We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B FROM THE MOVIES” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“B&B FROM THE MOVIES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Gilded Lily is everything you want from a B&B. The only thing it does not have is the breakfast in the morning. The rooms are outstanding. One word to describe this place is "BEAUTIFUL"! The Gilded Lily is located in a residential area, that looks like it's out of a movie. We stayed in the Parlor Room on the 2nd floor facing the street. The street was very quite and was picturesque. The B&B is in the middle of everything. You can walk or take a cab anywhere in Boston. We would stay again if we were in the area. The Innkeeper is proud of his city and was very helpful in giving ideas of were to go to eat and places to see.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    43
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
184
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent 3 nights in this very beautiful home. The location is perfect for exploring Boston also 'cause it is close to the metro.
We stayed in a room on the third floor very clean and quiet, bed very confortable. You have to share the use of the kitchenette with the other room on the floor (but we saw the other guys only once).
The kitchenette was a very good thing because of our jetlag, so we had our breakfast very early in the morning!
Coffee/tea available all day long.
We met James, the innkeeper, the last day on departure, a very nice person!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauro_and_Lory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was an excellent property and owner who immediately made us feel comfortable and at home. We loved the beautiful rooms! They were clean and well-appointed! The breakfast was good, having hot beverages available great for Boston in winter! We had 2 rooms on on lower level and shared the kitchen w brother and sister in-law. James gave us a thorough map and hints for what and how to do things including good restuarant recommendations. We loved the pub on the corner-great and tasty food! (Chili!!!) We walked, took hop on hop off and used the subways and the little ferry from Long Wharf (ate at Legal Seafood there-view and excellant lobster rolls-ferrry to USS Constitution right there, as well!). The Boston Pops just 2 blocks away was a highlight as was living in a close-in Boston neighborhood where there was everything we wanted to see and do! The Museum of Fine Arts was a highlight! Could not have done more or had more fun in our first 3 day introduction of this great city! Many thamks to the Guilded Lady Owner and Staff!

Room Tip: Lower level has less stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MMW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

i recently spent 4 nights at The Gilded Lily and have only wonderful things to say about my visit. The room was nicely decorated, incredibly clean and very quiet. My son and daughter-in-law live in the South End and I am happy to have found my new home away from home at The Gilded Lily.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Three of us occupied two rooms on the first floor which were linked by a (very well stocked) kitchenette for six days in December; one room being larger than the other. Both were exceptionally well equipped, furbished and furnished, and were maintained/serviced to a high standard. A lot of thought had clearly gone in to the design of the modified bedrooms and their features as well as their en-suite bathrooms and shared kitchenette.

We much preferred this configuration and the facilities proffered to staying in an upmarket hotel, even though there were more attractive price offers from the major chains in central Boston over the Christmas holiday period. We were able to come and go as we pleased which suited us as we were both sight-seeing and linking up with family.

The "continental" breakfast provision was exemplary for us who don't eat a cooked breakfast. Also tea and coffee was always available in the kitchenette, and e.g. you can bring back a bottle of wine for the evening. This is useful if you opt to have a full lunch in the city and can't face another main meal out.

The location is good, in a nice area and close to the metro.

A lovely concluding touch was to print off our boarding cards for our return flights, which demonstrated thought. If/when we return to Boston we would seek to stay at "The Gilded Lily" again!
.

Room Tip: The larger room on each floor is worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The rooms are big, clean and beautifully decorated. We didn't see the owners during our stay, but everything was prepared for us. You have to share a fully stocked kitchen with the other room on the floor, but we saw somebody else only once. There is alsway fresh breakfast in the fridge an coffee available.
But be careful if you have trouble with steep stairs - there are a number of stairs to the entrance and there is another flight of narrow and steep stairs to the rooms. Remember: You have to carry your luggage all the way up!
If you don't mind that, it's the perfect place to stay.
The Location is perfect for exploring Boston. A T is not far away and even Fenway Park is in walking distance. The area is an nice residential area with lots of green.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamia1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great location to downtown and art museums. Immaculate accommodations. Wonderful innkeeper. Breakfast was cereal or bagel so don't expect gourmet. Easy access to T. This is our first choice in Boston!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Property: The Gilded Lily
Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing