We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the South End”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #3 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

i recently spent 4 nights at The Gilded Lily and have only wonderful things to say about my visit. The room was nicely decorated, incredibly clean and very quiet. My son and daughter-in-law live in the South End and I am happy to have found my new home away from home at The Gilded Lily.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Three of us occupied two rooms on the first floor which were linked by a (very well stocked) kitchenette for six days in December; one room being larger than the other. Both were exceptionally well equipped, furbished and furnished, and were maintained/serviced to a high standard. A lot of thought had clearly gone in to the design of the modified bedrooms and their features as well as their en-suite bathrooms and shared kitchenette.

We much preferred this configuration and the facilities proffered to staying in an upmarket hotel, even though there were more attractive price offers from the major chains in central Boston over the Christmas holiday period. We were able to come and go as we pleased which suited us as we were both sight-seeing and linking up with family.

The "continental" breakfast provision was exemplary for us who don't eat a cooked breakfast. Also tea and coffee was always available in the kitchenette, and e.g. you can bring back a bottle of wine for the evening. This is useful if you opt to have a full lunch in the city and can't face another main meal out.

The location is good, in a nice area and close to the metro.

A lovely concluding touch was to print off our boarding cards for our return flights, which demonstrated thought. If/when we return to Boston we would seek to stay at "The Gilded Lily" again!
.

Room Tip: The larger room on each floor is worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The rooms are big, clean and beautifully decorated. We didn't see the owners during our stay, but everything was prepared for us. You have to share a fully stocked kitchen with the other room on the floor, but we saw somebody else only once. There is alsway fresh breakfast in the fridge an coffee available.
But be careful if you have trouble with steep stairs - there are a number of stairs to the entrance and there is another flight of narrow and steep stairs to the rooms. Remember: You have to carry your luggage all the way up!
If you don't mind that, it's the perfect place to stay.
The Location is perfect for exploring Boston. A T is not far away and even Fenway Park is in walking distance. The area is an nice residential area with lots of green.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamia1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great location to downtown and art museums. Immaculate accommodations. Wonderful innkeeper. Breakfast was cereal or bagel so don't expect gourmet. Easy access to T. This is our first choice in Boston!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Totally amazing. Easy to reserve and let yourself into your room. The house is an architectural treasure with lots of great details (lots of outlets, thoughtful accomodations). I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank listentomyvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My stay in December was my second to the Gilded Lily, but the first in the Garden Room . It was perfect in every way. Going up the stairs to the brownstone bld. Offered a perfect photo OP of my Berklee daughter. The security system is amazingly easy, but safe and secure. The candles in the windows added just the perfect seasonal ambiance, as did the tiny Christmas tree and bowl of delicious apples on the dark walnut table. The room's walls are a perfect shade of pale green, seemingly a cross between sage and celery. The bed is extremely comfortable, and is positioned so both the fireplace and the television are in perfect view. The shared kitchenette is private and fully stocked! We enjoyed croissants, jam, and hot tea as we warmed up from the crisp, yet quick walk from Berklee Performance Center. Even though the kitchen is shared, we not once saw any sign if anyone else using it. It's kept spotless. The night for my daughter and me was absolutely silent. No street sounds, no noise from any other area of the home! Both my daughter and I felt right at home. We appreciated having The spacious shower stocked with the best bath and hair products. We were only sorry that our stay was so brief. Thanks to the Gilded Lily , we have a home away from home in Boston!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiecarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

D and I stayed here while on college visits. James was very helpful - orienting us to the Boston area with recommendations and getting our bags up those stairs! Nicely located near two mass transit stops. Everything was clean and in order, comfy bed. No issues with room temp even though very cold weekend. Nice variety of breakfast snacks. Try Five Horses Tavern across the street and The Parish Café a block away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sansregret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,453 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
558 reviews
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#6 of 37 in Boston
449 reviews
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Jamaica Plain
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £119 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing