We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay in South End!”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Gilded Lily is the perfect home away from home in Boston's South End. Beautifully appointed and maintained, with great attention paid to providing everything you need.The Gilded Lily has now become my first choice for future trips to Boston. Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lives2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Gilded Lily the weekend of his graduation. We go to school in Boston but we wanted to do something a little more special, especially since I was abroad for a semester and I hadn't seen him in months. I'm so glad that I came across the Gilded Lily. First of all James Cullion, who runs the place, is the sweetest most accommodating guy you will ever meet. I had some issues and missed my flight so I lost a night I had already pre-paid for and James was so flexible and did what he could so we didn't lose the money for the day that we didn't stay there. He moved us the second night to a different room (equally as beautiful as the first one) The facilities are so clean and well organized. The bathroom was stocked with good shampoo/conditioner, towels and shower gel. These weren't hotel brands. These were Nexxus and Aveeno brand products. I love that it's a Bed & Breakfast because it has a very homie feel. Beautiful neighborhood, beautiful rooms and beautiful everything. I felt so at home. Thanks to James for being so awesome. If you guys are looking for a place to stay, The Gilded Lily is the way to go. I have lived in Boston going on four years and I'm glad I found this hidden gem. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dialis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at The Gilded Lily in June 2014 and loved our time there. The house was beautiful and very well maintained. Everything was so clean it practically sparkled! It was nice to have a stocked kitchen just in case you wanted a midnight snack or a cup of tea after a long day. The bed was super comfy and the house was in a great location. I would recommend The Gilded Lily to anyone visiting Boston. Thank you James for your amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultimate_Glamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights in the Parlor Room and loved it. Everything about this place was great. Walking in the front door to a huge bouquet of lilies on the hallway table set the tone. It was clean, beautifully decorated and in a great neighborhood. The bed was so comfy (although my 17 year old daughter slept on the pull out bed in the couch and it wasn't much). The shared kitchen was nice and well stocked. The shampoo, etc., in the bathroom was great. There are a lot of stairs, but if that isn't a problem, I would definitely book a room here. The Gilded Lily is a great example of how B & B s should be run. I am picky, and this beautiful home checked all the boxes I was looking for. Hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our recent stay at James's lovely home could not have been better. James greeted us when we arrived and his insider tips to Boston and the South End were most welcome. Our second floor parlor room was elegantly furnished and extremely comfortable. The breakfast area between the two rooms was well received as we could enjoy our breakfast in the privacy of our room. The south end location was perfect and for coffee lovers, I highly recommend Render coffee around the corner on Columbus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family & I came to Boston for graduation weekend and booked two rooms for most of the week. It was perfect!! The B&B was in a lovely, historic district on a nice quiet block just a short walk from the T, cool restaurants (Flour, etc.), and a nice little park if you want to take your breakfast for a little picnic as a start to your day (kitchen was very well-stocked) ! Our rooms were very beautiful, spacious, & clean, and the staff was so friendly & helpful!! I will absolutely stay there whenever visiting Boston.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a fantastic place - would definitely stay here again.

I came across Gilded Lilly (GL) because all of the regular hotels in Copley were sold out with only about $850+ suites available. My understanding was because it's graduation season - Boston hotels sell out very quickly and easily.

I came across GL thanks to TripAdvisor and what a fanastic stay. It's a lovely brown stone house just about 10 minutes walk from the Prudential Centre in Copley. Location is beautiful and convenient. I stayed in the Parlour Room which was spacious, comfortable, personable and very nicely prepared and decorated. It really felt like home and shame it was just a one night stay.

Very nice amenities in the washroom and a well stocked mini kitchen to help yourself for breakfast. It was great and nice to make myself a cup of tea before going to bed.

Strange thing is that I never met any staff member or any guest while I was there - entirely anonymous. The owner seems to have a well organized and automated system of letting yourself in with a key code into both the main door and bedrooms. Then when you check out, you just leave. I didn't need anything but just strange to stay in a B&B and not actually meet anyone.

Great price, great location, great facilities. I really recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
3,379 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 84 in Boston
3,346 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,740 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £124 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing