've let yourself in. Something went a little wrong with mine, and I went to the wrong room (and couldn't get in). This was resolved with a couple of phone calls and a bit of a wait (at least I could use the wifi from the hallway!).

The rooms are very attractively decorated and furnished, to a high standard. The place was spotless and well-serviced every day. The bed was immense and wonderfully comfortable.

Each room has access to a kitchen/pantry, where breakfast goods are provided (coffee maker, cereals, fridge full of juice, bagels, etc.) I don't eat a lot of breakfast, so I was able to sneak a midnight snack without depriving other guests of food instead. Likewise, this flexibility meant that on the day I left for a crazy early flight, I could grab a bite before I got in a cab (this being Boston, the cab ride to the airport only took about 10mins at 4am!).

So much business travel these days means staying in big generic hotels. It was a lovely change to stay somewhere a bit different - somewhere so thoughtfully and comfortably set-up. The Gilded Lily is handy for the T as well as for several Back-Bay Conference hotels, shops, and the rest. Don't imagine you will use the shared kitchen to prepare your meals beside breakfast, but there are quite a number of restaurants and cafes to choose from within a few minutes' walk.

I never met James, the owner, but congratulate him on a great place - I'd very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doc_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We enjoyed 3 wonderful nights at the Gilded Lily in October 2012. It felt like a home away from home. It was close to restaurants, transport, great coffee (a must for an Aussie in need of good flat white!) and easy access to lovely walks. The accommodation was spotless, wonderfully appointed and the kitchenette worked beautifully. How great to wake up and make a cuppa and plan the day ahead. Jim was a wonderful host, sharing his tips on the things to do and places to eat. You cannot go wrong staying at the Gilded Lily. Trust us, after 5 weeks staying in many places the Gilded Lily was number 1.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,349 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 84 in Boston
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,297 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,317 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £122 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing