We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the start of a touring holiday in New England and couldn't have made a better choice. We booked parlour room 2 which was on the second floor so not suitable with those who have difficulty climbing stairs. The room was very tastefully decorated with comfortable bed, spotlessly clean and well maintained. The en-suite bathroom offers all the necessary toiletries with a lovely walk in powerful shower. James is a very welcoming and knowledgeable host with plenty of tips for 'must see' sights and places to eat. The shared kitchen between the rooms on each floor is a fantastic idea with a great choice of breakfast items and access to tea/coffee as and when required. The location is ideal for touring the fantastic city of Boston and within walking distance of many of the sights if without transport which we chose to be. I would have no hesitation in recommending 'The Gilded Lily' to anyone and would certainly stay again when we revisit which I hope we can.

Room Tip: Parlour rooms overlook front and garden rooms rear of the property with rooms 1 on the first and 2 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank secrock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great place to stay! We arrived very early by plane, taxi was inexpensive to get to the Gilded Lily. We had been given the front door code (which is changed with each guest so it is very secure) so we left our bags in the front hall. It is a short, safe , pleasant walk to the center of town and also right by the bus and subway stops. When we arrived back later that evening we were pleasantly surprised by our amazing room. The rooms are immaculate , roomy and very comfortable. every little detail has been thought of. The bathroom is large, clean and has everything you will need. I loved having the kitchen right off our room, it allowed us to be on our own schedule and have a late snack when we arrived back at the end of a full day. James is a great host and has truly thought of everything you need to have a comfortable, informative relaxing home away from home. Would defiantly stay at the Gilded Lily again.

Room Tip: All great rooms, if you have heavy or large bags stay on the lower floors as you have to carry them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a great stay at the Gilded Lilly. It is centrally located and near two subway stops. The rooms were very clean with daily housekeeping. Food was always available in the kitchen area shared by two rooms which was great for mornings that we didn't get around early. James, the proprietor, was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Parlor room which is larger and has a single fold out bed for a third person. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank HPaul55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We did a fair bit of research into where to stay in Boston and stumbled upon The Gilded Lily. Normally hotel-dwellers, albeit small, boutiquey ones being our preference, I was a little anxious that my choice would not be quite what we were used to. It wasn't - but that was the best part! We stayed in the upstairs Parlour Room and every morning when I awoke and lay in the sumptuous bed, taking in the tasteful and high quality surroundings and furnishings, I fantasised about living there. It really is a home from home. The kitchen facility, bathroom supplies and the softest bed linen ever characterise superb attention to detail. The street is well placed for getting around and it's quiet too. James is a delightful, friendly and helpful host. His chat with us upon arrival really helped us to make the most of our five days in Boston (which is now my favourite US city, and my favourite city break, ever!). Leave the big city hotels to their corporate guests and stay at The Gilded Lily; you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sassy766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

i received the door code by email before arrival. i left my luggage at the front entrance; side of staircase at 11am, i found there was a welcome letter address to me on the desk at the entrance. i continue my travel until come back at 10pm . i stay at garden room, everything is exactly same as the picture . i found there is a useful "boston travel guide book ", inside bathroom with Pantene brand shampoo, conditioner,Neutogena bath gel and Aveeno lotion. and thare is also hair dryer and iron board in a closet. i like their Yoplait yogurt, orange juice and muffin as breakfast.
i saw someone recommend the " Rendeer Coffee " nearby, i can tell it is really worth to try.
on the last day , my train was at 4pm, so i left my luggage again at the side of staircase in a early morning at the entrance again, and travel around boston park leisurely until the last moment.
This place is nice, safe, convenient. i save a lot time and energy with their location and flexible management.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YUEN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we rented the 2 rooms at the top florr and this was great.The communicated 2 flats are very quiet and are looking brand new.Wooden floor, updated switches (we are sensitive coming from Europe), nicely decorated.
The location is great as we could walk to teh main touristic places within 20minutes.
we enjoyed to be able to eat outside on the vvarious cafe which are located around teh flat on Colombus avenue
the host is charming and very well educated.
Only small negative from a european prospective is that we would have enjoyed a bit more fresh fruit for breakfast especially in july August (rasperries,strawberries,, blue berries) as they are difficult to find out apart from Whole food which I discovered was 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Topgun21041962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The facility was excellent. Mitch your substitute innkeeper did a good job informing us of how and where to go during our stay. We would strongly encourage anyone to pay you a visit. Touches such as fine bed linen, fresh fruit, and a choice of breakfast (make your own) we're appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
3,376 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 84 in Boston
3,342 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,737 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: £124 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing