We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The facility was excellent. Mitch your substitute innkeeper did a good job informing us of how and where to go during our stay. We would strongly encourage anyone to pay you a visit. Touches such as fine bed linen, fresh fruit, and a choice of breakfast (make your own) we're appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Back at The Gilded Lily and I guess this should be no surprise, but it was incredible again. This is not your grandmother's B&B. Clean, modern touches, but still makes you feel "home". James is incredible at communicating and accommodating. I was in the Parlor Room this time and was very impressed with the design touches, spacial feeling, and cleanliness. Perfect for a couple traveling as it has a very comfortable bed, sitting area, desk, clean bathroom with great shower, and a shared kitchen stocked with goodies in the middle of the floor.

I can't speak enough praise for The Gilded Lily. Lots of great B&B touches so that you feel taken care of with a personal touch. But at the same time, James leaves you alone so that you can have plenty of privacy. Wifi was also fast, reliable, and easy to connect to.

There is no better place to stay in Boston. This is the only place I will stay when visiting Boston and always recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Either parlor (slightly bigger) or garden (backside of building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We walked the whole freedom trail from here. Super alternative to the hotels in the area.
Beautiful room,The parlour. Mitch, our host, was a plethora of information on Boston's history.
Just a couple of block's from the reflecting pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautifully equipped and furnished B&B within a pleasant walk of two metro stations on two different lines. Within easy walking distance of Boylston Street. Quiet location; bed extremely comfortable. It is nice to stay someone off the tourist trail. Having access to a small kitchen with fridge, kettle etc is wonderful after a day sightseeing.

Room Tip: We stayed in Parlour Room 2 which is at the front of the property - it is on 2nd floor so you need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bucks_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The location was within walking distance of Copley Square and Northeastern University in a very safe neighborhood with a beautiful walking path nearby. The rooms, fixtures and amenities were top notch. Exceptionally clean rooms and fully stocked pantry. Everything was just as expected and more. A nice home away from home. Will stay there every time we visit Boston. Be prepared for stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vitali_mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a find in a fantastic location. When staying here you sink into Boston culture.

For a business traveler, as I am - it is almost perfect. The only challenge is that I had to pay a night when I didn't stay because of a health issue and moving of dates. Such a rare problem! James accommodated my date move but my client couldn't jive with exact dates, which cost me out of pocket for one night. Sadly, not sure I will book again for future business trips because of this, but if I was going up for personal and was certain of no changes - I would certainly stay here.

Loved the attention to detail, cleanliness, and great breakfast options(especially if you need something quick as I did).

Truly a gem.

Room Tip: I stayed in both and preferred the parlor room - can't beat the gorgeous street view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julieferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We are just coming to the end of a wonderful 4 night stay at The Gilded Lily. Everything has been perfect. Beautifully clean and comfortable, The Parlour Room has worked well for us, although I am sure all the rooms are just as lovely. James gave us some great suggestions for meals out and activities. The kitchen is well equipped and daily bagels, croissants, muffins and cereal gave us a great breakfast choice. Thanks James for a memorable experience, we hope to be back one day.
If you are thinking of visiting Boston don't hesitate, we have loved it. A day trip to Provincetown on the fast ferry is also recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,383 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 84 in Boston
3,346 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,741 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £124 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing