We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great location to downtown and art museums. Immaculate accommodations. Wonderful innkeeper. Breakfast was cereal or bagel so don't expect gourmet. Easy access to T. This is our first choice in Boston!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Totally amazing. Easy to reserve and let yourself into your room. The house is an architectural treasure with lots of great details (lots of outlets, thoughtful accomodations). I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank listentomyvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My stay in December was my second to the Gilded Lily, but the first in the Garden Room . It was perfect in every way. Going up the stairs to the brownstone bld. Offered a perfect photo OP of my Berklee daughter. The security system is amazingly easy, but safe and secure. The candles in the windows added just the perfect seasonal ambiance, as did the tiny Christmas tree and bowl of delicious apples on the dark walnut table. The room's walls are a perfect shade of pale green, seemingly a cross between sage and celery. The bed is extremely comfortable, and is positioned so both the fireplace and the television are in perfect view. The shared kitchenette is private and fully stocked! We enjoyed croissants, jam, and hot tea as we warmed up from the crisp, yet quick walk from Berklee Performance Center. Even though the kitchen is shared, we not once saw any sign if anyone else using it. It's kept spotless. The night for my daughter and me was absolutely silent. No street sounds, no noise from any other area of the home! Both my daughter and I felt right at home. We appreciated having The spacious shower stocked with the best bath and hair products. We were only sorry that our stay was so brief. Thanks to the Gilded Lily , we have a home away from home in Boston!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiecarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

D and I stayed here while on college visits. James was very helpful - orienting us to the Boston area with recommendations and getting our bags up those stairs! Nicely located near two mass transit stops. Everything was clean and in order, comfy bed. No issues with room temp even though very cold weekend. Nice variety of breakfast snacks. Try Five Horses Tavern across the street and The Parish Café a block away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sansregret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place has all the charm and warmth of a true Boston brownstone. It has been beautifully renovated and was very comfortable. If you are looking for a place to stay that makes you feel like you are a Boston local this is it. To top it off the staff and the owner are extremely nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rloupe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Can definitely recommend the Gilded Lily for your stay in Boston. Beautiful brick townhouse on a quiet street so close to shopping, food and the T. We requested the Parlor Room 2 again, love the view. Owner James even baked a pumpkin bread for us for thanksgiving morning! Very special neighborhood gem!

Room Tip: Reserve parking space well in advance, there is only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pablitosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The gilded Lily is a lovely B&B. It is tastefully decorated, is in a great location (close to museums and Back Bay shops and restaurants) on a residential street in a quiet neighbourhood. We plan to make this our home away from home whenever we visit Boston.

Room Tip: The parlour room has more "living" space but we prefer the garden room because of the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Omajune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,420 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
365 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#4 of 37 in Boston
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £123 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing