We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great location in a very walkable neighborhood and city. The loving restoration of this historic brownstone shows in every detail - complimented by modern comforts like great beds and baths. I like the kitchenette as opposed to a sit down breakfast. The rooms are spacious and bright and a great place to kick back after a day in Boston!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have stayed many places during my travels to Boston but believe I've found my favorite. I chose The Gilded Lily not because it was a B&B (I usually prefer hotels) but because of it's close proximity to my son's home. What a pleasant surprise! This beautiful Brownstone on a tree-lined street is an architectural gem. Although it's more than a century old, it's not only been lovingly maintained but beautifully updated as well. My room, The Garden Suite on the 3rd floor (thankfully I had my son to carry my luggage) was not overly large but very bright and cheerful. It came well-appointed with a comfortable queen bed, table with seating and an ample-sized bath. The room was very clean and quiet, and although the temperature outside was in the low 20's, it always felt cozy and comfortable. The shared kitchen was well stocked with a variety of coffees, juices, breads and cereals. The convenience of getting my coffee and breakfast to enjoy back in my room was a plus. Access in and out of the building was made very easy for all the guests. I rarely saw the proprietor James but have no doubt if I needed anything he would have readily assisted. The daily room service was efficient and thorough. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, my only suggestion would be to have a full length mirror placed in the room. The location was perfect, with many restaurants, shops and parks all within walking distance. I'm looking forward to my next visit to Boston and to my next stay at The Gilded Lily.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMUMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I have frequented many B&B's within the past but the Gilded Lily will remain in our top three list as a re-visit. It is a beautifully restored Brownstone from time past. We stayed in the Garden Room which is perfectly appointed with warm shades of neutral calming colors and tones, tons of natural sunlight fill the space, and the room is quite spacious enough to comfortably walk around the room which includes an inviting queen size bed, table and two chairs which is perfect for a quick breakfast, writing, or a quaint romantic order-out romantic dinner. The bathroom is decorated very cheerily with seascape tones and is a perfect size for guests. We were lucky enough to have a tour of the entire property by the proprietor James, who we might add is a very welcoming and charming gentleman who through his architectural expertise brought this gem back to its original shining stature. The Guilded Lily is nestled within walking distance and quick subway access of superb restaurants and coffee shops, you will not miss the typical Bed and breakfast fanfare of a sit down breakfast. However if you need a quick morning "pick me up" there are shared kitchenettes on each floor which supply guests with bagels, cereal, yogurts, and coffee, who could ask for anything more! Our trip was brief due to the nature of our visit, but we look forward to returning to Boston late summer/ early fall and having the opportunity to stay at the Gilded Lily..one of Boston's most picturesque B and B's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank burgundygirlNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Gilded Lily is everything you want from a B&B. The only thing it does not have is the breakfast in the morning. The rooms are outstanding. One word to describe this place is "BEAUTIFUL"! The Gilded Lily is located in a residential area, that looks like it's out of a movie. We stayed in the Parlor Room on the 2nd floor facing the street. The street was very quite and was picturesque. The B&B is in the middle of everything. You can walk or take a cab anywhere in Boston. We would stay again if we were in the area. The Innkeeper is proud of his city and was very helpful in giving ideas of were to go to eat and places to see.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent 3 nights in this very beautiful home. The location is perfect for exploring Boston also 'cause it is close to the metro.
We stayed in a room on the third floor very clean and quiet, bed very confortable. You have to share the use of the kitchenette with the other room on the floor (but we saw the other guys only once).
The kitchenette was a very good thing because of our jetlag, so we had our breakfast very early in the morning!
Coffee/tea available all day long.
We met James, the innkeeper, the last day on departure, a very nice person!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauro_and_Lory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was an excellent property and owner who immediately made us feel comfortable and at home. We loved the beautiful rooms! They were clean and well-appointed! The breakfast was good, having hot beverages available great for Boston in winter! We had 2 rooms on on lower level and shared the kitchen w brother and sister in-law. James gave us a thorough map and hints for what and how to do things including good restuarant recommendations. We loved the pub on the corner-great and tasty food! (Chili!!!) We walked, took hop on hop off and used the subways and the little ferry from Long Wharf (ate at Legal Seafood there-view and excellant lobster rolls-ferrry to USS Constitution right there, as well!). The Boston Pops just 2 blocks away was a highlight as was living in a close-in Boston neighborhood where there was everything we wanted to see and do! The Museum of Fine Arts was a highlight! Could not have done more or had more fun in our first 3 day introduction of this great city! Many thamks to the Guilded Lady Owner and Staff!

Room Tip: Lower level has less stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MMW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

i recently spent 4 nights at The Gilded Lily and have only wonderful things to say about my visit. The room was nicely decorated, incredibly clean and very quiet. My son and daughter-in-law live in the South End and I am happy to have found my new home away from home at The Gilded Lily.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,387 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,351 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,745 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £125 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing